We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stopover or base from where to visit the Kruger” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Kruger Gate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Kruger Gate to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   on Sabi River at the Paul Kruger Gate | Portia Shabangu Rd, Skukuza 1350, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skukuza
Danie007
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good stopover or base from where to visit the Kruger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My wife and I have now stayed several times at the Protea Hotel Kruger Gate. We have enjoyed every time we stayed there. It is our normal stopover before we enter the Kruger National Park. The rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The dinners in the Lapa are really an experience of South African cuisine. The general ambience is beautiful and blends with the African bush feel.

This stays our favorite stopover.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Danie007

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on multiple occasions and for posting such a great review.

It seems that your stay was an all-round success, from the rooms, to the STAFF and the restaurant. For that I could not be any happier and will certainly congratulate the TEAM on their efforts.

We look forward to your next stopover with us in the African bush.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    148
    64
    22
    6
See reviews for
102
177
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The hotel was located just outside the kruger gate so location was excellent for the game drive to kruger national park, the hospitality was very cordially and people out there were very warm and friendly and we were on our honeymoon and the staff made our stay very comfortable . The hotel swimming pool was not very clean to swin in, they have a very nice bar area in the outdoor where you can sit enjoy the natural beauty and can see few wild animals and enjoy.
the rooms very nice ,comfortable and romantic. The deserts for dinner were excellent and incase you are vegetarian do specify the same to them they will prepare a meal for you'll accordingly.

The only thing we had a bad experience was the hotel transfer we were charged 2000 rands more than the hotel room which was really stupid and on speaking to the gm i did get an explanation of the same but was not a convincing one. Besides that the hotel was lovely and great memories for us, the game drive we did we were lucky to see the big 5 with the guide called roberto he was excellent as he was able to spot animals like a hawk or something.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear prashantbajaj

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and for choosing to spend your honeymoon at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate.

Positive feedback regarding the ‘warm and friendly’ STAFF always brings a smile to my face. We have high standards for GUEST service and the STAFF continues to go the extra mile. This is again evident in your mention of the restaurant arranging a vegetarian meal at your request.
I would like to apologise again for your concerns about the fare you were charged to get to the airport. The amount that you paid was for a return trip for two people. As we are approximately 100 kilometres from the airport, the transfer fares do become relatively pricey.

Our viewing decks near the outside bar are perfect for watching the sun go down and also catching a glimpse of some animals at the same time. I am glad you experienced this and also managed to see the big 5 on your safari.

We wish you all the best and look forward to your next bushveld expedition.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Our group stayed 4 nights, in rooms throughout the hotel. Some had renovated rooms; most of us did not. The hotel has character and all the necessities. There is no better location for the early morning safaris. The breakfasts and dinners were buffet. Variety was good; taste was ok. We had no issues with the staff. The free WiFi was slow.
I found the towels in the room and the dining room linens to be gray and stained - not white. Do they not use bleach ???
We were fortunate to have entertainment in the park - behind the hotel. Great dancers and singers "Under the African Skies".
We also had a day of leisure to enjoy the pool, the sun loungers and the spa. We would recommend the massage in the hut - not cheap, but the treatment was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear belleamie10

Thank you for staying at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate during your recent trip to Southern Africa.

I am glad that you were able to enjoy your visits to our restaurants and received friendly service from the STAFF.

It is concerning to me to hear your comments regarding the linen and towels. I would like to assure you that all of our linen and towels go through daily cleaning schedules and we aim to deliver the highest quality to our GUESTS. I will be following up on your comments with the relevant TEAM members.

I apologise if you felt that the hotel fell short of the standards you were expecting. Although our goal is to deliver the best GUEST service and offer a variety of facilities, we are not officially graded as a 5 star property.

Thank you for all of your comments as they will assist us with our search for excellence.

The TEAM looks forward to welcoming you back to the bushveld.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The lcaotion itself makes this hotel. Right by the gates into South Kruger, with some wildlfe walking around the ground and birds in the trees. The lodge feel adds to authrtic safari atmoshphere whilst maintaingin the standards of this chain of hotels. Hearing Hippos when in the pool was interesting! Breakfast and dinner were fine a good range on the buffet. Breakfast boxes when going on the game drives thoguht left a little to be desired.
Cannot wait to return hopeuflly soon and soak up more of pure africa

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Martin B

Thank you for choosing to stay with Protea Hotels during your recent visit to South Africa and posting such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your taste of ‘pure Africa’ and that our unique location was able to enhance your experience.

The TEAM awaits your return to the bushveld.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivenhall, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Having emailed in advance and asked for a refurbished room to be paid for which was acknowledged and agreed to by the hotel manager, we were very disappointed that the hotel did not have an upgraded room available and were given what we believed to be an unacceptable excuse. However, the hotel staff were themselves excellent and the room we were given was basic but adequate. After all, you do not go to Kruger Park to stay in the hotel room. You go for the safari and surrounding beauty. The hotel is indeed in a great position, right next to the entrance to Kruger Park and monkeys and other wildlife can be found on your veranda at any time day or night. It's proximity saves a further long journey to the park, especially when getting up at stupid-o-clock to go on a morning safari. But it is so worth getting up early because it is hard to describe the thrill of seeing animals in their natural habitat and they are at their best early in the morning. The viewing gallery overlooking the park is fantastic and just sitting there, drinking coffee or a beer, is a most relaxing pasttime. The food at the hotel is adequate and we found there was plenty of it. The only trouble we found is that there are still renovations going on around the hotel and the smell similar to "creosote" pervaded our nostrils and actually made me feel quite ill. But the ambience of the hotel is good and the layout is very in tune with the nature reserve it surrounds. Would I go again? Yes, but only if the renovations were finished and the rooms all refurbished to the same standard.

Room Tip: Check there are no renovations going on at the time of your visit and ask for an refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Motherofthebrid... M

Thank you for highlighting our unique location for the perfect safari getaway and posting your comments on TripAdvisor.

I apologise for the fact that your request was not fulfilled and I have discussed this with the entire TEAM. However, I am pleased that this did not deter you from having a fabulous time on your game drives and while sipping on sundowners on the viewing deck.

We are in the process of renovating our property as this is necessary in order for us to maintain our standards of exceeding GUEST expectations. I am happy to advise that the room renovations have been completed.

The TEAM hopes that you had a pleasant trip back home to the UK.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a trip to Kruger NP. The decor and facilities in the room are very basic. They were not particularly well maintained.
The staff's attitude was rather lackadaisical and nonchalant.
The location of this hotel is its biggest plus as it is only metres away from Kruger Gate.
While the dinner buffet spread was large, the taste and quality of food was very average. Sometimes, we were served leftover food and dishes from the previous days' meals.
During the dinner buffets, we felt that the restaurant staff were reserving seats for certain guests even though they appeared available to us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear aditik7

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Your constructive comments are appreciated by the entire TEAM.

Please accept my apologies for, what seems to have been, a below par experience at the Protea Hotel Kruger Gate. Service excellence and delivering a quality product is important and it is disappointing to hear your concerns. I will be sure to meet with the relevant department heads and implement new procedures where necessary.

I am however glad that you found our location near the Paul Kruger Gate convenient during your stay.

The TEAM wishes you safe travels home.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Following 6hr drive from Jo'Burg we arrived the hotel. We unloaded the bags from the car ourselves and having checked in at reception we were then informed we were staying in a chalet for which we would have to drive to - it was left to us to put the luggage back in the car - not a good start. The chalet was clean and spacious and well equipped. We had both supper and breakfast in the Lapa restaurant. Supper was ok and the choice for breakfast was good. The staff were courteous throughout but lacked the personal touch - I agree with a fellow traveller that they need to concentrate on stepping up their customer service.

Room Tip: By choosing a chalet you are able to self cater if you wish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear J W

I am extremely sorry that you were not assisted with your baggage on arrival; it is standard that our GUESTS are attended to by a porter. Offering the best GUEST service is of utmost importance and I can assure you that this will be addressed immediately.

The chalets are a lovely alternative when staying in the bush and your satisfaction regarding those is pleasing.

I will be talking to the entire TEAM about your concerns about ‘personal touch’ and aim to rapidly improve this area.

Thank you so much for your feedback and I hope you had a safe trip back to the UK.

Kind Regards
Francois Meyer
General Manager
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Kruger Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Kruger Gate

Address: on Sabi River at the Paul Kruger Gate | Portia Shabangu Rd, Skukuza 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Skukuza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skukuza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Kruger Gate 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate - Where the bushveld is your playground, no matter your age! Protea Hotel Kruger Gate, a superior lodge style hotel on the banks of the Sabie River in Mpumalanga offers an affordable luxury getaway. The ambiance of comfort is unforgettable in the context of the African bush. Enjoy the serenity of being in a tree house that overlooks the bushveld, whilst you watch the wildlife go by. Keep your head in the clouds as the veranda and walkway to your air-conditioned room is at a level normally the sole domain of the variety of birds found in the area. Situated only 100 meters from the Paul Kruger Gate of the Kruger National Park, the luxurious Protea Hotel Kruger Gate provides guests with the ideal location from which to experience wildlife first-hand. This lodge offers bush drives in a Private Reserve and throughout the Kruger National Park, along with open vehicle safaris and organized game trails for you and your family. Don’t forget your binoculars in this birdwatchers paradise. A days adventure is best ended off with a visit to the stunning open air Lapa Restaurant. With an extensive array of local foods to choose from, enjoy a dinner under the African stars. We can even make special arrangements for a Tree house sleep out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Protea Hotel Kruger Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Kruger Gate Hotel Skukuza
Protea Kruger Gate Skukuza
Kruger Gate Hotel
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate South Africa/Skukuza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Kruger Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.