We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in the North West!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Selous Bush Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pilanesberg National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Selous Bush Camp
Save
You added Selous Bush Camp to your Saves list
Mankwe Game Reserve, Pilanesberg National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“One of the best in the North West!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

As part of The EXPEDITION Project 2012 i had the opportunity of visiting numerous game reserves, lodges and tented camps across South Africa. Selous Bush Camp managed to combine the indredibly difficult task of comfort while still feeling like you are experiencing the bush of South Africa. Add to that excellent food, hospitality and facilities and the stay was first class.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

First time at Selous Bushcamp to celebrate my fiance's 30th birthday.
We were extremely well taken care of, the staff were great and accommodating.
The tented camps were so much fun, clean and easily accessible - definitely a fun way of camping !! A definite must !! And great value for money - whoever says otherwise....

Room Tip: All tented camps are well spaced apart from each other, ensuring privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Was exactly what we wanted for a break away from JHB. Close to JHB and just outside the Pilanesberg Nature reserve. The staff were all so happy and cheerful and helpful. Showers under the stars are the way forward! Food was great! We definitely felt very well rested and rejuvenated. It was a fantastic bush holiday!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our host was friendly and professional and the amenities were clean. We were a group of friends and were laughing and predicting about how much worse it were getting as the weekend progressed. If single army beds, a cold water shower ( "sorry we experience water problems from time to time"), an empty portable plastic pool, a untrained hungry game ranger (he polished all our snacks), basic meals and no attention to detail is your scene, then Selous Bush Camp in Mankwe Game reserve is the place for you. The tents were torn and the pathways and tents too sparingly lit. Our husbands were in their elements, because it reminded them of doing border duty in Namibia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SelousCamp, General Manager at Selous Bush Camp, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thanks for your feedback on TripAdvisor I only wish you had also advised us of your unhappiness as well, besides the water problem. From time to time our supplier, Magalies Water, has extra pressure on their system and they as well as us do all that is possible to get the supply back to standard. This problem is experienced by all the people from us to Ivory Tree Lodge. There is no exception fortunately. I apologise for your inconvenience though and it would also explain why our kiddy pool was empty.
10 of tents are twin rooms with 2 beds in each. The other 2 tents now have queen beds. The images and info of the beds are on our website so we do not try to deceive any one.
I apologise for my hungry qualified guide if he ate the snacks. I do take exception to my guide being called untrained. He wears his FGASA badge all the time and I have not had a single complaint besides this one.
Our tents have been torn buy the extreme wind and rain storms we have had. There is a person that comes in to repair them though.
Again, we regret that your stay was not what you thought it would be. It is not our intention to disappoint!
Bush wishes, Perry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Selous Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selous Bush Camp

Address: Mankwe Game Reserve, Pilanesberg National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selous Bush Camp – A tented bush experience - is situated in the malaria free, Mankwe Wildlife Reserve in the North West Province. We are on the Northam Rd (R510) about 10km from the Pilanesberg National Park and 25km from Sun City.The Pilanesberg Airport is 15km for the Reserve.Accommodation at Selous Bush Camp is in authentic cotton canvas tents and all 12 tents have 2 single beds as well as en-suite toilets & open air shower . All tents are slightly raised on wooden decks. Each tent has its own private deck with coffee/tea delivered on request. There is running water at the camp and a generator runs power in the evenings for lights and to charge cell phones or laptops, etcetera.There is a large boma for dinners under the vast African sky.For lunches/brunches and summer breakfast there is a large main lounge and dining area. This is also used during inclement weather.Activities are safari/game drives and bush walks (depending on qualified guide being available) on Mankwe Private Reserve.We also offer alternative activities like Hot Air Ballooning, Big 5 game drives, etcetera, at an extra cost, off site. Conferencing, team building and wedding bookings are welcome. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selous Bush Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.