We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jatinga Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Jatinga Country Lodge to your Saves list
Jatinga Country Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jatinga Road, Plaston Nr., White River, 1240 | Plaston, White River 1240, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in White River
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“beautiful wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

we stayed here in august for our good friends wedding and it couldn't have been better.
genuine hospitality and friendliness and we felt as if we had left friends when we checked out.

very, very highly recommended and just first class - the staff were impressive.

great wine cellar and sparkling white under $15 a bottle!

Room Tip: just relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
28
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed here for a wedding with my family. Fantastic rooms and service, amazing wedding reception, venue and over all package. The food was lovely, both dinner at the reception and the next morning breakfast was superb. Staff work so hard! They were there when we left at 3am and there when we wanted breakfast at 9am! Very hard workers. Would happily come here again to stay next time I am in South Africa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Booked in for one night only which was our mistake as Jatinga is a place you should spend some time.
The rooms are fantastic.
The gardens just amazing
The dinning room and food is top quality
The staff extremely helpful
Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Jatinga Country Lodge, Nelspruit

Nelspruit offers an exciting range of characterful accommodation, especially with the taste of the Kruger National Park in the air. Jatinga Country Lodge is in the neighbouring village of White River, up a high hill overlooking Nelspruit, and even closer to the gateway to the Park. Famed for its gardens, historic buildings and fine cuisine, Jatinga offers the best of country hospitality. One feels welcomed and known by each member of the staff who seem to make every effort to make one’s stay comfortable and enjoyable.

Colonial, English and French country themed suites offer features like outdoor showers, wide baths, and indoor fireplaces. The rooms are spacious, with double doors leading out onto private patios. Paved walkways between the rooms wend amongst gentle fountains, wide lawns and spreading trees.

Accommodation experience
I was doing another week of intense psychological work in Nelspruit, weary and in need of a soothing haven to keep the circling existential despair at bay. This is what I found at Jatinga Country Lodge – with the kindest of staff, ivy-clad buildings, green trees, and calm decor. I wanted to hug my softly lit room at the end of each day, so glad I was for its friendly welcome. Taking a drink out onto my private patio, I let the sounds of bushveld birds and the sight of the fever trees call me back to the present. Staying outside until darkness set in, I would then enjoy a hot outdoor shower under cool starlit skies. At night the duvet felt snug and heavy and when I woke I was fully refreshed to start the next day.

In his poem “A Blessing for One Who is Exhausted,” Father O’Donahue writes:

You have travelled too fast over false ground;
Now your soul has come to take you back.

Take refuge in your senses, open up
To all the small miracles you rushed through.

Become inclined to watch the way of rain
When it falls slow and free.

Imitate the habit of twilight,
Taking time to open the well of colour
That fostered the brightness of day.

Draw alongside the silence of stone
Until its calmness can claim you.
Be excessively gentle with yourself.

Jatinga offered a taste of this healing process which natural light, stone and the small miracles of nature can offer.

Review by characterstay.blogspot.com

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing experience. One of the best levels of service I have ever experienced. We arrived after a long drive to get to Jatinga. It is beautifully designed and looks like a piece of heaven compared to the area that you drive through to get there. Lovely manicured gardens what looks like colonial buildings. The Luxury rooms are a definite must as they are very large and the massive bathroom with the outside shower is a great experience. All the amenities and the fire place is a bonus.

The staff immediately made us feel welcome and once we were helped to our room arrangements were made for supper at the restaurant. The level is service at supper and quality of food was first rate. I did mention that we were celebrating a birthday and they arranged the wine cellar into a candlelit wonderland just for us with two staff serving.

Breakfast was something not to be missing as well, same level of great service and very good food. Overall I place I would definitely recommend. Thank you to Sharon and Simon for looking after us so well. You took an ordinary vacation and turned it into amazing experience.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Only stayed one night on route to Joberg airport from the Sabi Sands game reserve
What a lovely place, with an almost colonial feel about it. The grounds are so lovely with woods, river, meadows all together. Such a welcome contrast with the dry Kruger area i had just come from

The food was fantastic and the service absolutely first class. You are made to feel really special.

The room was very nice with a large bed and huge bathroom

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 19 at the far side right side, which seemed nicer than some of the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Once you find it, Jatinga Country Lodge is an absolute delight. A colonial legacy, it certainly evoked in those days (not that I can remember!) With its sofas on the veranda and staff ready and willing to meet your every need, especially when I needed a charging lead for my camera batteries and they cobbled one together for me. Perhaps the staff were a little bit too willing, verging on obsequious, although my first experience of South Africa, that seemed to be a common tendency.

My room, one half of a stand alone Lodge (all the rooms are stand-alone, scattered throughout the grounds with none more than 100 m from the main building), was delightful. Simply, but elegantly, furnished with good quality linens and toiletries. The bathroom had both a bath (with integral shower) and a separate corner shower, although Eric (the owner) might like to think whether the cobbled floor in the shower is as good as for feet as it is pretty. There was also an outside shower for when it was hotter than during my stay.

The grounds are magnificent, essentially a mini-arboretum with many of the trees labelled and named. Even in the depths of winter (Ha, Ha, Ha, - us Brits know about winters and South Africa certainly does not have one!) there was interest with the odd tree in flower and a few relatively exotic plants in bloom. The deck overlooking the river, actually a large stream tumbling through boulders, was a great place for afternoon tea. So pretty is the garden that while I was there two different wedding groups turned just to take the photos in the garden, apparently a common occurrence!

Top all this with a three course breakfast of yoghurt, granola, honey, fresh fruit followed by cold meats and cheeses then an English selection all with toast and croissant and muffins, and you are set up for the day. Dinner was good, albeit from a choice of only two offerings per course. (In my two weeks in South Africa I ate in a range of places at a wide variety of price points and although I never ate a poor meal equally I did not we eat anything approaching gourmet status.)
Thank you Eric for a great and relaxing stay.

Tip-set your satnav out for Jatinga Village not Jatinga Road, the Lodge is about a kilometre down the dirt track from the sign for Jatinga on the R538

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jatinga Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jatinga Country Lodge

Address: Jatinga Road, Plaston Nr., White River, 1240 | Plaston, White River 1240, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in White River
#4 Luxury Hotel in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jatinga Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 38 km from the Kruger Park, Jatinga is within easy driving distance of the scenic Panorama route and several excellent golf courses. Six new rooms opened in September '05, known as the Orchard and Forest rooms. In true Colonial style, tea and fresh scones are served each afternoon with our compliments. Complimentary sparkling wine and canapes served at sundown each day in the privacy of your room, a mere taste of things to come! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jatinga Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jatinga Country Hotel White River
Jatinga Country Lodge White River, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jatinga Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.