We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Sun City Casino

The Sun City Casino
Sun City 316, South Africa
27 (014) 557 1000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 16 Attractions in Sun City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Sun City Hotel is the hedonistic heart of the Sun City Resort. The ambience of the Casino is one of glamour and sophistication. From the moment you enter the foyer your senses are assaulted by the bold design aspects and dramatic setting. The central area of the casino has been magically transformed into a jungle of lush foliage, cascading water and life-like boulders, encircling fast moving slot machines.
Standerton, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I have to stay objective about this one, but unfortunately the tales that was told and the actual experience differed. People always say Sun City is the place to go. Well we moved down here from the coast and hubby wanted to spoil me, he took me to Sun City. What a disappointment it was wen I saw it. The casino was so small, the food expensive and only to take photo's you have to pay the full price to go into the valley of the waves. Just to take photos. I never got to see the Palace, because you have to pay to go in there. Really how am I suppose to advertise to other people how nice this is if I'm suppose to pay just to see it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    56
    56
    20
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Casino at sun city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Tiny tiny tiny, what happen to the size of the casino !!! On a Saturday evening you lucky if you find a slot machine machine let alone win.....obviously not for me, but the security was very good In and around the casino.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
98 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Classy hotel for a week-end away from the city.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at the Cascades Hotel that is one of the 4 hotels at the Sun City complex, and about 2 hours drive from Pretoria.
Upon our arrival at reception, we were informed that there is no reservation for us. After producing a copy of our reservation, we were told that the system shows that our reservation had been cancelled! Although they said that the hotel was full, they did manage to find a room for us. The breakfast at their Peninsula restaurant was very good, although it was a bit crowded, and one had to queue before being allocated a table. We had a very enjoyable and tasty dinner at Santorini Restaurant.
We also spent some time at the casino that was well run by competent staff, although we also encountered a problem there. After having used our MVG card for gaming, we were informed that the card has been cancelled, when we wanted to cash out our winnings. After having been sent to different counters, the problem was resolved and our cash out was done.
Eventually we did have a pleasant stay at this hotel and resort.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sun City- Valley of the Waves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Visited Sun City on 10 May 2013. Not only did we experience warm weather, but also a warm reception. From our arrival to departure we received personalised service and the staff was very professional. We spent most of the day at the Valley of the Waves, enjoyed good quality food at the food outlets and got a sneak peak at the SAMA Award preparations.

You would think the amenities and facilities would be most memorable, but on the day, the staff's hospitality outshined the rest.

Greetings
L

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Small and Cramped”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Sun City used to have an enormous casino in the central entertainment centre. Since many large casinos have opened in Johannesburg, Sun City had to become more family focused to attract visitors that far. So the huge casino is now an games arcade complex and the casino is shoved into the small Sun city Hotel. Very cramped and does not feel glamorous at all like the old casino used to. Sun City is not a gambling destination anymore.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sun City Casino also viewed

Sun City, North-West Province
Sun City, North-West Province
 
Sun City, North-West Province
Sun City, North-West Province
 

Been to The Sun City Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sun City Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.