We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They have everything in here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace of the Lost City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Palace of the Lost City to your Saves list
The Palace of the Lost City
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sun City Resort off the R556, Sun City 0316, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sun City
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“They have everything in here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. Everything is perfect. They have a man-made beach with wave & white sands, swimming pool, an ballroom for traditional show. The room has an awesome view to bushland/forest and with African decoration. The breakfast restaurant is really awesome. Good decoration and atmosphere. The bathroom is huge with slide door and separated toilet & shower. The staff uniform is quite unique. Lobby is huge! Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    160
    65
    31
    37
See reviews for
287
316
13
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I recently spent a night at The Palace with our two young kids. Where as we had a great stay and there were many wonderful aspects to the hotel, there were a few areas that I thought were lacking in a hotel of this caliber. For me what stood out the most was the staff. They were amazing friendly and helpful and seemed to float around, getting everything done in a calm, relaxed manner. The ones I spoke to had been working there a long time and very happy to do so. A testament in itself to good management. The pool area was also great and perfect for those with kids. Big, heated and surrounded by a moat type pool, ideal for the small ones, or those wanted to stay cool whilst sipping on a cocktail. Speaking of which the cocktails were divine! So my grumbles? Well as lovely as it is to have a bottle of champagne waiting in your room on arrival, it would have been nice if it was chilled. We would have loved a glass to mark our arrival but were instructed to call room service for ice if we wanted to have it chilled for later. The breakfast, was immense. In fact it was too immense. There was so much choice and nothing seemed to be in order ie, two different hot food counters, two different fish counters....they were all spread out and I found it very confusing, not sure where to start etc....People were going forward, back, up again, down again and it was all a bit too much traffic for the morning and put a bit of a frenzy into an otherwise calm relaxed atmosphere. On departure, we were charged for a few items from the mini fridge that we didn't take and although they did deduct them, it caused for a bit of embarrassment and they receptionist wasn't very apologetic about it and needed to call management over(yep, embarrassing!) So all in all, if you can afford to stay here without denting you pocket, then I'd say go for it, but if your spending you life savings, I'd be inclined to look at alternatives.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 30th Wedding Anniversary at the Palace Hotel in November 2012 and received excellent service as well as complimentary champagne and fruit which was a welcome touch. This hotel is magnificent and Sun City has so much to offer that I cannot see how any traveller on business or pleasure can want for anything!
An unforgettable experience from beginning to end!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

It was luxury from start to finish, Friendly , helpful, professional! The breakfasts were amazing - oysters, champagne. The outdoor pool was huge and heated. Ask for a room facing the pool. If they are not full the will accomodate you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Palace hotel which was opulent to say the least, and experienced world-class service at every single touch-point.

The property was decorated with palatial sculptures and furniture at the lobby, ground floor and on the hotel grounds, and the luxury extended to the rooms which were immaculately decorated with all the luxe items to pamper yourself and guarantee a good night's rest and an indulgent bath.

The food and beverage selection at the restaurants was comprehensive (For instance, at breakfast, you could enjoy a delightful continental breakfast with breads, cured meats, cheeses and crepes; or nurse your jet-lagged self with comforting porridge, or treat yourself to oysters and champagne) and the staff ensured that guests were well looked after, with personal service and attention to detail.

This stay was an experience to be remembered.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

What're beautiful hotel!! If you stay at "LOST CITY" then you will allow to get in to the other 2hotels. Beautiful swimming pool or can call it "water world" cos it is so big and so many different games. It just so much fun!!
Bytheway, don't forget to bring your pass cos you need to show the "lost city pass" then security will let you get in!!
Big and beautiful hotel...very beautiful deco!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The most friendly staff I have ever experienced in a hotel - full stop. We stayed here for 6 nights in October and from check-in to departure the service was fantastic. The public areas of the hotel are amazing - the architecture, fixtures and fittings are unreal. Bedrooms could be modernized, but are spacious and very comfortable nonetheless.
Main hotel restaurant is fantastic for breakfast and dinner and the Tusk Bar is fantastic for lunch and midday snacks or drinks.
Only poor experience on this visit was the formal dining in the Italian restaurant. Service was laughable and made worse by the stinted formality of the setting and the staff. Best avoided.
However, overall a very memorable and enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palace of the Lost City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace of the Lost City

Address: Sun City Resort off the R556, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace of the Lost City 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace of the Lost City hotel in South Africa lavishes its guests with 5-star service. From the distinctive grandeur of the African Suite to the King Suite with its unforgettable maple paneling, delicately coloured ceilings and stunning views over the Lost City. Each room of this Sun City resort offers royal hospitality situated close to the Valley of the Waves and a short drive away from Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Palace of the Lost City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Of The Lost City Hotel Sun City
The Palace Of Lost City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace of the Lost City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.