We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going down the drain” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Merchant

The Merchant
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Secunda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Merchant
1 Kiewiet Street, Secunda 2302, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Secunda
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Going down the drain”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Considering the geographical location of Secunda, The Merchant Hotel is well positioned for someone who wants to appreciate the little there is of nature, yet close to the shopping amenities. Within a walking distance, there is a limited number of restaurants and entertainment facilities (for young ones). In a drive of less than 5 minutes, one can reach the new shopping mall, which has a wide range of stores.
The hotel looks decent and has a style with African attributes. The level of cleanliness is reasonable for the establishment. However, the upkeep seems to be going down because the shower of the room I was allocated had a very poor and unhygienic drainage system – with no bath tub, which could have been an alternative. Upon suggestion to be relocated to another room, the response was that my room was not the only one with such a problem. There is no value for money, if one considers that the full rate is charged for a sub-standard quality of service that the hotel is aware of.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    7
    6
    0
See reviews for
1
4
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Randburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My fiance and I stayed there as we were attending a wedding at the lodge. I was utterly dissappointed. I am in the industry and I have to say it is probably the worst service I have ever received. Reception staff are rude, unfriendly and not very helpful. On Sunday morning when we went for breakfast, there was no clean table...all the staff were hanging around reception sharing a naartjie from the breakfast buffet, which still had price stickers on them! There is no assistance after 22:00, what if your key card does not work? No phones in the rooms, the music is terribly loud in the passages, the glasses at the lodge of the wedding we attended were dusty and had spiders in them! Waitering staff chewing gum and talking on their phones while clearing tables. Disgusting service and I am glad I dont have to return to Secunda in the future.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Spent 5 weeks at this hotel between August and November 2012. The staff at this hotel are probably the friendliest and most welcoming that I have ever met at any hotel. The rooms are spacious, comfortable bed, cleaned to a good standard daily and come with TV, a good size fridge, tea/coffee making equipment and excellent shower. There is a wide choice at breakfast and the food is of good quality.
Boesies bar and restaurant is separate from the main hotel building but the service and friendliness of the staff is also excellent. The choice and quality of food in Boesies is also very good.
The Merchant is very well located on the Waterfront with a good selection of bars and restaurants in close proximity.
Looking forward to returning in August 2013.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secunda, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Merchant Hotel is well located on the waterfront, with lots of activities and various restaurants to choose from. Friendly reception staff. Spacious room with awesome bath. Slept like a baby. Was very happy with service. Slept for one night. Excellent for business.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Secunda is not a great town, and I wouldn't visit it on holiday. But for a business stay, the Merchant was better than expected: clean, comfortable, sufficient TV channels, close to the plant and amenities, and relatively quiet. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing north (towards town), rather than south (towards the lake/ plant), as it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I'm surprised that this is listed as the best hotel in Secunda. I stayed here for about two months before trying two other hotels, and I was very happy to leave. As many other reviewers stated, the front desk service isn't very good. They couldn't care less if they could help you with something, and when I did ask for help they acted like I was an inconvenience. The internet was almost useless because of how slow it was. The shower had a glass wall between the bathroom and the room (I only mention this in case someone were to share the room with someone). The beds were very hard, with very large pillows. And during the day the housekeeping was very annoying. Every morning (early) they would knock on the door to see if it was occupied and needed cleaning (even after telling them we'd be there for two months) and once they cleaned it they would take all of the sheets and towels for most of the day. I was stuck with no linens while my husband was at work.

The good points about The Merchant are limited. The location is great because there are lots of restaurants within walking distance and Lake Umuzi is something pretty to look at. Also, the included breakfast buffet was quite good.

If your company is footing the bill and/or you can afford to pay more for a room, I highly recommend staying at Graceland instead of The Merchant.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyalami
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

The room was pleasant enough, we only stayed for a night and the conference centre we were in is in the same complex as the hotel so it is conveniently located.The bathroom is a little small but ok for a short business trip.
The unseen fumes pollution in the town gave us sinusitis and headaches in just 24hours.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Merchant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merchant

Address: 1 Kiewiet Street, Secunda 2302, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Secunda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Secunda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Merchant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Merchant to your Saves list