We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Clean & Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Lucia Wilds

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Lucia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Lucia Wilds
Save
You added St. Lucia Wilds to your Saves list
174 McKenzie Street, Saint Lucia 3936, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent, Clean & Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had an amazing time in St Lucia and our stay at St. Lucia Wilds made it exceptional. The cottage was basic but very clean and comfortable and the service was friendly and welcoming. The owners have an extensive knowledge of the area and local wildlife. We would recommend St. Lucia Wilds accommodation to anyone and we are already looking forward to our next trip to South Africa and would defiantly return to stay at St. Lucia Wilds.
Graham & Tania Egan from the UK.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imelda D, Manager at St. Lucia Wilds, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you very much, we are delighted that your family enjoyed their stay and accommodation.
St Lucia is a treat for the family and when you like nature it is just so much better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    23
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

St Lucia Wilds is situated in a wild garden of wich a smal section is your private garden. The flats are very oldy woldy, but clean and with a good shower and bed. Staff is very helpfull and friendly. If your on a low budget and stil want your own self catering unit this is an option.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imelda D, Manager at St. Lucia Wilds, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Good day, we appreciate your review. We have taken notice that you found the rooms old fashioned and that you enjoyed your stay and the garden setting. We use quality bedding and linen and do our best to keep everything in good working order for our guests' convenience. We are an "old" establishment and better alternative for backpack hostels for those individuals and couples who require better, cleaner more private accommodation in a more relaxing atmosphere. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

All advertised appliances were available and in working order. Beds comfortable and everything spotlessly clean. Lovely casual, relaxed atmosphere. Easy access to town and estuary viewing spots. Our overseas visitors loved our stay in St Lucia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imelda D, Manager at St. Lucia Wilds, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Ingrid and family,
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure having your family here and great that they enjoyed St Lucia. Regards. Imelda D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Friendly and welcoming self catering place just the right distance from town (10 minute walk max). Nice and quiet. Good cooking facilities, excellent hot showers, comfy bed. Not the poshest place you'll stay but very pleasant. It was perfect for us.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imelda D, Manager at St. Lucia Wilds, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, we are situated away from the town noise, especially at night, at St Lucia Wilds you can hear the owls (if lucky see one) and see the fireflies. You can still walk to the shops and carry a bag from here. St Lucia Wilds is one of the old establishments and we are not tiled from roof to floor, so posh we are not. Here you can relax in the units, even children do not have to worry about knocking expensive decor over, we try to make it homely. As we offer self cooking accommodation we try to provide utensils etc. to make your cooking here easy. We will try to update the look and do replace the old and broken with more modern items. We hope you enjoyed your trip to SA and that we will see you again! Imelda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Lucia Wilds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Lucia Wilds

Address: 174 McKenzie Street, Saint Lucia 3936, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Saint Lucia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Saint Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small coastal town St Lucia is uniquely situated inside a World Heritage Site, the iSimangaliso Wetland Park, which makes it an ideal base to experience our unspoilt natural heritage in one of the oldest, most diverse reserves in the world. Watch the sun rise over the sea and set over the lake in one day. Experience a game drive, snorkel/swim in the sea, birding, fishing, a boat trip on the lake and short walking trails in a nature reserve from here or just relax and enjoy the sunshine, clean air and tropical forest smells and sounds. We are located in the main street away from the busy noisy town centre, still within walking distance to shops etc. Units are set in a natural tranquil garden on the bank of the St Lucia Lake. All units have access to the garden with lake view via a communal path through the premises. Units have no view of the lake. You can enjoy the scattered front garden view of the Lake, relax on a lounger chair under the trees or cool down in the swimming pool. We provide lots of information and map of this area. The garden is visited by resident wildlife and we share our living space with all creatures. We try to maintain a healthy food chain by using environmentally friendly products. We offer self-catering holiday accommodation, with owner family living on property. We have 3 joined garden units with each little garden separated by plants. 1 Affordable (budget type) flatlet with steps. Units are standard, comfortable, no-nonsense, very well equipped, clean and neat. You will feel at home. All opening windows and doors have insect netting protection. Parking is under roof cover on site at car port. Children: we offer a tree house with slide and toys for small children and a low trampoline. Swimming pool with fence but not child proof. Children must be supervised at all times. We provide all bedding and linen, 1 bath towel pp, toilet paper, cutlery, crockery, cooking utensils, pots and pans, dish towel, cloth and sponge and dish wash soap. Cleaning service is included once daily in the mornings. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Lucia Wilds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.