We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, knowledgeable guide!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Day Tours & Safaris

Heritage Day Tours & Safaris
Mckenzie street shop 1, Saint Lucia, South Africa
+27 83 457 2147
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Attractions in Saint Lucia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Heritage tours & Safaris was established by people that LOVE wildlife. Family owned and proudly South African, our aim has always been to enthusiastically share that love and passion with all the satisfied tourists that have been though our hands.Heritage Tours & Safaris offers the widest range of Big 5 Safaris, night drives, hippo and croc cruises and Whale Watching.Our safaris/activities are not only affordable but also offer our guests a value-filled product with a personal touch.We invite you to find out for yourself what sets us apart as a safari company.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, knowledgeable guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

With only a day spare after a conference in Durban I booked in a day tour at Umfolozi Game Reserve with Heritage Tours - I was onyl able to join the tour from 8am to about 2pm, but it was still incredible. Our guide Gert was brilliant - extremely knowledgeable and willing to answer any questions. If you can make sure to sit in the front row of the vehicle as that way you can hear everything the guide has to say. The park itself is superb, with an amazing array of species, from the big five, through to hundreds of birds. .

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    8
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous tours, scenery and wildlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We enjoyed 2 great days with Heritage's guide, Bryan, at the end of June. Our family first did a full day Cape Vidal tour with Bryan. What beautiful countryside, and spectacular beaches, and so much wildlife! We were lucky enough to have a rhino cross the road near us. So exciting!!! We also saw so many other types of animals from kudu to waterbuck, buffalo to zebra, impala and warthog. Lunch was so delicious, the steaks and salads were fabulous and the beach view too. The beach at Cape Vidal was one of the biggest and prettiest we have ever seen. The next day we visited Hluhluwe-Imfolozi park on a half day safari, where we witnessed lions feeding on a giraffe carcass very close to the road. What a thrill! Also saw tons of other animals including hyenas, giraffes, zebras, various antelope, rhinos, and many birds. Also saw lots of beautiful countryside. Such a great day! Bryan was fun to be with and very knowledgeable about the wildlife and habitats. Later that day we took your St. Lucia estuary cruise with Stacy, saw tons of hippos, crocs and birds from a nice, smaller sized boat. Also a great outing with a very smart and informed guide.

Our thanks for everything, we really enjoyed your beautiful country. Wished we could have stayed longer.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritagesafaris, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your compliments, it was a pleasure to host you in our beutifull part of the world.
I will be sure to pass the compliments onto Bryan and Stacey.

Kind regards
Hertiage Tours Team
St Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and I spent two days & nights in St Lucia on Heritage Tour's 2 day tour and had a fantastic time. The hotel was great and all of the guides went out of their way to make the experience special for us (Stacey's tour of Imfolozi being a highlight)!

Many thanks to all!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritagesafaris, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind compliments.
Heritage Tours team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic tours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

I took three tours with Heritage: hippo/croc cruise, Hluhluwe-Umfolozi park and Western shores night drive. They were booked through Parker's Cottages where I was staying and I couldn't have been happier. First up was the cruise and I was so pleased we were in a small boat which meant we were close enough to the guide to ask questions we had and we also were able to get closer in to see the wildlife. Next day was the game park and Western Shores night drive. Both guides I had over the two days were excellent. They were passionate, knowledgeable and personable. I would highly recommend Heritage Tours and hope to be back here in St Lucia someday to enjoy more of their tours.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritagesafaris, Manager at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
It was our pleasure - we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A day at Hluhluwe with my grandson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We were met punctually at the gate by a friendly game ranger (Gert) from Heritage day tours, who proved to be extremely knowledgeable about the game and surroundings....We had an excellent day viewing,and I had a very excited,exhausted child at the end of a wonderful day,with incredible sightings.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Day Tours & Safaris also viewed

 
Saint Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Heritage Day Tours & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.