We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort on the park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Kruger Gate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Kruger Gate to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   on Sabi River at the Paul Kruger Gate | Portia Shabangu Rd, Skukuza 1350, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skukuza
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Resort on the park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Kruger park lodge
I have been writing views of our recent travels through South Africa, and did not commence my travel advisories in chronological order.
This presents a problem as each place I stayed at , was nicer than the last,but not qualitative. Each one was amazing for the portion of the experience we were sharing, as it related to the surroundings we were in.
We had travelled 4-5 hours from Swaziland to get to Kruger national park reserve ,with the final 2 hours driving through the park. We had entered the park from the Melalane Gate at the south end,and drove through the reserve building our appetites for this point.
The grounds and layout of this property astounded us in that it was amazing that the developers had decided to create what they did within a 1/4 mile from the reserve, backed onto the river.
My impression was that I had travelled to a south sea island resort, not a game reserve.
The open feeling of the place, the walkways,pool area, raised lookout topped by the amazing outdoor dining barbecue buffet are just hard to beat.It was kind of a shame to go to see animals instead of spending the day just inside these lush surroundings. One can wake up in the AM to impalas waltzing around your rear door, or monkeys swinging by you at the pool.
There is a gym, but this is really just a nice little raised platform lookout room with a treadmill and an all in one machine that was not really worth playing with.
There is also a spa which offers massage and I heard reports that they were very good.
Breakfast buffet was also first class with a multitude of choice.
I would point out here that almost all the places offering the breakfast buffets were excellent, and the only negative is the slowdown when people want their own special omelet ,as everybody stands there holding their plates of food.
It seemed that all places we visited, not a single employee at the egg counter had the ability to prejudge the demand and commence a few at a time,eg regardless of how many people were standing in line in front of them with other food getting cold on their plate.
This is not a critique of Protea Kruger Gate, but a general comment across the board
Still , a top rated place

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear GUEST

Thank you for your wonderful comments on Tripadvisor. I am so delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Protea Hotel Kruger Gate, is it a wonderful experience to feel so close to nature, we are so lucky to be so close to the Kruger National Park.
We are privileged to be situated in such a beautiful setting which allows GUESTS to experience wildlife first-hand. Coupled this with our comfortable newly refurbished rooms, boma dining and friendly service; one is sure to have a great stay

As far as the egg station goes, I will bring it to my TEAMS attention Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Yours sincerely,
F Meyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    148
    64
    22
    6
See reviews for
102
177
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boksburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The perfect hotel for the bush lover who wants comfort as well as quick and easy access to the Kruger Park without having to stay in the park. Newly refurbished and tastefully decorated rooms. Fantastic Boma dinners each evening with great variety. A lovely pool area to cool off in after a day off searching for animals. A place we love to return to often with our children.

Room Tip: The slightly more expensive rooms offer fridges which helps to keep drinks cool when your heading ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear GUEST
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with the TripAdvisor community.

A holiday in the bush is a great treat and comfortable rooms, with delicious food and beverage offerings make such a difference. To top it all, being located just metres away from the Paul Kruger Gate is convenient and unique to Protea Hotel Kruger Gate.

I am delighted to receive such lovely comments and hope to welcome you back soon.
Yours sincerely,
F Meyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We chose the Protea Kruger Gate Hotel because of its' proximity to Kruger Gate AND Sabi Sands. The location is excellent.
On the positive side, we had these great experiences:
1. A timely and friendly pickup from the airport by Samson (extra fee).
2. A very pleasant couples massage in a setting that is unique in the world. The massage hut looked out into the Sabi River and we even saw an elephant walk by as we were getting pampered in this unique environment. You actually heard the REAL sounds of birds and insects that are prerecorded in other spas.
3. A great panorama tour (with Samson, again) that he allowed us to customize to our needs. At the end, we wanted to go to Kruger Park for an hour instead of visiting Mac Mac Falls and he changed the route for us. (Of course, we paid the entrance fee to the park).
4. Ample rooms, decent but average buffet food.
5. A great drive to the airport by Brendon Steele of Elephant Herd. Very knowledgeable and friendly driver. We learned a lot on our way to the aiport.

On the negative side, these were the drawbacks:

1. We hired a premium morning game drive by Elephant Herd Safari Tour Operator to Sabi Sands. We had to be ready at 4:45 am and we felt very rushed (by Wayne?) to get us there. Overall, it wasn't worth the premium fee or waking up so early.

2. We requested a late check out of 1pm because our flight left from Nelspruit at 4:40pm. Although the hotel didn't look at all like it was fully booked we were only allowed a 12:00 late checkout. We were certain that the courtesy could have been granted to us with very small effort on their part.

3. The front-desk staff wasn't particularly friendly.

We would recommend it greatly but NOT for going to Sabi Sands. If you wish to go to Sabi Sands better stay in one of their lodges.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear GUEST.
Thank you for your review and for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community. Our location and facilities is definitely a huge bonus when visiting the Kruger National Park. Your commendations of Samson in particular are highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated him for doing such an outstanding job!
Your feedback is imperative for us to ensure that our GUESTS’ expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know when we are doing right, but more importantly, when we are doing wrong! Thank you for assisting us to strive for service excellence.

Your interest and concern are much appreciated, and I hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Kruger Gate again soon.
Yours sincerely,
F Meyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Location. Location. Location. This hotel has it. It took no less than 5 minutes to get to Paul Kruger Gate for a day's game drive in Kruger National Park. We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed the wooded setting of the hotel and the good food, especially the breakfast buffet. Our room was nice size and very clean. The gift shop was large and had good prices (we got a man's leather hat for $40).
The spa was a partially open "grass hut" style that overlooked the Sabi river and Kruger Park. The hot stone massage was only $47 for an hour. It was a good massage and a good buy. I only wish I had time for a second massage!
We arranged with the park service for a night game drive and we were picked up at the front entry to the hotel complex; so, it was convenient and about $40 for a 2+ hour drive. Our guide was great. Nothing like dozens of eyes starring at you from a distance when the flood light swept the night landscape.
The service was ok, but not the quality of other hotels such as the Victoria Falls Hotel from where we had just come and had experienced outstanding service. Food service was slow. Our rooms were clean, but special requests were not promptly handled. The maid kept moving stuff around that was unnecessary and annoying.
A second floor room might be better as you get a nice breeze & view of the grounds, and no issues with potential affects of flooding. We had no problems at all with bugs or insects.
We saw monkeys daily on the grounds and on the hall way railings. The monkeys especially liked to raid the maid's service carts! Great entertainment for we tourists.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor. It is convenient by walkways to the public areas of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your comments on the TripAdvisor community.

Our location definitely helps with those early morning game drives as one can sneak in some extra sleep. On top of that, we are lucky to be surrounded by such beauty and that the animals come to visit us. The hotel and it’s design is meant to blend in with the area and there is something about the bushveld that creates a sense of calm, which is perfect for a holiday. We did our best to blend in with the environment when building the hotel and your comments reflect that.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience you experienced. Your feedback regarding our room service by no means reflects the high standard of quality and service that Protea Hotel Kruger Gate is usually proud to offer. I confirm therefore that I have investigated your comments in a serious light and taken action to rectify the shortcomings.
Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at the Kruger Gate and loved the ambiance and location. The proximity to one of the park's entrances made it very easy to go into the Park at our convenience. Rooms were spacious, though as a family of four we found the bathrooms rather cramped. The dinner buffets were amazing with a variety of BBQ options. We loved the tree-house style of the bar area where we spent the evening sipping on cocktails and looking out into Kruger Park which is right next door. Spotted a few deer and an elephant wandering around too. The hotel staff were pleasant and helpful. I loved the selection of items at the hotel gift shop!!

Room Tip: Choose rooms which look out into the park if possible. But frankly speaking after a full day in Krug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear GUEST

Thank you for your positive comments after your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate.
A holiday in the bushveld is always special. Being surrounded by the wildlife and the flora does wonders. Protea Hotel Kruger Gate is designed to blend in with the natural surroundings and it seems as if you got the rest and relaxation you were looking for.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We wanted to stay in a hotel rather than in a bungalow inside the Kruger Park. Protea hotel was ideal for us. Beautifully clean rooms set amongst trees to protect from African heat.
Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear GUEST

Thank you for stopping over at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are privileged to be situated in such a beautiful setting which allows GUESTS to experience wildlife first-hand. Coupled this with our comfortable newly refurbished rooms, boma dining and friendly service; one is sure to have a great stay.

It was a pleasure hosting you and hopefully next time you will be able to stay a little longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our preference is normally for smaller, more personable, hotels however as far as big hotels go (and this one was very big by our standards) it was excellent. We were 'self-drive' so the location, minutes from the Paul Kruger gate was just perfect. The hotel was very clean and our bedroom and bathroom were very spacious and comfortable. All of the food was buffet style and having had poor experiences previously with this type of arrangement we were a little guarded at first however we need not have been as the food and service were both very good. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear GUEST

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with the TripAdvisor community.

A holiday in the bush is a great treat and comfortable rooms, with delicious food and beverage offerings make such a difference. To top it all, being located just metres away from the Paul Kruger Gate is convenient and unique to Protea Hotel Kruger Gate.

I am delighted to receive such lovely comments and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Kruger Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Kruger Gate

Address: on Sabi River at the Paul Kruger Gate | Portia Shabangu Rd, Skukuza 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Skukuza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skukuza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Kruger Gate 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate - Where the bushveld is your playground, no matter your age! Protea Hotel Kruger Gate, a superior lodge style hotel on the banks of the Sabie River in Mpumalanga offers an affordable luxury getaway. The ambiance of comfort is unforgettable in the context of the African bush. Enjoy the serenity of being in a tree house that overlooks the bushveld, whilst you watch the wildlife go by. Keep your head in the clouds as the veranda and walkway to your air-conditioned room is at a level normally the sole domain of the variety of birds found in the area. Situated only 100 meters from the Paul Kruger Gate of the Kruger National Park, the luxurious Protea Hotel Kruger Gate provides guests with the ideal location from which to experience wildlife first-hand. This lodge offers bush drives in a Private Reserve and throughout the Kruger National Park, along with open vehicle safaris and organized game trails for you and your family. Don’t forget your binoculars in this birdwatchers paradise. A days adventure is best ended off with a visit to the stunning open air Lapa Restaurant. With an extensive array of local foods to choose from, enjoy a dinner under the African stars. We can even make special arrangements for a Tree house sleep out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Protea Hotel Kruger Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Kruger Gate Hotel Skukuza
Protea Kruger Gate Skukuza
Kruger Gate Hotel
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate South Africa/Skukuza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Kruger Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.