We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B & B we have experienced....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Lane Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Country Lane Lodge to your Saves list
Country Lane Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Y41C, Yaverland Road | Portion 3 of Holding no. 32, White River 1240, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 33 White River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Midrand, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best B & B we have experienced....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We arrived at country lane lodge on the 18th of December 2012. Di and George welcomed us with open arms. They were incredibly accommodating and made us feel like we were at home.

After spending 8 days with them, we were sad to leave, so will definitely be back again.

On their website, they say arrive as guests and leave as friends - and that is true in every sense of the word.

Absolutely amazing experience......from the service, to the food, to the atmosphere - absolutely top class!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Chat to Di - she will make you so comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
29
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

our stay in your lodge was the best. From the first day we arrived, despite coming in the early hours of the morning, you welcomed my group with pleasure and assurance. Your swift manner of arranging tours is unbealievably the best, actually you are prompt in your arrangments and handling a group of ten with children involved was overwhelming. I will not forget the food, the rooms and especially your services, food bedding it was five star treat.

Room Tip: Garden rooms have privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phalaborwa, Limpopo, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I simply love Country Lane, Di, George and the 2 labradors, Sasha and Duke, what a wonderful place to stay. I booked with Di and George on my first visit over a year ago as my daughter was horse riding in White River, we stayed for a week, and have returned 4 more times over the past year, it is our home away from home. Di and George you are simply incredible, the hospitality you extend to myself, my mom and Rebecca is amazing, we feel so at home with you and cannot wait to return. The rooms are spacious and the surrounding are so peaceful, the perfect place for singles, couples or families. So if you are looking for somewhere in the White River area, you need look no further than Country Lane.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

From the moment we arrived we were welcomed into the home of Di and George, I say home because this lodge truly is more of a home away from home, warm breakfast, a smile and good conversation set in a beautiful back drop of the beautiful macadamia tree's characterized our wonderful stay. I have no doubt anyone visiting or who has visited can verify my statements. Truly a great stay and Thank you Di and George!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A wonderful stay! Lovely atmosphere that is accentuated by a peaceful stroll through the Macadamia orchard. Di and George are warm and friendly hosts who clearly take the utmost care and pride in every aspect! Breakfast is served with a smile and unlimited amounts of good coffee, and if you manage to pull yourself away from the conversation warm wishes will follow you all the way out of the door. A truly spectacular weekend - we are just itching to get back!!

Room Tip: They are all simply fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

It was an absolute pleasure to stay at Country Lane Lodge.
Must compliment you on the cleanliness and attention to detail. (Exactly as advertised on the web)
Especially loved the crisp white linen in the room and the scrumptious breakfast!
We will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We dont go away often. Most times you when look at websites you find places that look amazing and then when you arrive at your destination you are sorely dissappointed. Not with Country Lane lodge, I can guarantee you that. In fact the pictures you see on their website do the place no justice. It is set in the most tranquil and beaitiful manicured gardens. The hosts, Di and George, are so hospitible that when you leave its like saying good bye to family. They go beyond the call of duty to make your stay memorable. This place is a must and my husband, daughter and I will definately be there again. Thank you Di and George for making our trip so special. We hope to see you again. Mrsalip

Room Tip: Their is a place for everyone. Large family room with 2 sleeper couches to rooms with 2 single beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Lane Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lane Lodge

Address: Y41C, Yaverland Road | Portion 3 of Holding no. 32, White River 1240, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Country Lane Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodge is situated 35 mns from the Numbi Gate to the Kruger National Park. Also able to drive the Panorama Route to take in the sights of Gods Window, Bourkes Luck Potholes etc. We are on a 15 hectars Macadamia Nut farm and feel we are a very friendly, self owned and run lodge where you can unwind and rest in the tranquility of our gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Country Lane Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Lane Lodge White River, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Lane Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.