We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Romantic Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Roca Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Roca Guest House to your Saves list
La Roca Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   56 Van Wijk Street | Nelspruit, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 56 Nelspruit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maputo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Romantic Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I decided to spend the weekend of our first wedding anniversary at La Roca and we had a beautiful, tranquil and relaxing stay. The guesthouse sits on the hillside just above Nelspruit with stunning views over the Lowveld. Service at La Roca, from the moment you make a booking to the moment you check out is excellent and attentive to all guests needs. We stayed in Room 12, a luxury room in the garden. The room was large, beautifully decorated, extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. If you stay there in the winter (May-September) make sure you take slippers as the stone floor is little cold - although the room itself isn't. Breakfast is one of the highlights at La Roca. Served on a beautiful veranda with spectacular views there is a choice of very imaginative, not to mention delicious, "specials" everyday or guests can simply order whatever they like "al la carte". For the techies, La Roca has an excellent and FREE wireless network which is permanently on (this is unusual and a very pleasant surprise).

We have previously stayed at La Roca with our two children in a family room and can also easily recommend the guesthouse for family stays.

La Roca fully deserves to be rated exceedingly high on Trip Advisor and is certainly amongst the best guesthouses in the Nelspruit area. We will be back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    50
    2
    2
    5
See reviews for
40
100
10
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Booking at La Roca was one of the best decisions made. Thanks to Management and Staff our stay was most memorable. Friendly staff, good breakfast and complete peace and serenity is what one looks for in a holiday like this, and this is exactly what we found at La Roca. We had seen pictures on the net before booking our accommodation, but we found in the accommodation was more than what we expected, it was total luxury to say the least. Fresh air, cleanliness and complete privacy just as we hoped for. This place made a huge impression, one that will linger for a long time to come. We as a family will definitely return to La Roca whenever we visit.

Room Tip: If you looking for self catering, the apartments are great, it's a definite win win situation fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was my family's first trip to South Africa and we are glad we found this little gem. On our way to Kruger all we wanted was a clean safe place to catch-up after a long flight. We had read the reviews and knew La Roca was well run however the place exceeded our expectations. The rooms were large and well maintained, the staff was verey friendly and accomodating. We opted for the Thursday dinner which was delicious and though we were tired took advantage of the firepit and beautiful night sky. Thank you all.

Highly recommend La Roca and hope to return during our next SA adventure.
John from Rhode Island

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

La Roca offers the most luxury one can need on a business travel. Amazing views and spectacular rooms on offer. Friendly staff and the best breakfast you will ever find in Nelspruit.
i can highly recommend this as it is close to all business centres and near most of the tourist attarctions on offer in Nelspruit. For a 5 star stay, La Roca Lodge!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked La Roca for one night as a jumping off point for the Panorama Drive. Upon arrival, we immediately asked if we could extend our stay one more night! The setting is so peaceful, the service so attentive and the staff so wonderful we wish we could have stayed for a week! Incredible food served on the lovely patio overlooking the perfectly manicured gardens made a perfect start and finish to each day. Highly recommended - we can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have been staying at La Roca in NELSPRUIT on a regular basis for the last 7 years, every time I visit the service is excellent, the breakfasts out of this world. The hospitality is what one expects when you are away from home. I am always made to feel welcome. As a stop over to the Kruger National Park or Mozambique this is the place to stay.
If you are looking for your own oasis look no further, stay at La Roca and experience nature and beauty all in one!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent, I love cottage number 9, overlooking the nature reserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Friendly people, very quiet environment, great breakfast, nice room and bed !!!. Well priced and a must to stay in Nelspruit. Take American Express Cards and deposit at booking.

The breakfast area has the most beautiful view - the view will compliment the breakfast as both is something to experience.

Room Tip: Room in garden - quiet and peacefull
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Roca Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Roca Guest House

Address: 56 Van Wijk Street | Nelspruit, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Roca Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Roca is an owner-managed 4-star boutique guest house located in an upmarket residential suburb of Nelspruit. Spread amongst 6,000m² of sub-tropical garden, several of our rooms, the breakfast lapa and pool deck enjoy stunning uninterrupted views over the Nelspruit Nature Reserve and escarpment beyond. Conveniently situated only 2Km from the city centre, La Roca is a peaceful oasis within which to unwind from a long days work or to use as a base for exploring the many world class attractions in the vicinity: the Kruger National Park; Blyde River Canyon; Mozambique and Swaziland are all less than an hour away. Offering standard, luxury and executive accommodation, all our en-suite rooms have been individually decorated with attention to detail and each have a private entrance and a balcony or patio. Our approach is professional but our style is with a smile - creating a friendly and warm ambience. Welcome to La Roca - an ideal base for corporate or leisure travellers. You will wish you had stayed for longer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your La Roca Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Roca Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.