We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macadamia Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Lucia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Macadamia Lodge
1st Avenue, Monzi Golf Estate, Saint Lucia, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely family accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We spent Christmas at Macadamia Lodge, and it was a lovely experience. Lucy and her family are marvellous hosts - they are very welcoming and well-informed about the local area and more widely in the province. They had even put up some Christmas decorations, which our children particularly appreciated, being a very long way from home. There are many activities available locally (we particularly enjoyed iSimangaliso Wetlands park and the hippo and croc cruise) but equally Macadamia Lodge is a lovely place just to relax - the kids spent ages in the pool while we sipped coffee or sundowners. The cottage was very comfortable and there's lots of space around for children to play.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
5
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
GAINESVILLE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We spent four nights at Macadamia Lodge and had an extremely wonderful and memorable trip. Cold/rainy weather kept us from whale watching and snorkeling, but did not keep us from successful gameviewing ventures at Hluhluwe iMofolozi and iSimangaliso Wetland Park. I had to make an emergency trip to the dentist and Lucy and Pat were quick to recommend an excelling one in Mtubatuba. After a trip there, I was referred to a specialist in Durban. Lucy was kind enough to drive with us - well above and beyond the duties of a hostess! Unfortunately my tooth prevented me from participating in a yoga class with Pat, but the kindness, generosity, and knowledge of Lucy and her folks made what could have been extremely stressful an absolute breeze. The accommodation is beautiful, clean, quiet, extremely reasonably priced and has everything you might need. The host family is friendly and welcoming and I highly recommend this to anyone visiting the area. I look forward to my next visit to Macadamia Lodge!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port au Prince
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I stayed here as a woman traveling alone and was made to feel like part of the family! The place is beautiful, the surroundings are stunning. The cottage I stayed in was lovely and great value for money. The home cooked food was delicious and I enjoyed the friendly company! I definitely recommend staying here, the best place in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Wrecked after a long day on the road we pulled into the Macadamia Lodge just outside St. Lucia on the Mtubatuba Road. The welcoming hosts and countryside calm instantly revived us. With the iSimangaliso Wetland Park, beaches and St. Lucia town so near and golf and yoga on its doorstep we thought we might stay 4 nights and reluctantly checked out after 10. The cottages are comfortable, clean and have private garden areas. The breakfast is fantastic but if you prefer to look after yourself the fully equipped self–catering kitchens are a welcome change from the stamp-sized facilities experienced elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Lucia, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

I spent 2 nights at Macadamia Lodge in December 2010 and it was wonderful. The location is so peacful and relaxing and the cottages are spotlessly clean, spacious and have wonderful outside space. The owners were extremely friendly and welcoming and made we feel very much at home. The stunning iSimangaliso Wetland Park is very close by so I was able to explore the park during the day and return at night to relax in the peacful countryside surroundings with a chilled gin and tonic in hand. It was fabulous!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

Macadamia Lodge was such a great accomodation find, my stay was such a pleasure with such welcoming hosts. The cottage I stayed in was set up beautifully with the option of selfcatering or B&B, comfortable bed and spacious bathroom and kitchen. All rooms were clean and spotless. Macadamias hosts have such a great selection of activities to chose from eg; whale watching, horseriding, day/night game drives, golf, beach, cultural tours etc.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South AFrica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

This lodge has just recently opened and we were the first guests. The hosts made a real effort, the breakfast was wonderful, with fruit from the garden and the home made macadamia nut cookies were to die for - we even got to take some away with us

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Macadamia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macadamia Lodge

Address: 1st Avenue, Monzi Golf Estate, Saint Lucia, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Saint Lucia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Specialty lodging in Saint Lucia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macadamia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Macadamia Lodge to your Saves list