We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tshukudu Bush Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tshukudu Bush Lodge to your Saves list
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   P.O. Box 6805, Pilanesberg National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A fabulous place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Thanks everyone at Tshukudu. We had the time of our life. Perfect lodge for nature and relaxation lovers. Highly recommended, so many nice things to see at once. The lodge blends beautifully and discretly well in the bush. Perfect, can't wait to go back!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
60
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Exclusive kid-free zone in the middle of the Pilanesberg. Only 6 chalets ensures that it is peaceful;0) it is not 'over-the-top' luxury. Since there are only a few guests & dinner was around one table - it almost feels like a dinner among friends - especially after 2 game drives together. Lucky for us we had a great group of people! We really enjoyed relaxing on our balcony overlooking the park, beer in hand from the 'included' mini-bar. It was so quiet we could hear the 'noises of nature' from birds to Dassies at the same time having a view over the water hole and all animals that pass by - we saw Wildebeest, impala & Zebra from our room! The safari drives were amazing, our guide, Evan, was very passionate & knowledgeable. He was keen to show us as many animals (& preferably the big 5) as possible. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

..this place is for you!the setting is amazing as well as scenic views...everything is being taken care of by the friendly staff.
our safari guide evan is passionate and respectful of nature and animals and we learned so much from him,thank you so much and we hope to be back there soon!
marie-camille and alex

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My family and I were there in November 2013 and we had the most amazing experience. Our safari was amazing, the food was wonderful and the drinks were always full thanks to Simon and Ernest.

We did all of our game drives with Evan who was unbelievably knowledgable and so patient with our strange questions.

The cabins were beautiful and the attention to detail throughout the entire lodge was unlike anything I've ever experienced before. I would absolutely go back to Tshukudu, in fact I wouldn't even consider going anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We went for two night stay to tshukudu as a couple for a special weekend away. We missed the original transport from the lodge but the staff were very accommodating and sent an additional vehicle to collect us. We were welcomed with a drink, cold towel and an introduction to the schedule. Everyone was really friendly, Shawn especially, who was our guide throughout.

As it is a national park you can only go on the main tracks but soon able to go on management paths as the only lodge allowed. We felt we had a fantastic guide who was so well established in the park and took us to the best sitings. We caught an early morning lion siting and a lion kill that others had not.

The food was amazing. We had a dinner on our balcony which was just fantastic and at no extra charge. A bath had been run ready for a quick soak after safari before dinner. The wine was good and there were no restrictions on timing or volume. The variety and choice of food was really refreshing.

Great stay. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 12 has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Without a doubt one of the most amazing things we have ever done! We were met by Evan who was our Ranger and he impressed us right from the start. Friendly, professional and extremely knowledgable. His love and respect for the animals and nature is admirable and we thoroughly enjoyed our time spend with him. It turned out that we were the only guests and as we were there to celebrate our anniversary Evan surprised us with a meal in our cabin, complete with rose petals, wood burning fire, bath drawn and two chefs cooking us a beautiful meal. We have never felt so spoiled and special. Evan and the rest of the staff there went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed the experience and even woke us up earlier than normal one morning as there were some lions spotted at the entrance to the camp! We were very fortunate and saw a number of animals each one as fascinating as the next. The attention to detail is second to none. Great job and thanks again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing with breathtaking views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

There might be cheaper places to stay in Pilanesberg but Tshukudu was worth every penny in my opinion. The whole experience, from the high quality of the accommodation, to the views from the rooms, to the attention to detail from all the staff, to the delicious food prepared fresh every day from the chef, to the excellent knowledge of the drive guides, made my 2-day stay very memorable and will be an experience I'll never forget.

This was my first time in Africa and my first ever safari. Ivan was an amazing and very knowledgable guide and knew all the best spots to see the animals. I was very lucky on this trip and saw all the big animals (except for Buffalo). We even saw stuff that Ivan hadn't seen before, which included watching a full grown male lion climbing a tree to steal an impala that was left by a leopard the day before! I was very priviledged to see all the stuff we did.

Thanks to everyone at Tshukudu for making my trip the best weekend break EVER and it was one of the most amazing places I have ever stayed. I have great memories that will last a lifetime. Thank-you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tshukudu Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tshukudu Bush Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 6805, Pilanesberg National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tshukudu Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Tshukudu Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tshukudu Bush Hotel Pilanesberg National Park
Tshukudu Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tshukudu Bush Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.