We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY RELAXING! (Shereen Ruthven, Kimberley)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Must River Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Le Must River Residence to your Saves list
Le Must River Residence
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   14 Budler Street, Upington 8800, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 54 Upington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kimberley, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“VERY RELAXING! (Shereen Ruthven, Kimberley)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

It's a very beautiful place to come back to after a difficult day at the office. Very central situated to CBD. Staff are very helpful & friendly & I loved the cats. The breakfast was excellent! Will definitely promote & re-visit Le Must Residence!

Room Tip: Room number 4 was excellent - very spacious and very nice bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirkje b, Manager at Le Must River Residence, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
dear Shereen

thank you so much for your review - we do hope to receive you, soon

Dirkje and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    6
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
18
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bloemfontein
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

As a first time visitor arriving 21:30 on a Friday evening I was impressed by the friendly service. The historic character splendid garden and majestic river creates a calming effect. I will recommend anyone to your facility. Parking can be adressed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirkje b, General Manager at Le Must River Residence, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
dear Theuns

thank you so much for your review

we do hope to receive you back in your room, soon

Dirkje + staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

The place was beautiful and the staff was even better. We arrived with some major issues such as needing to get some things taken care of quickly and we were leaving for a trip to the Kalahari. They helped us get everything solved and did while staying at a beautiful place by the River. We stayed at the Le Must Manor before the trip to the Kalahari and the Le Must Residence after our trips and we recommend both!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirkje b, Manager at Le Must River Residence, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
dear David

thank you so much for your review and visiting our beloved part of South Africa.

we know you will treasure the memories of the Kalahari

warm wishes

Dirkje + staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, Free State, South Africa
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I have been staying at Le Must Guest house for the last two Years when I travel to the Northern Cape, they are like family and its my home away from home. Love it there! I travel allot and the thing I enjoy the most is the friendliness of the staff. The property is amazing. I will never stay anywhere else When I'm in Upington.
Just want to say thanks to the staff for making me feel so welcome and loved.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirkje b, Manager at Le Must River Residence, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
dear Linda

you are one of our favorite clients. we love to spoil you - please come back and stay with us - soon

warm le must wishes

Dirkje + staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Are always very well received by Dirkje and her team. Wonderful atmosphere without the feeling that your privacy is invaded by any of the other guests.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirkje b, Manager at Le Must River Residence, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
dear Johan

thank you for your review and your mention of our location - yes, we agree that Le Must Residence has a very special address in Upington

warm wishes

Dirkje + team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Le Must is excuse the pun an "absolute must", wonderful accommodation, friendly staff and great value for money. Nothing was too much trouble that i requested, arrived late and had to leave very early, no trouble, breakfast pack was ready for me in the morning as was a full flask of coffee. The rooms are immaculate and very homely, and the shower facility in the room was a blessing.
I highly recommend this venue for a stop over in Upington, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Upstairs balcony room is quite, spacious and more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I recently stayed two nights at Le Must River Residence in Upington. I chose this guest house because of the glowing description of it in the Lonely Planet guide to South Africa. As I have learned through travel to 107 countries around the world Lonely Planet is never wrong and they certainly were not wrong in their recommendation of Le Must River Residence. The room I stayed in (Room 6) was immaculate and very comfortable. "My" bed was one of the most comfortable I slept on during five weeks in South Africa. Breakfast each morning was superb and cooked to perfection. You will probably enjoy the bountiful fresh fruit and home made Museil as much as I did. The Gueshouse is located on the north bank of the Orange River and its garden is filled with bird life. Birders will be happy to know that a pair of African Scops-Owls nests in one of the gigantic trees in the garden. You should be able to at least hear them calling from late afternoon onward. Dirkje the owner is a wealth of information on things to see and places to visit and restaurants to frequent while in Upington. She seems to especially enjoy Namibia and you will find her a wealth of information on that nearby country. All in all I was extremely pleased with my stay at Le Must and would return here without hesitation if I was ever lucky enough to be in this part of South Africa again. Give it a try. I promise that you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask Dirkje for directions on finding the Guesthouse when you make your reservation. Its tucked away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Must River Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Must River Residence

Address: 14 Budler Street, Upington 8800, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Upington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Upington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Must River Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Must Residence is a superior boutique guest house on the banks of the verdant Orange River, in the business centre of Upington. The residence is reminiscent of the great Italian villas of the lake district of Italy and is lush with antiquities, heirlooms and other treasures collected from all over the world. Le Must Residence with 11 bedrooms and suites, is a haven of peace and tranquility and will host you with comfort. You will love our friendly, local staff and our unpretentious Northern Cape hospitality.We are proud to be a non-hotel property. We do look forward to receiving you as our guests. Dirkje and Le Must staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Must River Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Must River Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.