We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Nighclub on premises” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Halfway House Hotel

Halfway House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Halfway House Hotel to your Saves list
Halfway House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   229 DuToitspan Road, Kimberley 8301, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 52 Kimberley B&B and Inns
George, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Local Nighclub on premises”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great rooms, but don't try and sleep there. You will hear drunk people till 4 o clock in the morning fighting, screaming, spinning their cars and laughing. I think they should decide between hotel or a nightclub. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
2
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We only went to the half for lunch. The food was great, well prepared, tasty and very good value for money. We were not staying there but I think the rooms around the bar area might be a bit noisy. They also seem to have a very nice restaurant on the premises - Annabels

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The rooms was spacious and beautiful. The courtyard setting stunning but the noise level with people partying a bit difficult when travelling with family especially when trying to sleep. When travelling as a couple by all means the place to be! Cosy, fires burning in courtyard with music, inside bar and a stunning formal restautant. See you again. Thanks Julian for good service.

Room Tip: Noise levels high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, Free State, South Africa
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have being staying at the Halfway House Hotel for a couple of months now and have never had any bad experiences or service from the hotel management or staff. I recently attended the KP Intercessional convention In Kimberley and the hotel personnel really went out of their way to offer a service of the highest level and standard!

Thanks to you guys and see you soon! And by the way, the food was excellent! Keep up the good work and i would surely recommend this to any person visiting Kimberley!

Room Tip: If you want to party, rooms next to the court yard area is the right place for you! For a more quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The food was excellent quality and value. On a hot night sitting in the courtyard with fans spaying a fine water mist is very cooling. The service was very good. Whilst we only eat there I can understand the comments re the rooms and the noise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I have to agree with the previous 2 reviews, definitely not a place for an early night.
Everything else is stunning. The venue is steeped in history and has the memorabilia hanging in every corner.
The outside bar is a lovely setting with lots of vibe. The inside dining room with white shirt and black apron clad waitrons is really great. I enjoyed a starter and a salad which was enough for an evening meal. The waiters know their stuff and run a packed restaurant with ease. Sharon on the reception desk stole the show with her shear enthusiasm for the hotel. All the staff were friendly and chatty. The room was big and the bed comfortable. I'm not big on the huge shower with overhead rain shower head but it was a first for me. Maybe I'll get used to it.

All in all... great.

But an early night... no.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is not a place to rest!! Its a local party venue and if you are in the mood to stay awake till early hours in the morning, then this is the joint. The atmosphere is grat, food standard and plenty of locals around. So be carefull if you want a cheap place to rest for the night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Halfway House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halfway House Hotel

Address: 229 DuToitspan Road, Kimberley 8301, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Kimberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Kimberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Halfway House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Halfway House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halfway House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.