We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hannah Game Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hannah Game Lodge to your Saves list
Hannah Game Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   R 555, Old Burgersfort Road, Ohrigstad | Mpumalanga, South Africa, Ohrigstad 1122, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Hannah Lodge is literally in middle of nowhere, in the middle of a private wildpark, at approx. a 20-minute drive from Ohrigstad town. And with that it was also incredibly quiet & dark at night, so you could spot some pretty nice stars out there as well.

Check-in was good, we received a nice welcome drink. Suitcases and bags were brought up to the lodges.

The lodges were amazing and pretty spacious. Loved the big beams on the ceiling and the little sort of balcony with view over the park. The bed was great, good sized shower. Everything was nice and clean and I loved the real, warm, African feeling I got here.

The food was good. Buffet for both dinner and breakfast. Quite a lot of choice of meat, salad etc.

Great accommodation, nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    47
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
49
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is the place if you want peace and quietness in a very pleasant game reserve. Staff is very friendly and service is good.You can go on game drives - a very noise experience thru to the vehicle used. Rooms are nice and nothing better than a Gin and Tonic watching the sunset. Food is good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toldijk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Hannah Lodge in Ohrigstad is situated inside a private reservation. Animals are at your doorstep. The rooms are excellent, staff is very friendly, food is great. In short the perfect place for a stay combined with close game drives. Especially the giraffes are great and willing to pose. Go for it you want regret.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The food was superb. We tasted local meats like venison and kudu. It was such a pleasant, relaxing stay. Accommodation was perfect. The evenings were blessed with the sounds of the birds and animals feeding down the waterhole and make sure you rise early to experience a spectacular sunrise.

Room Tip: A room with a view is always best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, Michigan
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Hannah Game Lodge was magnificent! We only stayed one night and wished we could have stayed longer. Our room was spacious and luxurious, and it overlooked the beautiful property. A definite highlight was the food. Dishes were elegantly prepared and presented, and the flavors were wonderful. We highly recommend this lodge to others, and we wish we could have gone on a game drive through their property. But with only one night stay, we didn't have the time for it. The staff was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This Game lodge is situated in a prestine rural area. With small game wondering around it is just the perfect one night stop, but dont be in a hurry. Come early and do a game drive. Site has a refreshing pool and the restaurant is also quite good, offering a wide selection to cater for the individual palate

Room Tip: In my opinion all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Hannah Lodge was our first stop on our fly drive vacation to South Africa. What a wonderful way to start!
The hotel is in the middle of nowhere. All you can see as far as the eye can reach is beautiful African nature.
The hotel grounds are beautiful and the cottages cozy and tastefully designed. The pool area is great too. We saw three wild hogs grazing along the side :)
We strongly recommend taking a game drive. It's 110 Rand a person but worth it! We were driven for two hours and saw giraffes, zebras and loads of impalas.
The restaurant has a beautiful deck where you can have breakfast and dinner. Dinner is a buffet and costs 150 rand.
The only minor issues to us were that there was no fridge in the room and no air-con. At night it cools down a lot, but the room was still to hot at night.
We would definitively recommend this place for a overnight stay between Pretoria and the Panorama Route which starts only a few kilometers away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hannah Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hannah Game Lodge

Address: R 555, Old Burgersfort Road, Ohrigstad | Mpumalanga, South Africa, Ohrigstad 1122, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Ohrigstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ohrigstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hannah Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Private Nature Reserve embraces more than 8000 hectares of Malaria - free, unspoiled African Bushveld. Hannah offers a Bushveld experience at affordable and realistic rates. Professional, friendly and down to earth service characterizes this warm and peaceful getaway. Hannah is a reflection of Africa in its entire natural splendor, a captivating tapestry of African sounds, smells and colors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hannah Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hannah Game Hotel Ohrigstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hannah Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.