We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, chalets need some attention” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Vidal Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Lucia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Vidal Camp
Save
You added Cape Vidal Camp to your Saves list
Saint Lucia, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent location, chalets need some attention”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

We stayed in one of the two bed roomed chalets. The chalet's location was excellent and only a short walk from the beach, red duikers and a bush buck all nearby. Unfortunately, the chalet itself was musty and quite dark, making it feel quite cramped.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
32
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Erasmia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Camping at Vidal now for many years. To me it is an excellent place to relax,swim, fish etc. The staff in the office can be complemented as they are very helpfull. A special three chears for Fortunate. What a lady,Strict,courteous and helpful. I found the ablution neat
I have recommended Vidal to many people and freinds over the years and they enjoyed Vidal. Some people are just too fussy.
I am visiting again in August
Regards
GJ Meintjes

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

The ablution block was 'n disgrace. The stains and smears we found on the walls, were still there when we left. Greasy smears on the walls from the floor mop (the only cleaning that was done) was pointed out and by the time I reached my caravan the cleaner was back on his perch outside! The toiletpaper balls against the ceiling were already black with mould. The caravan site was a sandpit full of sigarette buds and small pieces of charcoal. On the day of departure we had to use cables to pull the caravan out and we literally dug it out of the sand. Visit daily and stay in St Lucia. It is cheaper anyway and five star by comparison!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

Cape Vidal is a spectucular venue. Nothing compares to the beautiful beaches, dunes, and rock pools. And when you need a break from the beach you can make your way to your cabin where you rest in a lovely forest full of animal life. It could not be more peaceful. We dont need a fancy cabin, However, unfortunately the management seems to be neglecting the upkeep of the cabins. Although they are still habitable and comfortable, the breaking tiles, and poor cleaning seems to be getting worse each year and I can only hope someone wakes up and fixes these cabins before they lose loyal cape vidal visitors.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHANNESBURG
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

Visited Cape Vidal in February 2009. The campsite was poorly managed with substandard ablutions ( broken shower doors,shower heads etc). The shop is understocked and OVER priced. The lack of control of the monkeys caused havoc to the campers even stealing food from the hands of the children. there was also a lack of maintenace of the campsite. the front office staff had no idea of customer relations.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgersfort,
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

We are sad to say Cape Videl is not what it was ! Poor managment is to be the main
problem. Unfriendly and unhelpful people that work in the office that do not know what
is going on,is what greets you. The shop is not stocked with even the basic suplies.
Staff of natal parksboard were drunk on the job! Petrol closed when ever , not as put on
the board.Staff only run when there was fish to be cleaned.

It is sad to see a place like cape videl go done like that!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg -SA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

Visited Cape Vidal during early August 2008. Most beautiful landscape ever seen. The sea and beach are magnificently unspoiled and untouched with stretches of brilliant white beaches and blue waters. The camp, which is situated in a nature reserve, is a bit neglected as is the the log cabbins which are only stocked with the essentials. It is clear that the camp is only meant to be 'a place to sleep in' for your ardent fishermen, nature lovers and avid bird watchers. We were very fortunate to see alot of wild life and it is true as advertised that you can see from a whale to an eliphant during the course of 1 day. St Lucia is 35km's from Cape Vidal (a stretch of road throught the beautiful nature reserve) and should you be in need of any furhter entertainment you will have to spend the time driving between Cape Vidal and St. Lucia on a daily basis. We however did enjoy our holiday immensely and will certainly visit this area again but next time we will stay in St. Lucia.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Vidal Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Vidal Camp

Address: Saint Lucia, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Saint Lucia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Saint Lucia
Also Known As:
Cape Vidal Camp Hotel Saint Lucia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Vidal Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.