We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage style getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kimberley Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kimberley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kimberley Club
Save Saved
You added Kimberley Club to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Currey Street | 72 Du Toitspan Road, Kimberley 8301, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kimberley
Bloemfontein
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Vintage style getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at the Kimberley Club Hotel for 2 nights. The club was inaugurated in 1881. I loved the historic photographs and interior of the whole hotel. With a visit to the big hole, you really feel like living in the diamond dynasty era. The staff were friendly and helpfull. We had breakfast, but I feel that other restaurants can offer better food. The hotel has wi-fi, but you have to pay extra for it.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-5 faces the street, so the traffic can be a bit noisy, but on the otherhand you get a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    26
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
18
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I had the fortunate experience of being booked in to the Kimberley Club for a couple of nights due to a mix up by my customer. This will be my first choice every time from now on. The building is not too dissimilar to an English stately home in its interior design and decor. The history of the building, the club and Kimberley are well documented throughout the hotel. Hit the bar (observe the dress code) on a Friday evening and you will encounter the club members having their weekly wind down. They are a very hospitable and friendly group who made me feel almost a temporary member of the club. I was fortunate enough to have room one which is a two room suite, it is huge with a roll top bath at one end of the bedroom, plus an additional shower room. The lounge area is also large and has a three peice suite along with a could of tables with chairs. The food in the restaurant (dress code applies) is very good and amazing value, drinks are also very cheap. The service is very good with the staff all remembering my name and addressing me persnally. The breakfast offering is varied and plentiful with the hot options cooked to order. The bed was comfortable and the whole room fitted out with high quality materials. All in all this was an excellent experience and would highly recommend this hotel and associated club to all. Be aware there is a dress code for the bar and restaurant, long trousers and collared shirts are required. Denim is OK and polo shirts as well.

Room Tip: Try and get room one if available, although it is at the front so can suffer a little traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you like history, you should stay at the Kimberley Club. The rroms are really good, although quite historical. As the Club is still well alive, you feel that this is not a hotel but a Club. Which is nice if you allow yourself not being too demanding. The breakfast is OK. On the terrace with the original entrance door, you feel the old mining days. But be aware of the the restaurant. There are much better options in Kimberley.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our family stayed at the Kimberley Club for 3 nights. Options in Kimberley are limited so we were pleased to find something different. The hotel has a long history and it was a pleasant experience. The food was very good with large portions and many options. The building is very old, also some of the furniture, but this is all part of the experience. If you are into modern hotels then this is not the place for you. It does have all the typical things you would expect in a 4 star hotel. Our room was not very clean with lots of dust under the bed and the chairs on the balcony had not been dusted off in weeks. This was very disappointing as it is something that can be rectified so easily. Beds were comfortable. Sound from the street not good. Lots of noise on the Sat evening from cars racing down Du Toitspan road. Staff very helpful but not very friendly. This could just be part of the local culture. Overall not a bad experience and we will probably stay there again, but only because options are limited.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Glad we only stayed here for one night. The reception staff were disinterested. As the room was facing the road we could hear traffic and cars racing by all night. Room was ok although did not appreciate the cupboard like shower room with the basin in the bedroom! Overpriced. As the hotel was not busy when we were there, the waiting staff were bored and breakfast was uninteresting.The great thing about Kimberley was leaving it and driving down to Graaf Reinet. A wonderful road with beautiful views.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the courtyard and not the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Had the privilege of spending a night in the Kimberley Club.
General atmosphere and decor amazing. At every turn there is some interesting feature to observe.
Beautifully decorated room - excellent meals.
Staff friendly and helpful.
Makes one want to return again for another night!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Hotel is looking tired. Towels need replacing - very hard. A general overall of decor is required. One small bar of soap in room. Grouting in shower needs replacing. Good coffee machine! Friendly front desk staff. Airconditioning and ceiling fan available.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony - a porter will be required to carry big bags upstairs, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kimberley Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Club

Address: 35 Currey Street | 72 Du Toitspan Road, Kimberley 8301, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Kimberley
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kimberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Club 4*
Number of rooms: 21

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimberley Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.