We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word : OPULENCE.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace of the Lost City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Palace of the Lost City to your Saves list
The Palace of the Lost City
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sun City Resort off the R556, Sun City 0316, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sun City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Anaheim, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One word : OPULENCE.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

The Palace IS a real Palace ! Several South AfricanTravel Agents did not found Sun City as worth the 3 hours drive from Johannesburg because they found it not a real representation of South Africa. Well I can attest that, if you travel with an 8 year old boy, from near Disneyland California (23 hours travel time) going to Sun City is a real treat. 2 nights at the Palace was not enough. We were welcomed first by the valet, followed by a greeter at the 8 meter tall wooden front door, then a guest services coordinator who invited us to choose some bubbly or fresh fruit juice, then escorted us to the reception desk. He then swiftly informed the bellboy with our room number and walked us to our spacious Family room. The Palace is so huge that the guidance of the coordinator is necessary in order not to be lost in the beginning. There was fresh flowers on the foot mats near the very comfortable king size bed and the concierge ordered a "real" twin size mattress with its own box spring, since at our late arrival, I shared my concern to have my 89 year old father sleep on an uncomfortable sofa couch. Service IS Excellent. Yellow rose was offered to all ladies having dinner at the main restaurant. The buffet style breakfast has lots of choices from local dishes to crepes, ham, sushi and fresh oysters. Since the Palace is accessible for residents only, the ambiance was very serene and not so crowded and touristy hectic like the other accommodations in Sun City. It was very relaxing and soothing to swim in the heated Olympic size pool even in mid August. It felt like as if one is finally able to swim in Hearst Castle's Neptune pool. All decor is fabulous, the sculptures, the chandeliers, the Fresco's, the leopard gargoyles ... the uniforms looked all exquisite. All displaying opulence in a grandiose Palace.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    186
    76
    37
    41
See reviews for
325
345
20
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The place is gorgeous and huge. To go from one point to another you can use the shuttle bus service. The receiption is grand with chairs having the skin of zebras. The breakfast buffet is simply amazing. You cannot do justice to the spread because there are too many items to taste from. The rooms are huge and so are the bathrooms. There is a lot of entertainment around you. You can see a show, enjoy the beach experience at the wave pool, play in the casino etc. The options to choose from are vast. This place is a must to visit.

Room Tip: The rooms are great but don't have much of a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_12, Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed so much of what our Resort
has to offer. Our Executive Chef and his team are very proud of the variety of cuisine we have on offer and thank you for your kind words.

We hope to be able in welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Nicholas Forsythe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

A very good family experience. My wife enjoyed the spa, I loved the golf and the children loved the pool. Two highlights were a late night safari and eating in the park surrounded by stars (and animals!) and the breakfast buffet which is right up there with the best in the World. Only issue is the little monkeys that can nip into your room if you leave the windows open. Very much a have to see it to believe it type of place as the vision of one person created a unique environment in the middle of no where.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the trees where the monkeys can get in
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_12, Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

My team and I thank you for taking the time in submitting your comments and feedback.

I do hope that the special memories created here will bring you and your family back someday, to
continue the adventure in this truly amazing place called the Palace of the Lost City.

Kind Regards,

Nicholas Forsythe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the lost city hotel for a long weekend golf break, played on the Gary Player course while the family relaxed at the valley of the waves , weather was hot but bearable, and the hotel was perfect I have no complaints.
The whole resort was first class I could not fault the place and would recommend it to anyone who visits South Africa.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_12, Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent positive review and comments. Playing the Gary Player champions course is truly a special and memorable experience in any golfers life. The Resort has 2 world class golf courses with services and facilities to rival any in the world.

I am very pleased you and your family found the Resort to be of a high standard and do hope you will return to play the Lost City golf course or take on the famous Gary Player course once more.

Kind Regards,

Nicholas Forsythe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at the Palace for a few nights on a business trip. The customer service is outstanding and the breakfast buffet is simple unbelievable. The rooms are large and will appointed although not much of a view in our room. The bed was very comfortable.

You won't be disappointed with this hotel, although there is quite a walk to some of the rooms.

There is a lot to see and do in addition to the safari type visit to the animal reserve to see many of the animals of So Africa. The cats are seldom seen as they are active at night and rest in the day time.

This is a 5 Star hotel so your visit should be a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Try to get a room closer to the lobby if you don't want a long walk each time you go out of your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_12, Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. I do hope that you will be able to return and enjoy the facilities and activities that the property has to offer. The Palace of the Lost City remains the largest of the hotels on the resort with the scale of decor and size very few can imagine.

I am pleased your business trip was a success and we look forward in welcoming you back as a return traveler some time soon.

Kind Regards

Nicholas Forsythe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have recently returned to London after staying at the Palace hotel in Sun City South Africa. We have travelled the world and we can say that this is one of the best hotels we have stayed at. The customer service was first class as were the restuarants and bars (the breakfast was fantastic). We would certainly give the Palace 5 stars and we will be returning as soon as we can.Keith T.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_12, Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

My team and I thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Palace of the Lost City. Your positive comments regarding our customer service and facilities have been shared with our staff as we pride ourselves in being able to deliver world class service in a truly unique property.

We look forward in welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Nicholas Forsythe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have visited Sun City previously and stayed at The Palace on 3 occasions in the past. It remains the best Hotel in Sun City and brought back all the good memories we had in the past. The hotel has become more graceful with age and the amenities and services are excellent. Great attention to detail and the BREAKFAST REMAINS THE BEST IN THE WORLD! Seriously if ever you wanted an amazing spread in the most exquisite setting - just experience the breakfast :)

We will be back with the kids who thoroughly enjoyed the pool and Valley of the Waves.

It was an amazing September Spring break with the kids…

Room Tip: The Spa which is based at the Gary Player centre could be improved to be on par with the standards o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palace_12, Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your recent family holiday experience on Trip Advisor.
After several previous visits, I am extremely pleased that the Palace has become even more gracious and remains the best hotel in Sun City for you and your family.

We look forward in welcoming you back for yet another memorable family holiday.

Kind Regards,

Nicholas Forsythe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace of the Lost City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace of the Lost City

Address: Sun City Resort off the R556, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace of the Lost City 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace of the Lost City hotel in South Africa lavishes its guests with 5-star service. From the distinctive grandeur of the African Suite to the King Suite with its unforgettable maple paneling, delicately coloured ceilings and stunning views over the Lost City. Each room of this Sun City resort offers royal hospitality situated close to the Valley of the Waves and a short drive away from Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Palace of the Lost City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Of The Lost City Hotel Sun City
The Palace Of Lost City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace of the Lost City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.