We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic scenery and lots of animals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pilanesberg National Park

Pilanesberg National Park
North - West Province, Pilanesberg National Park, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Pilanesberg National Park like an insider
Top Rated
$176*
and up
Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City...
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Roskilde, Roskilde, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic scenery and lots of animals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A wonderful national park and game reserve.
Despite the drive-yourself-option it is not at all crowded, hence giving you a sense of being 'alone with the animals' in their natural environment.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    191
    31
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“See the Big Five (if you are lucky)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

A great reserve and easy drive from greater Johannesburg or Pretoria. We drove our own vehicle to game view but one can go on game drive vehicles with a guide.

Pilanesberg has the Big Five (Lion, Leopard, Rhino, Elephant and Buffalo) but we have been visiting the park for many years and have yet to spot any Buffalo. There are also Wild Dogs in the reserve now.

Some of the busier roads have been resurfaced but some of the dirt roads are currently in a very poor state with summer rains adding to their plight.

Controlled burning takes place annually in different parts of the park so if you do visit, try to go after the first rains as the new grass will be green and the grazers are easy to view.

Although mosquitoes are common in the area in the warmer months, the reserve is not in a malaria area. Besides the wildlife, there are interesting geological features and an Iron Age site worth visiting.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Pilanesberg - private safari - unforgettable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Wonderful experience in one-day private safari with Catz Tours. My partner and I decided to visit Pilanesberg 10 days before the trip and it all worked very nicely and well organized. We contacted Annekie from Catz Tours and organized 8hrs private safari. We spent a wonderful day with Henri, driving through the whole park, following the animals. We saw rhinos -20 m away, impressive! Elephants, giraffes, zebras, al crossing the road in front of us. All that thank you to Henri who predicted the animals behaviour and we could really enjoy this fastastic place. The landsacape is beautiful and diverse within the park. The following day (we stayed in Kedar -25km outside the park- simple lodge, good value-price, and very good located) we drove in the park by ourselves, following the inidications and recommendations from Henri and we saw again so many animals. That was ourfirst safari experience and I must say it is unforgottable, thank you Annekie and Henri for organizing it, for being so flexible and friendly! I can highly recommend Catz Tours for a unique, friendly and fun safari! Greetings from Switzerland! O&O

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Living across the world!
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Smaller but more densely populated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was very satisfied with the Pilansberg National Park. It is much closer to Jo'burg than the famous Kruger, so will allow you to easily go for a short break or a weekend. Being far smaller, it is said to be more densely populated by the animals which will ensure some good spottings! We managed to see Giraffes, Elephants, Lions, Rhinos, Buffalos, and all the easier to spot animals such as impalas, water hogs, monkeys and other mammals. We were even on the traces of a leopard who had been spotted the day prior to our arrival with a fresh pray but ran out of luck!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Pilanesberg Game reserve is a malaria free game reserve. It is an excellent option if you want a quick access to a game reserve from Johannesburg. Activities include game drives, either self-driven or guided, game walks and birding. Pilanesberg also operates hot-air balloon safaris. It has Sun City, with its entertainment centre, golf course, water world and casino next door. We go there on a regular basis and we have seen lions, cheetah,elephants, buffalo, rhino and a wide diversity of animals. You can either do self guided drive or use the park rangers who are excellent.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilanesberg National Park also viewed

Greater Johannesburg, Gauteng
Pilanesberg National Park, North-West Province
 
Sun City, North-West Province
 

Been to Pilanesberg National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pilanesberg National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.