We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge Afrique

Save Saved
You added Lodge Afrique to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lodge Afrique
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   71 Hornbill Street, Saint Lucia 3936, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 28 Saint Lucia B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Warm welcome by Tessa the manager who is always there to help, give suggestions and directions. Breakfast was always fresh with a variety each day. The rooms were beautifully decorated, comfortable and clean. For once, the website depicts EXACTLY what the lodge looks like.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zorba1, Manager at Lodge Afrique, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
We here at Lodge Afrique appreciate your comments and are very pleased to know that you experienced everything here at the lodge as we promise on our website.
Please come back and visit us again in the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
104
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Wonderful place, a gem. Tessa the manageress is the best manager we have come across in S.A.
The place is peaceful, very clean, staff are brilliant, food excellent. All the staff are very informative about the best places to eat, to visit and if you are leaving early they do a great packed breakfast.
You can even order dinner in the morning or a BBQ and Tessa herself is a wonderful cook.
We will return next year.. We can not praise this place enough...... Book it now!!!

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre... All room are excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zorba1, Manager at Lodge Afrique, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Hi, I hope you had a safe journey in the wet weather when you left St Lucia.
Thank you for your kind words and we all here at Lodge Afrique are missing you already.
We hope you keep your promise of returning next year. Book early!!
Enjoy the rest of your holiday and the spa in particular.
Kind regards
Tessa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

The owner of this guest house have certainly researched very well the requirements of tourists. From the moment you slip under the fresh linen duvet cover on the very comfortable bed you know you are in for a great experience. If you are planning a stay in St Lucia try this place first, but book early there are rarely vacancies, if you are successful you will understand why.
A really first class experience thanks and well done.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zorba1, Manager at Lodge Afrique, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Good Afternoon and St Lucia greetings to you.
It was such a pleasure to have you at the lodge, and we are looking forward to your next visit already.
We had a wonderful sunny day today after a few days of rain and the garden is just so beautiful.
Oh! and before I forget, the hippo's are visiting us at night again and the guests just love it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were up in the St Lucia area exploring the Hluhlue Imfalozi game park and decided to try and find accommodation to save driving all the way back to our hotel and returning next day to visit the Wetlands.We were fortunate to hear of a vacancy at Lodge Afrique and as soon as we saw the place grabbed the opportunity.It is a really delightfull place to stay.There are eight individual rondavels offering spacious accommodation.The rooms were very attractivly furnished with an African theme which was just right ,not too much as is the case in many places .The bed was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep after a tiring day.The bathroom en suite with a spacious shower.The garden was beautifully landscaped with tree ferns.palms various other shrubs which I couldn't name but an overall pleasing effect.Stone lanterns led us over the raised boardwak back to our rondavel.We had breakfast on the terrace the usual type of food on offer but nicely presented and served.Yessa was extremely pleasant ,most welcoming and helpfull.If we are fortunate enough to visit this area again we would love to stay there again and would strongly advise friends and fellow travellors to go there and discover a little African treasure

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zorba1, Manager at Lodge Afrique, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for the very nice review
You should be here now after the rains to see how beautiful the garden is now! The flowers are blooming and everything is just growing.
We hope to see you back here by us again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The three of us had a superb relaxing stay for 2 nights at this very attractive cosy lodge - very reasonably priced - in a quiet area of St Lucia. Our room was spacious, with a huge bed and modern en suite bathroom, and the surrounding gardens were lovely. We even met the resident turtle poolside. Our hostess, Tessa, went out of her way to accommodate all our needs (thanks for the adaptors, Tessa, and my wife's 10 minute boiled eggs!!) and was a treasure trove of information. On her recommendation we went on a hippo and croc tour of the estuary (large pods of hippos seen close up); and, even better, was a cultural tour of the one of the local villages where we spent time with the local Zulu residents, visited their schools (heartwarming kids, don't forget to buy sweets to distribute beforehand), watched a Zulu dance and even attended a real practising witch doctor. Don't believe people when they say there is not much to do in St Lucia - we spent an afternoon on gorgeous and deserted sandy beaches (great waves, but careful of the undertow) and walked for an hour around the estuary via a boardwalk and saw plenty of birds, hippos cavorting and crocodiles within throwing distance. And of couse you have the iSimalangoliso wetland park on your doorstep, which was stunning (you need a car - we visited Caroline Bay and the giant sand dunes at Cape Vidal. We were told Sodwana and Kosi are also beautiful, though more remote). We saw families of black rhino, majestic kudus and even an eagle sat by the roadside (I missed the money photo, d'oh!!) Plus you are only an hour's drive from Imfolozi Game reserve. So all in all, a perfect place to stay - go before too many people find out!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zorba1, Manager at Lodge Afrique, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for liking St Lucia and Lodge Afrique so much!
It was such a pleasure to have you here at our establishment and to know that you really got to know our little town and the surrounding areas.
I hope we will be lucky enough to see you again on your next visit to South Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is excellent place with large room with super African style and great atmosphere. I was really surprised what we got for this price. Very friendly owner which can help you to plan or book your trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zorba1, Manager at Lodge Afrique, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Good Morning
I hope you are fine and that you arrived home safe.
Thank you for the very nice review, it was so good to have you here and hope that we will again see you in the near future.
Tessa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great authentic African rondavel type rooms, well appointed with big bathrooms, walk in showers, out door showers, big bath - room for two...massive beds (big consideration for me, I'm 6ft 7 and 19 stone!) clean, tidy and well maintained. One thing, no fridge in room for cool drinks but as only a small hotel (8 - 10 rooms?) not far to walk to the honesty bar! Staff brilliant and the manageress Tessa, was great and very friendly as were all the staff and the food was excellent. Tessa was alqwys happy to receive constructive critism and only one other small complaint was that the room needed a bright central light as well as the wall light fittings for those packing and unpacking moments when you cant find some thing! Also has a small pool but with the beach and massive Indian ocean so near, who needs a pool? All in all, highly recommended and St Lucia is quiet and beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zorba1, Manager at Lodge Afrique, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed South Africa, St Lucia and most of all Lodge Afrique on your recent visit.
We now have more bright lights in the rooms for the convenience of the guests. Our honesty bar is so well supported by the guests and it is wonderful to have them come in for a drink and a little chat during the late afternoon and early evenings.
I am concerned though that we did not get a full rating from you for service and cleanliness as we do strive to give the best service possible and make sure that we clean very thoroughly daily. If there is any advice you have to improve this part of our service, please let me know and we will work still harder to achieve a full rating.
It was nice having you here and hope you will come back for a visit soon.
Tessa
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lodge Afrique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Afrique

Address: 71 Hornbill Street, Saint Lucia 3936, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Saint Lucia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge Afrique 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge Afrique is a newly built 4 star Guest House with eight free standing luxurious thatched suites, each with full Afro/Victorian bathroom. Lodge Afrique can cater for up to 16 people at a time. The spacious and luxurious air conditioned suites, each with a private outdoor shower leading off the patio, is situated in a tropical garden with a sparkling pool. All the suites are connected to the Central Lodge by a raised wooden deck pathway over the beautiful garden. Guests gather in the Central Lodge which includes the Breakfast, Bar, Braai and Leisure Area equipped with satellite television. Allow us to turn your honeymoon at Lodge Afrique into a truly memorable experience. Romantic picnics, forest walks, gentle horse rides, pampering treatments, sensational soaks in a bubble filled bath, sundowners on your patio and a delicious champagne breakfast to start your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lodge Afrique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge Afrique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.