We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“saw pods of hippos” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Lucia Estuary

Saint Lucia Estuary
Greater St. Lucia Wetland Park, Saint Lucia, South Africa
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 17 Attractions in Saint Lucia
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This estuary is part of the Greater St. Lucia Wetland Park and includes fishing, hiking tours, boat tours and a crocodile center. The crocodiles make swimming an ill-advised idea.
Davis, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“saw pods of hippos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I had a boat tour of the St. Lucia Estuary. This tidal estuary is home to Nile crocodiles, hippos, sea turtles and even sharks. Unfortunately it was raining day, I only saw pods of hippos and some birds. The tour was about 2 hours long and the guide was knowledgeable about this area. There was bar services and toilet facility on boat.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    78
    22
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice boat cruise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We did a 2 hour boat cruise. It was nice, but a bit boring close to the end. We did see plenty of hippos and a few crocodiles, but not much else. There was also plenty of birds to see if you are into that. For us the cruise was a bit too long and a little boring.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansonville
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth the expense”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The guide was giving us all kind of info on the animals and eco system. the birds and different animals in South Africa

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hello Hippos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

In September my group traveling to Zululand to visit our partner hospice, Zululand Hospice, enjoyed the two hour boat ride to see hippos, crocs, birds...and a lovely day for a river ride! We have never been disappointed; there are always pods of hippos and usually a crocodile sunning on a bank. We especially enjoy seeing the baby hippos staying close to their mothers. The guide was very knowledgeable, identifying birds and other animal life we happened to come upon. A very interesting and enjoyable two hours.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice boat trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

It was an interesting trip and we could see a lot of hippos from our boat. If you are in this zone, in my opinion the boat trip is the best sightseeing option.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Lucia Estuary also viewed

 
iSimangaliso Wetland Park, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Saint Lucia Estuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint Lucia Estuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.