We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Oasis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Oasis to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Oasis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Schroder Street, Upington 8800, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Upington
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bad Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

After a 860 km ride on our Harleys from Lambertsbay on the West Coast we looked forward to booking into a hotel have a cold shower and relax, We stayed at the Oasis hotel in Upington on Sunday evening with the worst experience ever. Our room was room 107. On arrival I asked the front desk for a porter to help us with our bags,no assistance were given, the airconditioning system in our room did not work, no water in the fridge, the tv reception was bad with no reception on channel 5. This is supposed to be a 4 star hotel. We stay in Protea hotels quite often but I do not think a Protea will see me again. I do think that the Oasis is the worst of all hotels I ever visited.

Room Tip: Another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
10
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
243 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel is a reasonable and economical choice for your stay in Upington. The location is quite central, next to the Orange River, with plenty of shops and restaurants within a few minute’s walk. The area seemed safe, no problem going out for a walk or run. Right across the road is another Protea Hotel, so don’t get confused!

Check-in was efficient and all staff were very friendly and helpful. The first thing you notice is that there are tons of curtains hanging everywhere in the hotel – over windows, over walls, around the staircases – so the place seems just a little dark and gloomy. The rooms are small and very comfortable, but again dark due to fairly small windows and overhanging veranda type structures on the outside of the building. The room was showing some signs of age or perhaps just poor workmanship, even though it appears to have been fairly recently renovated. Free Wifi is provided and there is a small computer desk to work on.

There is no gym in the hotel, however you are permitted to use the gym in the other Protea Hotel across the street. It’s a fairly small affair with a few pieces of mediocre-quality cardio gear (bike, treadmills, rower) and a decent quality multigym. No free weights though.

The breakfast buffet is quite good, with a good selection of fruit and hot & cold breakfast dishes, as well as eggs made to order. I didn’t eat any other meals there, opting for the Spur steak house right across the street at the other Protea hotel.

Overall I had a good stay here and I recommend it to other travelers, however next time I’m in Upington I will opt for the other Protea hotel across the street, since it has the gym and a nice outdoor pool and bar courtyard area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Being a prokard member and paying corporate rates, I somehow expected a better room that what I ended up with. The room was small, next to a linen closet on the 1st floor (115). One windows is straight into a wall while the other faces a pillar. As far as I can summise, no windows would actually be a better option. It is not like Upington is NYC with towering buildings when views are hard to come by. This is practically a dorp with few tall buildings, and yet the hotel managed to find the smallest and least attractive room in the hotel. The working desk is clattered with coffee machines and the like, making the working area less of a working area. The location of the hotel is brilliant as it is close to my business interest and overlooking the Orange river. Parking is however impossible since the small parking is shared with a Spur Steak Rank next door. As I type this, there is endless noise from the room above with things being dropped to no end. I dread going to sleep as I expect I will be woken up constantly. My last stay here was brilliant and the room (108) was brilliant.

Room Tip: If you can, avoid room 115.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

A well-loved, pimped Protea Hotel next to the Orange River. Best rooms have a view of the river and courtyard. Cleans, beautiful and everything you expect from a new 4 star Protea. Slick, elegant and modern - the excellent barman will serve up anything you want (and is willing to learn if its not on the menu). Staff is unobtrusive but waiters can be missing in action when you need them most. Food is as excellent as the wine list. Not recommended for families with young children. Highly recommended for everyone with a budget and a taste for comfort and refinement after a long hot day.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed only one night and yet looked after so well. Our room overlooked the main road and was wonderfully laid out and designed. We had an issue with the air con in the room. The response from reception and maintenance was superb. There were up in a flash and had it working straight away. Thanks guys. Breakfast, huge and plentiful.
Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Billed as the finest hotel in the Northern Cape, the Protea Hotel Oasis is tastefully decorated with an African Kalahari theme, and has a cool and inviting atrium with friendly, welcoming staff who go out of their way to assist you.

We stayed in one of the larger corner rooms on the 2nd floor which has a comfy couch and was fairly spacious. There were tea/coffee-making facilities including a Nespresso machine in the room (including weighty instruction-manual), which also boasted a flat-sceen tv with selected DSTV channels and aircon.

The room also had both South African and British-style 220v wall sockets.

The bed was very comfortable, the shower was excellent. Stand back when you flush the toilet - it has the fiercest flush known to man. I wasn't wild about the glass toilet door or the fact that there was no way to secure it (so toddlers enjoyed sliding it back and forth while you were engaged in toilet pursuits...).

I'm confused as to how a hotel, no matter how prettily decorated, comfortable, and maintained, can be graded 4 star when it has no pool, no restaurant, no gym... Apparently when the upgrading of the other Protea hotel across the road (literally) is completed, customers will be able to use their pool. The hotel has bill-back agreements in place with several local restaurants so you can eat out (within easy walking distance) and have the meal billed to your room.

The breakfast buffet at this hotel is OUTSTANDING. Excellent service, presentation, and a wide variety of options - one of the best I've ever experienced.

The hotel is centrally located in Upington, and the Intercape bus from Cape Town to Pretoria stops just across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Staff were exceptionally warm, friendly and helpful and really went the extra mile. The room was spotlessly clean and tidy, and there were extra touches, like sweets on the pillow at bedtime. The breakfast was very good, lots of options. It was also on the same street as th3e best restaurant in twon.

Room Tip: Trya nd not face the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Oasis

Address: 26 Schroder Street, Upington 8800, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Upington
Amenities:
Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Upington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Oasis - The Finest Hotel in the Northern Cape. For the finest hotel in the Northern Cape, one has to look no further than the Protea Hotel Oasis. The hotel offers the GUEST a truly memorable experience in the heart of Upington. The whole interior has been designed to achieve a minimalist, trendy and contemporary look, with wood and granite offset by porcelain tiling. Natural colour schemes with warm earthy tones create a refreshing feel throughout. Our 4 suites and 2 executive suites offer our GUESTS HD TV, Nespresso machines, open balcony and a personal suite assistant. The bedrooms offer a modern, natural African theme and boast designer air-conditioners, tea/coffee-making facilities, bar fridges, hairdryers, electronic safes, electronic door locks, flat screen TVs with 15 satellite channels and work surfaces with telephone dial-up and Wi-Fi in all rooms. The bathrooms feature a modern theme of granite and glass showers. Facilities include the Tsama Restaurant, open daily for breakfast. Hot Spots in all rooms and public areas ensure wireless connectivity for those GUESTS requiring quick and easy internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Protea Hotel Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.