We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PILANESBERG GAME RESERVE - An Eden for wildlife” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pilanesberg National Park

Pilanesberg National Park
North - West Province, Pilanesberg National Park, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Pilanesberg National Park like an insider
Top Rated
$175*
and up
Pilanesberg Nature Reserve Safari and Sun City...
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“PILANESBERG GAME RESERVE - An Eden for wildlife”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This time of year (September / October) affords the best game viewing experiences as many animals give birth to young. The bushveld is not overgrown yet, and the weather is still quite cool.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    190
    31
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“No time for Kruger? No worries!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I only had a couple of days in the Johanessburg area and was sad that I could not get to Kruger. However, I found a great guide (Collins from Stream Africa Travel) and we loaded up and headed to Pilanesberg National Park. Bring a great camera with an image-stabilized telephoto lens, binoculars, sun screen, plenty of water, and remind Collins to fill the car with gas before entering the park. You can spend sun-up to sun-down driving Pilansberg and the wonders never cease. The game are used to cars and I passed within 100m of rhino, elephant, giraffe, etc... Go slowly when riding around - this is a place where attention to detail will reveal hidden gems both large and small. Get out and go!!! The new headquarters is just now opening their shops and restaurants.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great park, and so convenient to Johannesburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

A wonderful resource in easy driving distance of Johannesburg. Well stocked with game including the big 5. Easily accessible with a regular sedan though the tar roads could do with some maintenance.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“unforgettable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I spent the entire day in Pilanesberg on a weekday and it was breathtakingly good.

Rented a car and did a self drive trip through the reserve and did it with absolutely no regrets

I would definitely suggest driving yourself then you can go to all the lookout points and get amazing photographs of this beautiful place.

I didnt have the chance to come across Cheetah's and the Buffalo, but nonetheless it still made me a relatively happy camper.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing game viewing 2 hours from Johannesburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

High diversity of game within the reserve means you'll see a wide variety of animals within a short time. The reserve encompasses a unique geological formation known as the PNP Alkaline Ring Complex, formed by the remains of an ancient volcano and comprised of concentric rings of hills. The combination of hills, savanna and water features within a short driving radius adds to the game viewing potential. We stayed for 2 nights at the Ivory Tree Game Lodge within the reserve, which I highly recommend. The reserve is closed at night, so the pre-dawn and evening game viewing is only available to those that are staying at accommodations within the reserve. Only 2 hours drive from Johannesburg/Pretoria and is malaria-free.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilanesberg National Park also viewed

Greater Johannesburg, Gauteng
Pilanesberg National Park, North-West Province
 
Sun City, North-West Province
 

Been to Pilanesberg National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pilanesberg National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.