We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Court Kimberley

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kimberley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden Court Kimberley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Du Toitspan Road, Kimberley 8301, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Kimberley
Rome
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We spent two nights at the hotel; it is very central to most attractions and it is value for money for a family of four. It is not luxurious but it is functional, clean with a decent breakfast. The rooms were clean there was a kettle and tea an

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorphilander, General Manager at Garden Court Kimberley, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review and would aslo like to inform you that
we're currently in the process of upgrading our bedrooms to a more modern look.

Warm regards
Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    17
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
3
3
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

What you would expect from a Garden Court Hotel, clean room and bathroom, Room big enough to not feel cramped. Breakfast was good with a large variety and the Spur adjacent to the Hotel means no traveling for dinner. The boardroom was well equipped and easy accessible.
Only negative for me, the parking is not under cover or shaded, and although it is fenced off, you do worry about your car's safety.

Would I stay here again, ofcourse!

Room Tip: the 3 times I stayed there all the rooms was the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorphilander, General Manager at Garden Court Kimberley, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you ver much for the great review.
We're constantly working on improving the layout and offerings in our bedrooms and breakfast.
When you visit us next, these changes will be evident.

warm regards
Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had spent a weekend away at Kimberley. We stayed the Garden Court it was very nice and the buffet breakfast was lovely. Staff was friendly and helpful. Kimberley is a beautiful city and we had such a relaxing time. If you looking for something just to get away from the city this place is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorphilander, General Manager at Garden Court Kimberley, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review and hope to host you again soon in Kimberley.
We'll be going through some upgrades in our rooms and would like to show it off.

Warm regards
Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Garden Court Kimberley was the perfect place to stay as a large group visiting the town for a National competition. Rooms were clean & pleasant with practical amenities like hairdryers, valuables safe, teas, coffees, ice buckets, comfy beds. We started our days with a hearty breakfast at the hotel & returned in the evening to clean rooms. There is a Spur in the hotel who went out of their way to accommodate guests, and a lovely Italian Restaurant diagonally opposite who served good food and were equally hospitable. Our overall experience was great !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorphilander, General Manager at Garden Court Kimberley, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Gina K,
Thank you very much for the wonderfull review of your stay with us.
I hope this event will come to Kimberley again so that we can host
you in our hotel and show off some of the wonderfull changes we are
implementing to our bedrooms.

Warm regards
Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have stayed at this establishment on numerous occasions and have stayed here again in May 2013. This hotel has always been great and for that reason I have been returning to this place whenever there is a requirement for accommodation in Kimberley.

The rooms are large and neat, but décor slightly outdated. We always have a pleasant experience at this establishment. The breakfast is great and having a good steakhouse attached to the hotel is very welcoming.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

I will return to this hotel the next time I am in Kimberley.

Room Tip: Rooms on all floors appear to be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorphilander, General Manager at Garden Court Kimberley, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and will pass your comments on to our team.
We endeavour to create great experiences and look forward to your next visit.

warm regards
Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Must say we were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The staff were very friendly, the hotel beautiful, the rooms comfortable and the breakfasts delicious. The staff went the extra mile. Will make a point of staying there when visiting Kimberley.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorphilander, General Manager at Garden Court Kimberley, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review and will pass your comments on to our team and we most definitely look forward to your next visit to Kimberley.

Warm regards
Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballito, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Good clean and centrally located.I was a bit afraid of drinking the tap water as it was a little off colour so suggest you keep some bottled water handy. The aircon is quite noisy making it difficult to get a good nights sleep especially if you there during the very hot summer months. The hotel doesn't serve lunch or supper but the Spur is connected to the hotel and if you get a bit tired of Spur there is a lovely Italian restaurant within walking distance called Mario's.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevorphilander, General Manager at Garden Court Kimberley, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review and will pass your comments on to our team.
We are due to upgrade our bedrooms in the next couple of months and have made available bottled water from the front desk on request.
We trust we'll be your first port of call on your next vist to Kimberley.

Warm regards
Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garden Court Kimberley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Kimberley

Address: 120 Du Toitspan Road, Kimberley 8301, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Kimberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Kimberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Kimberley 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by history, the Garden Court Kimberley is located in the heart of South Africa’s diamond capital, and within minutes from the largest man-made excavation in the world, the Big Hole. A short drive from the airport, guests have easy access to the town’s bustling commercial sector, malls, restaurants and numerous historical landmarks and attractions. Rooms are quaint and cosy, thoughtfully furnished to ensure a comfortable stay. Hotel residents receive 350 MB of complimentary WiFi per day . For business travellers, 3 conference venues are available to cater for meetings and gatherings of varying sizes. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Court Kimberley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Garden Court Kimberley to your Saves list