We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best family lodge in the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tshukudu Bush Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tshukudu Bush Lodge to your Saves list
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   P.O. Box 6805, Pilanesberg National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Best family lodge in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Well, it is hard to describe what you see in the eyes of a 9 years old boy when you arrive at Tshukudu for the first time and he realizes that there is a pet cheetah lying down on the terrace.

Amazing family place, great food and the most kid’s friendly staff you can imagine. Our ranger took a great care of our boys (9 and 11) and made them feel like junior rangers.

For the grownups, of course the safaris are not as great as the Sabi Sands ones, but you get to walk with lion cubs which is an amazing experience.

Rooms are nice and clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
60
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed for 2 days during a short break during a business trip to South Africa. Tshukudu Lodge made a 2 night stay seem like a week or more holiday. Our game guide, host, and lodge manager Wimpie was fantastic - knowledgeable ranger during our exciting game drives to engaging host at dinner.
A wonderful place, well run, clean, good food, and good company!
There is no way to contact the outside world - you don't need it with everything at Tshukudu and in the Pilanesberg to keep you busy. Stay for 2 nights at least to enjoy the lodge.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room - all are suite cottages overlooking the veld near a watering hole
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We arrived after a 21/2 hour drive from Johannesburg at Tshukudu and had wonderful game-drives with Shawn, property Manager and Ranger in one person.The location on the little hill is beautiful and you have great views from the big veranda and from the balcony of your room. The food was amazing!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dobbs Ferry, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

This was the second time I have visited this exclusive place in the bush. The first was with my mom and the second with my husband. I found the food to be incredible, the service to be impeccable, and the guides to be so knowledgeable, friendly, and interactive. We had Vimpy (his nick name) as our guide. He was wonderful! Experienced, knew a ton, and was humble. You could tell he really respected the animals around him and he knew what he was doing. He made me feel safe, which is a lot to be said on a game drive.
Shawn, the property manager, was also wonderful. She checked in with us on a daily basis, sometimes a few times a day, to make sure we were having a good time.
Elvis and the other man who was there too were also incredible. Yes there are stairs, but it's not that bad if you can do it. It's worth every penny!!!!

The only thing I could say is that if the weather is hot, it can get hot in the rooms. No big deal, but just to be prepared.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same. Ask for one at the top of the stairs near the pool. I think they have the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Stunning lodge with great views from the lodge and from the balcony. Food was amazing and staff were there to please. A little pricey but a great way to spend a weekend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Spent three nights with my new wife on honeymoon at the lodge. Amazing location and fantastic views from the lodges. Prepare yourself for the 5 course dinners and great high tea lunches. Zander the guide was excellent, providing lots of interesting information and amazing sightings. Head there for at least two nights, ideally three.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I actually stayed at Tshukudu in Dec. 2009 and am just getting around to posting. Since my review is so old I won't offer any suggestions other than to say that you should stay at least two nights. My friends and I stayed one night and while we enjoyed the experience immensely all agreed it would have been that much better with a second night. A second night allows you more opportunity to see the wildlife and almost as importantly it allows you to luxuriate in the well appointed accomodations. Overall it was a fantastic experience, the food was good, the staff knowledgeable, cheerful and accomodating in every way. Would love to return!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tshukudu Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tshukudu Bush Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 6805, Pilanesberg National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tshukudu Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Tshukudu Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tshukudu Bush Hotel Pilanesberg National Park
Tshukudu Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tshukudu Bush Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.