We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend at Kedar Country Lodge, Conference Centre & Spa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kedar Country Lodge, Conference Center & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kedar Country Lodge, Conference Center & Spa to your Saves list
Kedar Country Lodge, Conference Center & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boekenhoutfontein, R565/ Sun City Road, Rustenburg 0301, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Rustenburg
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great weekend at Kedar Country Lodge, Conference Centre & Spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We've just spent a glorious weekend at Kedar Country Lodge. The food, accommodation and service were excellent. What impressed me immensely however was the conservation ethic of this lodge. Besides recycling programmes, water saving measures, carbon offsets, and the conservation of indigenous animals, it was very pleasing to hear about and see the projects to eradicate alien vegetation, plant indigenous trees and shrubs, and rehabilitate wetlands. The Kedar management and staff are commended for their contributions to the conservation of South Africa's natural heritage. As a bird conservationist, I enjoyed listening to and watching the wide variety of birds at Kedar (many attracted to the indigenous plants which have been planted in the hotel grounds). Mark Anderson, CEO, BirdLife South Africa

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    57
    20
    11
    9
See reviews for
39
59
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Something I don't like is when the staff asks if everything is all right, but has nothing to say when the answer is not so positive...
My room was OK but too close from the road (and somewhat noisy). The restaurant is not tempting, which is a pity because it could be a cosy place (but the bar is quite pleasant). The kind of Boer museum is fun. All in all, it seems that this place is quite neglected - and actually very expensive! Definitively not fitting the standard of 4 stars.

Room Tip: Try to be as far as possible from the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed at the Kedar after a day at sun city. The accommodation is very good if a little rustic for some peoples liking but I liked the way the lodges had been thoughtfully but together yes a few amenities were missing but you need to think of the accommodation as African lodges rather than your usual Hotel.

The Lodge has a bars and restaurants plus a swimming pool and couple of other things to note it has a very good selection of Boer war items, a enclosure with a couple of pigmy hippos and is situated on Paul Kruger's country home and has a free tour for visitors.

I enjoyed my stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR, USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I chose to stay at Kedar to visit Pilanesburg National Park because of its unusual amenities and its better value vs lodges in the park. After staying five nights, I highly recommend the place, but only for someone who understands that it is not the typical 4* resort. To me, the positives greatly outweigh the negatives, but others may conclude otherwise.

Staying at Kedar is like staying in a museum. The lobby and dining room are filled with historical artifacts from the Boer Wars. Fascinating for someone with a moderate interest in history -- even for Americans. The hotel is built on the grounds of Paul Kruger's country home. Mr. Kruger was something of a South African George Washington, so this is a big deal! There are African wild animals on the site. We were met by three giraffes on the driveway when we checked in -- spectacular! The rooms are like thatched huts, but very spacious and comfortably decorated. I paid an extra few dollars for a "super deluxe suite" to get a "garden shower". From the bath room (which had both tub and separate shower), we could step out into the private garden and shower under the stars -- a never-before experience. As mentioned in other reviews, service quality was mixed, but it was all acceptable and some excellent. Most noteable was manager Douglas and guide David -- wonderful gentlemen to meet. We also had the pleasure of meeting the owner, Mr. Forsyth. He has a genuine desire to educate guests about South African history and wildlife, but to also provide the best in hospitality.

But ... the rooms have neither phone nor internet. Free WiFi is available in the bar area -- without drinking. Bath amenities (shampoo, etc) were a bit sparse -- rather 2*. My wife complained that the mirrors and lighting were insufficient for her needs. The rooms are locked with skeleton keys, which feels a bit insecure. Food in the restaurant was a bit disappointing as was service. We mostly ate in the bar area which was okay and was a better value. There are very few other restaurant choices nearby, so plan to stay and eat at Kedar.

All-in-all, I would gladly stay at Kedar again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to "Super Deluxe"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had a great time here, but will go with the flow its not a 4* hotel.
But would not take a lot to improve ( A bar fridge, update the tv's would be a start. management take note .)
we stayed in a superior room that was clean and tidy & air conditioned.
food was ok not great ( tip if you want an egg with your breakfast, order before you start dishing the rest of the food as chef only cooks to order )
found staff very helpful and friendly.Game drive is worth the time also the hippo walk is a must well constructed and safe ( start at iron gate near helipad as not signposted )
grounds are well kept & tidy. only wifi area is next to the bar area
would we stay here again, YES

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a wonderfull stay at kedar during our holidays in South Africa with our family.Pres Kruger house is really intresting also. And it is not far from Sun City,but there is more than enough to do Kedar lodge also without stepping out of the lodge! The pool and cocktails are amazing!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Kedar Country Hotel is ideally situated, approx 20 km from Sun City and Pilanesburg. Resort itself has pleasant well furnished African style cottages with modern amenities, amidst the lush gardens and beautiful landscape.In house game park, and spa makes for great moments of relaxation on a lazy day. Restaurant caters for descent buffet dinner, and has good variety on breakfast menu. Great place to launch ...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kedar Country Lodge, Conference Center & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kedar Country Lodge, Conference Center & Spa

Address: Boekenhoutfontein, R565/ Sun City Road, Rustenburg 0301, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Rustenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Rustenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kedar Country Lodge, Conference Center & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5km away from the Royal Bafokeng Stadium, one of the stadiums that hosted the 2010 Soccer World Cup, Kedar Country Lodge, Conference Centre and Spa offers 60 elegantly finished rooms, 3 Executive Rooms, 1 Royal Suite and 1 Presidential Suite. 7 conference rooms, an open air Boma with a stage and a Chapel for an elegant bushveld wedding. Some 20 years ago, Recreation Africa purchased a portion of Boekenhoutfontein, the historic farm of President Paul Kruger. Over the years, adjoining land has been acquired, culminating in the consolidation of an area of some 700 acres, which has been game fenced and populated with a wide variety of game, including eland, blesbok, impala, bushbuck, nyala, kudu, zebra, blue wildebeest and giraffe. Invaluable environmental work has been done to remove alien vegetation and restore the wetlands which attract prolific birdlife.With a Spa in an idyllic setting, jutting out over a natural wetland lake teaming with fish and birdlife, it is sure to enhance the spiritual and physical relaxation you expect from a Spa in the country. The Metswedi bar in the evenings allows guests to partake of sundowners whilst watching the sunset over the natural bush. Other facilities include a large swimming pool, game drives, Pigmy Hippo Walk, Paul Kruger Country House Museum Tour, Anglo Boere War Museum, helicopter Pad, Team building area, and open air conference areas. All this, just one and a half hour’s drive from Johannesburg and Pretoria, and only 15 minutes from Sun City and the Pilanesberg Game Reserve - home of the “Big Five”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Kedar Country Lodge, Conference Center & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kedar Country Hotel, Conference Center And Spa
Kedar Country Hotel, Hotel Rustenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kedar Country Lodge, Conference Center & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.