We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memory Lane” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Royal Hotel to your Saves list
The Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road, Pilgrim's Rest 1290, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pilgrim's Rest
Hogland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Memory Lane”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Not the fanciest hotel you could stay in, but we enjoyed the old school nostalgia of the place. This hotel is old and has loads of history, but not for someone looking for a slick modern hotel. It has a great location in the middle of town, and I enjoyed the pub.
Dont worry about the ghosts, they seem friendly!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    65
    36
    22
    6
See reviews for
28
76
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nelspruit
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

new years day lunch at the royal had a buffet on offer for R120 or an overpriced menu.
i did have a look at the normal menu which looked very well priced. we all had the buffet and a zonneblom pinotage also for R120.
beef, gammon, prawns, mussels, pasta, soup, breads, salads, quite a variety.as buffets go an average spread not wow, but lovely day in an old hotel on the veranda watching people strolling through the old gold mining village.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Shocking Experience! Wow! We could not believe our eyes when we got to this dilapidated hotel. The wooden floors had a hole so big, we were scared that our kids were going to break their legs walking through there.

Secondly, what was supposed to be a Victorian chair had an arm rest that looked like it had been plucked out and no one had cared to fix it.

The smell in the hotel was moldy and not welcoming at all.

The receptionist was not aware of all of the above. Shocking!

Needless to say that we did not go any further than seeing the rooms. We took pictures of the dilapidated structure to alert all about this dump.

The hotel grading body should visit this place and strip them off whatever stars they possess. A real shocker of a place.

The inconvenience caused to us was immeasurable especially as we were traveling with kids.

I would not recommend this Royal Dump!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The accomodation at the old bank house, used for lodging hotel guests is fantastic. the rooms are kept in their Original style regarding furniture. there is a sitting room, bedroom and bathroom. only negative point is that the shower is not fixed to the wall, and that you need to find the best temperature for the hot water yourself.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the old bankhouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Excelent! Just amazing this little village in Mpumalanga, remarkable and well preserved.All the way to get there is astonishing, beautiful landscapes, very good roads and friendly people, make this trip fantastic.And the food is superb...I suggest a visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel is very well kept in the old Victorian style. Many nice details and seemingly genuine artifacts, photos, furniture. But this is theatre decor only without substance or athmosphere. No host is present - probably not even in the village - to greet you. The person at the reception desk did not utter a word of welcome. He demanded full payment up front and then lost all interest in the arriving guests. Same person present next morning. Barely looked up when we handed in the key.

Dinner ? A mediocre buffet in a large canteen like hall. The more elegant and traditional looking dining room next door was not in use ( this Friday evening ?) and a la carte not available. Breakfast in the same hall - average at the most. Staff was friendly but not well trained.

The room ( no 10 ) was Victorian style - nice and clean, but with bad ventilation and a smell from the kitchen. The kitchen staff starts working at 6 a.m. Loud talk, pots and pans moving around, smell of food being prepared. We met the cleaning staff in the morning. Polite and friendly, and obviously those at the hotel who make an extra effort.

The drawing room next to the reception area seemed like a nice place to sit after dinner. But we were constanly disturbed by the guy at the reception and his friends standing at the counter, engaging in loud coversations.

If you pass through Pilgrims' Rest, do exactly that. You can do the village in 15 minutes and take a look inside at the public areas of the hotel. The village has an outwardly charm but again - very little athmosphere. As far as accommodation is concerned, you are probably better off elsewhere. After 5 p.m. the village has nothing to offer.

Tor C.

Room Tip: Avoid room 9, 10, 11. Too close to the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ostermundigen, Schweiz
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed here one night. I absolutly loved the look of the room. The whole furniture and decor is beautiful and really makes you feel like in 1920.
Staff was okay - they did their job and were friendly. But never as cordially and cheerful as in all the other places I staid in during my 3 week trip.
Breakfast was nothing special - the worst I had in South Africa.
Also about the evening meal I didn't go over the top.
Next time I would probably stay in a B&B in Graskop or so.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Main Road, Pilgrim's Rest 1290, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Pilgrim's Rest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pilgrim's Rest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Pilgrims Rest
The Royal Hotel South Africa/Mpumalanga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.