We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guides and very punctual” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Day Tours & Safaris

Heritage Day Tours & Safaris
Mckenzie street shop 1, Saint Lucia, South Africa
+27 83 457 2147
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Attractions in Saint Lucia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Heritage tours & Safaris was established by people that LOVE wildlife. Family owned and proudly South African, our aim has always been to enthusiastically share that love and passion with all the satisfied tourists that have been though our hands.Heritage Tours & Safaris offers the widest range of Big 5 Safaris, night drives, hippo and croc cruises and Whale Watching.Our safaris/activities are not only affordable but also offer our guests a value-filled product with a personal touch.We invite you to find out for yourself what sets us apart as a safari company.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Novara, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great guides and very punctual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We had a package with safaris to the iMfolozi-hluhluwe NP, iSimangaliso Wetland park, etc. And everything was arranged for us perfectly. Pickups at the hotel always on time and the guides were great!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you very much for joining Heritage Tours & Safaris over the festive season, we wish you a prosperous new year and do hope that you will travel with us again soon.

Kind regards the Heritage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    8
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wareham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Heritage tours -Awesome safaris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The first week of our month in South Africa was fantastic! We went on a full day, two half days and a boat trip with Heritage tours and had an amazing time on all of them! The full day to Hluhluwe was awesome, seeing a whole range of animals in the reserve. Our guides were very informative and answered all of our questions, as well as cooking us a great braai!
We also managed to see the big five whilst we were in St lucia, so it was a great success! And definitely don't forget your camera!

Thanks again to Quentin and Mandy and all of the guides for giving us an unforgettable experience of a life time!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Champagne saves the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

My partner and I had been planning a trip to South Africa for some time. Having grew up in Kwa-Zulu Natal I knew Uhluhluw-Imfolozi would be the perfect "safari" for my German friend. We searched on google and after much looking around I emailed an enquiry to Heritage Tours & Safaris. Within the next 12 hours I had my first response and this set the ball rolling. We were enticed into the 3 day package which includes a boat ride along the St Lucia Estuary, a night game drive in the Isimangaliso Wetlands, a full days game drive in Hluhluwe-Imfolozi and topped off with a beach trip to Cape Vidal. As I am sitting here writing this review I have to point out that we are embarking on the Cape Vidal trip tomorrow morning so I cannot comment on that as yet - however it is raining so I suspect we will not be snorkelling. The package was attractive because of what it offers and for a great price. We were placed in Umlilo Lodge (2min walk from Town) a beautiful little family run lodge with full (free!) wifi access. Due to the weather we were given the option of taking the night game drive on the first night as there would be a chance we would miss out on it the second night as they were expecting the rain to continue. We decided we did not want to take the chance so we went for it. Unfortunately the guided tour operator did not see our names on the altered list and we were forgotten at our lodge. Umlilo lodge manager promptly contacted Heritage who then contacted the driver who was happy to turn around and pick us up, followed by an apology. The boat trip was marvellous, operated by an informative ranger who clearly has a passion for wildlife. Head my warning though, when he dryly remarks that "in case of an emergency we will remain on-board." this is not dark humour - he is being deadly serious. Between the Bull Shark, (Zambezi) African Crocodile and Hippopotamus there is no chance of survival as these are extremely dangerous animals. We spotted many hippo's, an african fish eagle, a goliath heron, a pied king fisher, giant king fisher and a woodlands king fisher. Only one crocodile made an appearance. They are cold blooded creatures so they tend to spend a lot of time out of the water soaking up the sun, but as it was raining they remained in the warmer water. Our game night drive was pleasant, we spotted many nocturnal creatures including the bush-baby and plenty of waterbuck and we even crossed paths with a 20cm baby python. The following morning we had an early start to the day, pick up at 5 am for the trip to Uhluhluwe - what we were waiting for! Uhluhluwe is one of the oldest game parks in africa, formed in the 1800's it is also the most successful breading reserve for white and black rhino. 5 minutes into our game drive we spotted a large herd of elephants (+- 80 - 100 strong) including large females and their young calves and one notably massive bull. We also spotted lions who were taking time to sleep under some bushes as they showed off their great big paws. We did see a small group of 3 males buffalo and many wildebeast, impala, warthog, inyala, giraffe, zebra and birds galore. The White-backed Vulture perched in a tree adjacent to a yellow-billed kite and a silver chested kite. We also saw a yellow billed hornbill and a burchells coocal. Rhino's were in packs of two and were great big animals lying in the grass sleeping. Our guide Simpiwe kept us educated with his knowledge of the reserve and its many varying wildlife. We did hear of a cheetah kill but got their too late and we were also unlucky not to see hyenas and their counter parts wild dogs. A great trip, and well planned out with an early morning breakfast and a lunch before the end of the drive. I would recommend anyone to Uhluhluwe and even more so to Heritage Tours & Safaris because when we arrived back at our lodge we were welcomed by a package and a card to apologise for the mix up on the first night! Now that is service! They clearly value their customer.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altdorf Bei Nurnberg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“BEST SAFARI OF ALL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We spend 3 weeks in SA and visited 4 Reserves with guided tours.
Heritage offered simply the best of all. The guides from Heritage are professionell, helpful and also very friendly. And: Can cook very well when we had lunch in the savannah.

Have you ever seen when a lepard hunts a pig? During Heritage night safari you can watch !!!

Thank you for everything. We come soon again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you so much for the review, it was such a pleasure having you on our excursions and safaris. We hope that you wil beable to join us again.

Regards
The Heritage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Game Drive to Umfolozi Reserve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

After a 5am start in St Lucia we were driven for 50 mins to the reserve in a game vehicle. Our driver and guide was Steve who did a great job of finding and explaining the wildlife we watched. This was our 2nd trip to this park and on this occasion we were able to watch lion, white rhino, buffalo and elephant together with a host of other animals and birds including giraffe and a resting cheetah. A thoroughly good trip lasting 10 hours with a very knowledgeable guide.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Day Tours & Safaris also viewed

 
Saint Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Heritage Day Tours & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.