We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lidiko Lodge at St. Lucia ...our FAVORITE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lidiko Lodge

Save Saved
You added Lidiko Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lidiko Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   95 McKenzie Street | PO Box 68, Saint Lucia 3936, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Filderstadt, Germany
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lidiko Lodge at St. Lucia ...our FAVORITE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Starting our South Africa Trip in Johannisburg to Krüger National Park via Swasiland to Sodwana Bay ending in St. Lucia we stayed the last days at Lidiko Lodge in St. Lucia. By entering this Lodge, you will instandly see, that this is a place, where people work who have only ONE Goal: Make residents happy !!!
The very tasteful arangement und more tha friendly and helpful people at Lidiko Lodge makes it a real place of pleasure.
We will visit again, even if its only for short "hello" and an "espresso"
Thank you so much for staying with you. THE ORTLIEB`s from Germany

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    23
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeuwarden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We were in room 16. It is big but dark and empty. The windows were small and had no view at all. The room was very big but had no place to sit. Breakfast was fine, the people nice. I can't judge on the other rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We were completely delighted with our stay at Lidiko Lodge and would recommend it to anyone. This family owned lodge is a relaxing, delightful spot to use as your base while you explore St Lucia and the wetlands. The rooms are comfortable (although the mattresses are definitely firm and short (if you are over 5' 5") and nicely done. It is a safe and relaxing place to stay. The staff are very helpful and quickly responsive. The family that owns the lodge is very helpful at arranging tours and advising guests about activities. The breakfasts are absolutely delicious! I would definitely go back if I am ever in that part of the world again

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

We stayed three nights at Lidiko Lodge as part of a trip along game and nature parks. We liked the positive spirited, helpfull and friendly staff. Rooms are spacious, complete en well thought out. We stayed on B&B basis.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

My husband and I along with our 13-year old son spent 2 fabulous days at the Lidiko Lodge in St. Lucia. The accommodations were amazing. Lidiko Lodge has done a beautiful job of renovating their property into a tropical oasis. The entrance from the main street is charming and secluded. Once inside the interior courtyard, you feel as though you have been whisked away to a tropical paradise. Lidiko Lodges has several charming spots to sit and relax, soak up the sun, or read. The lodge even has an outdoor firepit for cozing up to a fire on chilly nights. The morning breakfast buffet was fantastic with a wonderful assortment to select from. We loved staying here and if we should ever find ourselves back in St. Lucia we will most definately stay with our friends at Lidiko Lodge! As a side note... we thoroughly enjoyed our walk to the ocean, seeing the hippos, and the silly monkeys - what a treat!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Family of 4 from Canada taking in the World Cup. We stayed 2 nights in 2 rooms: great accomodations: very clean, friendly staff, great breakfasts, awesome small swimming pool and great location. We stayed in 6 hotels/BBs in our trip; this was in the top strata. We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham UK
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We booked several rooms for a family gathering; the rooms themselves are of a reasonable standard, though they are quite dark and do vary in standard, one we booked in particular was in grave need of a bathroom refit! On our arrival when I opened the mini bar a can of coke exploded (a can which had been in the neglected mini bar a while had frozen and the lid had been blown clean off across the room, thankfully it missed my 2 year old daughter but there was a lot of Coke on the floor) the staff laughed at what I though was a serious hazard, even when the less that hospitable owner inspected the following morning there was no apology. Generally, the hospitality was not up to the standard we have come to expect from B&B’s in South Africa, the reception area (easily the nicest part of the Lodge) was closed and locked at 7pm every night meaning there was nowhere to sit inside after that time. Nearly everything we asked for at Lidiko received a grumpy response from staff just small things like an extra towel for our baby, blankets for the beds, poached eggs or toast at breakfast seemed, things which would not have been a lot of trouble in other places seemed hard work there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lidiko Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lidiko Lodge

Address: 95 McKenzie Street | PO Box 68, Saint Lucia 3936, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Saint Lucia
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Specialty lodging in Saint Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lidiko Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set above the Great St Lucia Lake, Lidiko lodge is a 4* lodge, centrally situated in the village of St Lucia, surrounded by the Greater St Lucia Wetland Park (iSimangaliso Wetland Park), an UNESCO natural World Heritage Site. Lidiko Lodge offers 16 well-appointed air conditioned en-suite garden rooms decorated in a contemporary Afro-Colonial style. All rooms offer a private patio and lead onto the pool area or bird filled gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Lidiko Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lidiko Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.