We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gumtreez

Gumtreez
Caster Bridge Centre | Cnr R40 and R538 (Numbi Gate Road), White River, South Africa
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in White River
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Edenvale, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Local Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is a very nice local pub- the food is good and the portions are enormous. We eat a least one meal a year here when we go to our timeshare. The atmosphere is good and the staff are friendly

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    22
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
south africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant out on a monday evening in white river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Excellent service and ambiance. Nice log fires to warm us up on the pub side and the staff were lovely. Food was great with generous portions.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Panorama Race Delay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The atmosphere of the restaurant was great, but we waited for 40 minutes for 2 minute noodles, a pizza, bangers and mash and calamari. When it did come the calamari was chewy :(
Not my greatest experience of a restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in sleepy town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Was there on a public holiday and everything was closed, except this restaurant that was great! Food was plentiful and really good, staff excellent, really enjoyed it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I wish my local was like this.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We visit the Gumtreez every year whilst staying at our timeshare and I only wish my local in London was half as good as this. The staff are friendly and the service is first class, your glass is never empty for long. There is a large menu and the food has always been excellent, the beer always ice cold. The atmosphere is great with a large outside deck area or if you prefer a quieter restuarant area. If you are in the Whiteriver go to the Gumtreez you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gumtreez also viewed

White River, Mpumalanga
White River, Mpumalanga
 
White River, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Gumtreez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gumtreez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.