We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a SUPERB experience (Restaurant)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge to your Saves list
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   On the White River Country Estate, Pine Lake Drive, White River, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in White River
Pretoria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a SUPERB experience (Restaurant)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

On Sunday 15 April 2012 we enjoyed Lunch at Oliver's. The waiters new how to serve the wine and food correctly, were VERY friendly and the food was EXCELLENT. Then we decided to opr for the Raclette on Tuesday evening 17 April 2012. This was really something very special for the 4 of us. Again superb food in a cosy and nice surrounding.

Room Tip: We only ate at the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    19
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
79
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Upon arrival at Oliver's we were greeted with a welcome drink and congratulated on our marriage. They had upgraded us to a beautiful suite which was very spacious with a lovely terrace. The restaurant at Oliver's was closed that night (Monday), so they had arranged dinner for us at a local restaurant (Magnolia) and transportation.
On our return, our room had been turned down and was decorated with scattered rose petals and candles - a lovely romantic touch which was much appreciated.
The hotel was well located for the Panorama route and they arranged a private tour for us which, whilst expensive, covered everything we wanted to see (plus they the guide went out of his way to take us somewhere we could buy plug adapters afterwards!).
We dined at Oliver's that night. The food was of a high standard - our only negative was that the sauces on both the fillet of beef and venision were overly rich. The staff were all very friendly and happy to assist in any way they could at all times. The breakfast was outstanding!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We live close by to Oliver's and have consistently use it for special occasions.
Tanya is a most superb host ( don't challenge her to a round of cocktails..she always wins, and you will end up with a headache).
The ambiance, is amazing, and you just know that you are in for a special treat.
The new menu is now varied, and we enjoy that.
This is a place you go to with friends and family to have a good time in super surroundings, with excellent food. You really feel special when eating here. The prices are top end for this area, but well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights before our safari to take in the Panorama route. We arrived early at about 10:30 am, but our room was cleaned and ready for us. A great way to start! The grounds and gardens at Oliver's are absolutely gorgeous! I could have stayed to enjoy them a little longer. Our room #5, was on the first floor with a covered patio and a walk out directly to the pool. If I were to return, I would request one of the rooms on the second floor or #9 on the top to take in the views. The staff were extremely friendly and professional. We ate all of our meals at Oliver's except the day were went up to Blyde River Canyon and can't say enough good things about the quality of their food. Not only great tasting but so reasonable in price as well! I have already recommended it to my friends and would gladly return in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Quick one-night stopover after safari - we thought Oliver's offered good value and comfortable accommodation. The spa was an added bonus. I had a very nice massage and manipedi for a very reasonable price.

Rooms are very floral and country-style. We got upgraded to a luxury room so cannot comment on the standard one, but ours was directly by the pool on the ground floor and had a nice terrace with a swing. Room itself was spacious and well appointed. Especially the bathroom was very big - had both bathtub and shower. Underfloor heating was a very nice touch. Whilst the decor wasn't exactly to my taste (more for the 50+ target market?), we couldn't really fault the room. The hotel is on a road (though not a busy one) so would've been a bit uncomfortable to be on the groundfloor if the resort hadn't been fenced with a guard at the gate. No noise to the room though.

Friendly staff at check-in and restaurant. Food was our only disappointment - fish etc wasn't very tasty and the pasta dishes just weren't very good (e.g. extra thick ravioli with very little inside so just eating dough). Very nice breakfast though with youghurt, muesli, beautifully presented fresh fruits, omelette etc.

Recommend as a pit-stop en route to / from safari and for older couples / groups who enjoy the country style and golf. Golf course literally on your doorstep and that was reasonably good value.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed here for a wedding which was near Sudwala Caves, It's very handy for Mpumulanga / Nelspruit airport and took about an hour to the wedding, with great touring around and easy access to the Kruger Park. The hotel is perfectly appointed with comfortable chairs and table outside under cover, a pool and the ability to walk round the golf course after 5pm. The food was good being a blend of Austrian and South African cuisine. We especially liked the breakfasts.

Room Tip: We especially appreciated our room by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Most people stay at Olivers for a few nights so it was extremely unusual for guests to stay for the 10 nights we stayed for. From day one to day ten we were treated like royalty, all of the hotel staff couldn't do enough for us, setting an exceptionally high standard. We ate at the hotel most nights where we happily worked through the large menu of amazing food served with a fantastic selection of wines, so be prepared to put on the odd pound or seven. Each day started with a hearty breakfast and then we went off sight seeing and were greeted back each evening like members of the Olivers family to find out what we did during the day.

Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at Olivers and special mention to Maria, Ernest, Yolande and Neville who made our stay so memorable.

Each room has its own theme and is kept clean throughout the day, from the morning cleaning service to the turn down service which includes a further room clean and my favourite chocolates on the pillow!

I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone, its perfect to relax and unwind with its beautiful gardens and pool area. We hope to visit again in the future.

One small tip - there are a few cats at the hotel (it is a family run hotel) so if you have any allergies to them it might be worth packing some antihistamines.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge

Address: On the White River Country Estate, Pine Lake Drive, White River, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in White River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AreaSurrounded by the lush forests of the Mpumalanga province, the lodge is situated on the secure White River Country Estate and overlooks the first green of the 18-hole championship White River Golf Course. The area is well known, not only for its superb temperate sub-tropical climate, summer as well as winter, but also for its many scenic and adventurous attractions. The lodge is within close proximity of the world-renowned Kruger National Park as well as the Blyde River Canyon with panoramic drives along the escarpment and lies in a Malaria-free area. The nearby Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport gives easy access to and from any major city local and international.The RestaurantMouth-watering continental & mediterranean dishes are served from our a-la-carte menu together with only the finest wines from our well-stocked wine cellar. Fun-dining with fondue and raclette may be enjoyed in the privacy and irresistible romantic ambience of our wine cellar.We cater for all functions i.e. weddings, special family occasions, conferences, wine tastings, etc.The LodgeThe intimate comfort of our establishment and our beautifully appointed rooms allow our guests to experience the marriage between Austrian flair and subtle African influences. We offer different room categories:- 4 Exclusive Standard Rooms- 1 Exclusive Standard Family Room- 5 Luxury Rooms - 2 Executive Suites All rooms have private verandas or balconies with splendid views over the golf course. They are individually furnished with King-sized beds – twin beds may be requested. The bathrooms are all en-suite with separate showers and baths, heated towel-rails and luxury bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver`s Hotel White River
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge White River, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.