We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in White River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Lake Resort
Save
You added Pine Lake Resort to your Saves list
R40 Main Hazyview Road | PO Box 3027, White River 1246, South Africa (Formerly Pine Lake Lifestyle Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Pine lake is the perfect getaway for just piece and quite. The self service chalets are great with spacious rooms and amenities, and fantastic patios looking over pine lake. Great facilities to keep the family and kids busy, including adventure golf, hiking trails, gym, fishing, canoeing and pool.

Would recommend it too anyone just wanting to getaway from the hustle and bustle of city life.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    20
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

What an awesome, wonderful experience! Such a tranquil setting. An excellent choice to just relax, rejuvenate body, mind and soul.

I would recommend this beautiful place to ALL my friends, family and colleagues!

SPECIAL THANKS TO STEVE AND PRIS - YOU GUYS GAVE US MEMORIES WE WILL CHERISH FOREVER.

Liz

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Oh my word! This Resort managed to impress on every level. From the ultra friendly staff to the angelic masseusse Pine Lake Resort impressed, rejuvenated and awed.
This resort is nestled in a forrest next to a lake. Waking up to the most amazing mist covering the lake.
Housekeeping was exemplary and the daily check in managed to elevate the Pine Lake Experience to five star in our minds.

We will most definitely return

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Pine Lake Resort.

My chalet overlooked the dam - which is huge, and my bedroom on the upper level had a balcony on which I could sit and contemplate life while enjoying the lovely views.

The chalet is spacious and the decor is tasteful and modern. I had everything I could possibly need (self-catering). There are shops nearby in White River and other attractions are close-by such as the Kruger Park, God's Window, Induna Adventures (white water rafting) etc.

Pine Lake is wonderfully peaceful and private and I came away rested and ready to walk back into my world again.

Debs Sutherland

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Pine Lake is built on the edge of a dam, with ducks and geese to keep you company and the odd dog coming across from neighbours to say hello. The mornings were misty with the change of temperature and the days were gloriously warm and no humidity, thank goodness. The chalets had 3 bedrooms with 2 bathrooms, which is ideal with the kids being older they could have their own rooms. The main bedroom overlooked the lake, actually a dam which was very calming.
There is a games room with darts, pool and table tennis, miniature golf, tennis courts and a library / wifi area at reception, which helped on the days we needed to work. The kids could also hire canoes and a rowing boat, fishing rods and the gardeners were very happy to supply worms.
There were also a few fabulous off road cycles from the resort and if you want to train a few hills the roads are abundant with those.....
The downside was that there was no restaurant on the premises and the little shop was astronomically expensive. On the upside, White River was a mere 10 minute drive with a variety of restaurants to choose from, with the Kruger gate 35km's away the call of the wild is not too far to travel to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent a week here in March 2013 as a timeshare exchange. We were very pleased. The quaint three-bedroom unit was nice enough. It was multilevel and had everything we needed really. Two queen-sized and two twin beds, full kitchen, dining, new tv with cable, outdoor bbque area on the patio. The only negatives were no screens on the windows or sliding doors and no air-conditioning except in master bedroom, uncomfortable pillows, wi-fi only available in the lobby and game room area, musty smell under the sink and mold in the shower. However, the staff was very accommodating and kind. When I mentioned the mold they had the shower cleaned AND painted that day while we were gone.
The grounds were beautiful with the lovely lake view. The pool wasn't quite up to my standards but there was a tennis court, miniature golf, row boats, pool table and ping pong (all for a small fee). The gym was small but empty. It was very safe with two gated entries and a full-time guard at the entrance. You do have to go over a very bumpy stretch to reach the resort, but it only adds to the adventure.
The energy fee only added up to a few dollars for the entire week, so that isn't a big deal.
It was a great location for exploring the area. Kruger's Numbi Gate is only a half hour away. We left before dawn and returned after dark a few days and the undivided roads can be a bit stressful at night. The panoramic drive is right there with waterfalls and canyons that were breathtaking. Nelspruit is close; flying into the Kruger/Nelspruit airport would be an easy way to get there. (We rented a car and drove from Johannesburg which took 4 plus hours, but was pleasant during the day on good freeway toll roads.)
Grocery stores and restaurants are close by in White River. Oliver's situated on the golf course just down the lane was excellent and gourmet. Gumtreez, just past the round-about in the lovely Caster Bridge Centre was delicious as well.
In general South Africa was a wonderful country and felt very European. The week went by much too quickly and I would gladly return to this peaceful resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Did a last minute booking which was surprising there was availability. Now we know why. Following bad experience.
* charge of full rate charge for a kid under 4 for breakfast where they only eat a bowl of cereal.
* shut down of room aircon because we used it full time
* complaint by other neighbors because of our room aircon
* lock of boats for no use and no key
* no sundowner cruise boat available
* no ice buckets available for room when needed
* no attendance to housekeeping after 8pm by phone

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja M, General Manager at Pine Lake Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Pine Lake Resort is a self catering resort and does not have restaurant facilities, therefore this review is not relating to this property and should not feature here. Please check that you have entered the correct property detail before making comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lake Resort

Address: R40 Main Hazyview Road | PO Box 3027, White River 1246, South Africa (Formerly Pine Lake Lifestyle Resort)
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation offers comfortable and private, self-contained chalets that have been tastefully decorated and furnished. These cosy chalets are each equipped with a kitchen, spacious living area with television, private patio and braai area with a fireplace to ward off winter chills.Nestled in the mountains of Mpumalanga and along the banks of Lake Longmere, lies the calm and serene Pine Lake Resort. The wonderful location allows for daily excursions to all the local sightseeing spots, superb golf courses and quality restaurants. Guests can also enjoy a unique shopping experience at the Caster Bridge Farm which lies in close proximity to the resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pine Lake Lifestyle Hotel White River
Pine Lake Inn
Pine Lake Resort White River, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.