We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Upington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Upington to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Upington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Schroder Street, Upington 8801, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Upington
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Helpful Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed overnight at the Protea Hotel as we were on our way to the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park.

The hotel has recently been revamped and still needs attention regarding final maintenance and cleaning.

I was disappointed in the condition and size of our room - carpets and walls dirty, no view as the room was above the entrance to the hotel (which also proved to be noisy) and a tiny bathroom with a huge step at the entrance. However, our friends had a spacious room in comparison, so ensure that you know what you are paying for, and perhaps ask for a room with a view overlooking the pool or the river.

The new pool, fitness area and additional secure parking is a welcome improvement.

Be prepared to climb a few stairs from the parking area with your suitcases to get to the reception area (add to your fitness level).

The hotel offers a great breakfast. It also offers lunch and dinner, but we chose to eat at the local restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view overlooking the pool or the river but check noise levels i.e. if there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
5
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Struisbaai, South Africa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Having stayed at this hotel in the past, I was most impressed with the renovations EXCEPT it seems not everything has been completed, so one is stepping over contractors, power cables etc. My room didn't seem to have been completed in the renovation process - no carpet, Fire detector in ceiling missing, dust & paint on the floors. Also no drinking water in the room. Having complained about the room, I cannot fault the staff. They are so friendly, helpful and extremely efficient. I must complement Bridget on her stunning service - what a breath of fresh air!!!!. Thanks also for giving me the little packet of powder to remove the curry stain on my blouse. Yes, the Lamb Curry is superb!!!
The pool deck is great and what an joy to sit outside at the pool, sipping a cold drink.

Room Tip: Orange River facing rooms have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have visited the hotel at the end of October and they have just completed their additions. The rooms on offer are better than it was and the new entertainment area with the pool is a welcome addition, especially during summer. One of the biggest problems in the past - on-site parking- has been addressed. Well worth the stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

The hotel is nice and cosy, with the lift full of information about land speed records. The rooms were well furnished and while the room was away from the river view, there was some view of the Orange River. Located to my business interest. However, the rate for the hotel was rather expensive considering that the shower in the room was so bad that they had to let me use another bathroom. Were it not for the bathroom shower and the rate, I would have given this 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

This hotel does not seem to live up to the expectations of a 4 star establishment.

Whilst the rooms a large and spacious, they are quite spartan in style. Had problems with the aircon and the bedside light.

Both the buffet breakfast and the buffet supper were disappointing in terms of quality and service. Buffet choices were quite limited. Patrons are expected to collect their own dinner drinks at the bar, but the prices are in line wiht those of full service establishments.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
big island hawaii
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

After almost two weeks in Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park it was nice to find this comfortable, convenient hotel. The room was quite large, we were given a two bedroom suite. Television, comfortable beds, large bathroom and shower. It's located on the main street in Upington within walking distance to shops and restaurants. The staff was friendly and helpful. Parking is enclosed and gated. Would recommend this hotel for anyone going to stay in Upington.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Upington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Upington

Address: 26 Schroder Street, Upington 8801, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Upington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Upington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Upington 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Upington - Peace and Tranquillity on the banks of the Orange River. Set on the edge of the Kalahari Desert and overlooking the mighty Orange River, the Protea Hotel Upington is a welcome haven for weary travelers. Positioned in the heart of the CBD, this hotel is within walking distance of all the banks, shops and local restaurants. This hotel is an ideal base for exploring popular sites such as the Kgalagardi Trans frontier Park, Orange River Wine Cellars and the Augrabies Fall National Park. The Namibian border is a mere 120km from Upington making this hotel the ideal place to stay over. The hotel has well-appointed, fully air-conditioned rooms. Modern en-suite bathrooms, satellite TV with 16 channels, tea/coffee making facilities and mini-bar fridges are featured in all rooms. A modern cocktail bar and restaurant overlooks a courtyard with swimming pool. The hotel also has a fully kitted gym with state-of-the-art equipment and for those that want to stay in shape whilst away from home. The Courtyard Bar and Restaurant will fill your tanks at breakfast and they are open for lunch and dinner as well. You will need your energy for activities in the area like golf, canoeing, tennis, squash and watersports. Wireless connectivity is ensured throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Protea Hotel Upington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Upington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.