We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-star experience!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   20 Kingfisher Street, Saint Lucia 3936, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 28 Saint Lucia B&B and Inns
Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“5-star experience!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at St Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse. This is with no doubt the best option for a stay in St Lucia. Colin and his parents are really fantastic and very helpful hosts! Delicious breakfast, clean & spacious rooms, beautiful house and a very quiet neighborhood.
We think St Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse offers 5-star service with the carwash, welcome drink, laundry service and last but not least the fantastic picknick-box.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinHolman, Manager at St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Julle inset beteken baie vir ons, waarder, dankie. The festive season is in full swing here in St Lucia. Our normally quiet town is a buzz with tourists from all over South Africa and the rest of the world. The hot days and warm nights have made the pool and the beach a welcomed stop. In the last 10 days our guests had 6 leopard sightings on the road to Cape Vidal. Wishing you, Lukas and your families a happy new year. Warm regards the Holman Clan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
71
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We had a wonderful few days here with faultless accommodation. The hosts couldn't do enough for us and gave us so much detailed information about the area. Reading all the other reviews will give an accurate idea as to how good this place really is.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The two nights spent at St. Lucia Wetlands were a true delight. The hosts greeted us warmly with a drink, then showed us to our rooms. Nothing prepared me for the elegance of this B & B. The grounds are immaculate and lovely; the lodge itself is beyond anything I expected. My room was wonderful with two double beds which were very comfortable, wardrobe, and a gorgeous, luxurious bathroom with shower. Breakfast was a wonderful display of food with delicious coffee. It could be eaten out on the balcony or in the dining room. In the lobby was a very comfortable lounge in front of a warm fireplace. Brochures of area locales to visit were there, as well as books on the flora and fauna of the St. Lucia Wetlands area. Laundry service is provided. I would more than highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We spend the last two nights of a five week trip to South Africa at St Lucia -- the perfect end to a great trip The management had been very helpful in planning and were helpful with more suggestions when we got there. Having our car cleaned after having been bogged on a muddy dirt road was a wonderful touch.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were greeted with a drink by lovely hosts. Unfortunately for us (we were on a tour) only one night was available to us. This is a place where you need to spend more than one night and explore the surroundings. We did not give the location justice. The guesthouse was like stepping back in time and you could not fault the service and the rooms. The décor blew my mind as the rooms seem like they were jumping out of a magazine. Very clean and breakfast was enjoyed out on the veranda. Fortunately for me I had the best room in the house and I felt like a princess in my big beautiful, wonderful bed. My first reaction was I can't sleep here as the room décor seem like it was out of a fairy tale book. Beautiful big windows which I love looking out on to the swimming pool and the grounds were very inviting to take a stroll. Thank you very much for this unique experience (shame I had no one to share it with)

Room Tip: I stayed in the room opposite the swimming pool and felt like a Princess!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinHolman, Manager at St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Helen, thank you for your kind words. It was our pleasure hosting you and the rest of the group. You would very much enjoy welcoming you and your Prince Charming back anytime. Warm Regards The Holman Clan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The room we had was so graceful and elegant. The bed was very comfortable, the amenities were suberb. Lush gardens, comforable and unique furnishings, outside veranda seating for a breakfast that was just perfect and bountiful. The owners could not have been more hospitable and helpful. They are located in a quiet area that is close to the town, the Wetlands and the beach areas that we could drive to easily. We had come to St Lucia to do a sea excursion to see the whales but it was cancelled by the tour service three seperate times for mechanical problems, so be prepared for this situation. This family and their BnB made up for the disapppointment. They assisted us with suggestions of what to see and where to eat. They were on target. We fully enjoyed our visit. If you are traveling to St Lucia, South Africa, do yourself a favor and look at this beautiful and comfortable location. To the family, Thank you.. Eileen and Mary from USA

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinHolman, General Manager at St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Eileen and Mary, Thank you very much for your kind and complimentary words. We are just glad to somehow have been able to soften your disappointment in not been able to go whale watching and we hope the memories you have of Zululand stay with you for a long time. Warm Regards The Holman Clan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My son (11 yrs) and I stayed for three days/nights at St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse. Great location and VERY helpful hosts; they supplied us with good tips/hints of what to do, provided us with snorkeling equipment etc. The room was large and very clean - although a bit dark. All in all we enjoyed our stay in St. Lucia and at Wetlands Guesthouse.


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinHolman, Manager at St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Andreas, thank you for your review and your kind words. We are happy that you and your son enjoyed your stay in St Lucia and that we could be a part of it. Warm Regards, the Holman Clan. PS better luck next year against your son's football team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse

Address: 20 Kingfisher Street, Saint Lucia 3936, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Saint Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the midst of an exceptional World Heritage Site, St Lucia Wetlands Guest House is the ideal destination for those travelers looking to find tranquility and comfort whilst exploring the magical beach, estuary, and game parks around us. Our guest experience begins with welcoming drinks and a comprehensive orientation of the area. Highlights amongst the many activities in St Lucia and the surrounding areas include a sunset boat cruise down the estuary, featuring an abundance of hippos, crocodiles, and bird life; a day-trip through South Africa's first World Heritage Site, a "Big Four" game park known as the iSimangaliso Wetland Park; and of course our beautiful beaches along the Indian Ocean in St Lucia and at the renowned Cape Vidal. At the house, our guests find a dedicated team committed to providing an excellent experience for each and every guest, all the while allowing them privacy and exclusive use of the house, its balconies and patios, lounge, pool and garden. We take pride in our full breakfast, served daily, with options for every visitor's tastes. Indeed, South African hospitality at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.