We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Just watch out for extra levis, not include in the asking price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Nelspruit

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Nelspruit to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Nelspruit
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Jerepico Street | Orchards, Nelspruit 1201, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Nelspruit
Secunda, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Just watch out for extra levis, not include in the asking price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Reception did take a bid long, The guy ask us to pay again. We had to rectify him and tell him we did pay over the internet. Then he ask us to pay an extra tourism levi, that was not included in the original asking price. I really think at R750 a night just for the room, all small levi's needs to be included.
For the handyman: Our bathroom door couldn't stay close without locking it. The small dusbin in the bathroom foot opener is broken, this needs to be replaced. The towel hook on the back of the bathroom door is almost totally loose.
The biggest disappointment was that there was no vanila icecream for a Don Petro at 22:00.
If you have a sportcar you are going to struggle with the big speedbum's. There is about 3 of them and my normal 3 series was struggling over it, touch the first time.
Otherwise, the staff is very friendly, love the free drinks at reception. Love the free mags even the African Forbes was in the lobby. The room was 100% clean. Will go again

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Nelspruit, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Protea Hotel Nelspruit

Meeting and exceeding GUESTS' expectations can only be achieved through efficient and friendly, personalised service. Your comments, together with the others we receive, are being analysed and will be instrumental in helping us to maintain and improve, where necessary, our standards of service and facilities.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any disappointment you experienced as a result of the Tourism Levy that you needed to pay extra, the bathroom along with the absence of the vanilla ice cream for your Dom Pedro. Your feedback certainly does not reflect the high standard of service that we at Protea Hotel Nelspruit are usually proud to offer. We confirm therefore that your comments have been addressed and action has been taken to rectify the problem areas.

We hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best, and we look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Jacques Jordaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    33
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
16
1
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

the double rooms are excellent
would stay there anytime

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Nelspruit, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Protea Hotel Nelspruit

Meeting and exceeding GUESTS' expectations can only be achieved through efficient and friendly, personalised service. Your comments, together with the others we receive, are being analysed and will be instrumental in helping us to maintain and improve, where necessary, our standards of service and facilities.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any disappointment you experienced as a result of the Tourism Levy that you needed to pay extra ,the Bathroom with all its shortcomings along with the absence of the vanilla ice cream for your Dom Pedro. Your feedback certainly does not reflect the high standard of service that we at Protea Hotel Nelspruit are usually proud to offer. We confirm therefore that your comments have been addressed and action has been taken to rectify the problem areas.

We hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best, and we look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,


Jacques Jordaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

A good business hotel, decent place for holiday as well.
*NO* gym, but a sign as you enter the hotel that you are welcome to run up and down the stairs instead (haha).
Complimentary arrival beverage, with friendly staff. Rooms are very clean with a standard set of bath products. Asking for some extra bath products I felt as though housekeeping was going to get fired (even with a sizeable tip) the way they handled it.
Pool area looked nice and well-maintained, though I visited during the winter months.
Relatively easy to ge to/from town.
Breakfast and Dinner buffets offered a wide spread of local and America fare, through during peak times it was not well-maintained, with several trays left completely empty.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Nelspruit, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Nelspruit. Meeting and exceeding GUESTS' expectations can only be achieved through efficient, friendly and personalised service.

We are delighted to hear that the STAFF was so friendly. Please be assured that we will congratulate our TEAM!

However, your feedback with regards to Housekeeping amenities and Restaurant service certainly does not reflect the high standard of service that we are usually proud to offer. We confirm that this matter has been investigated and that our TEAM has taken the appropriate action to rectify these shortcomings.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive criticism, as it is absolutely necessary for us to know how our GUESTS experience our service.

I hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Nelspruit again soon.

Kind regards,


Jacques Jordaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottburgh, South Africa
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

After a long motorcycle ride from Durban this hotel was great, warm and welcoming, with juices and water in reception. The location is great if you need to be in town. There is a shopping centre right on the doorstep for those forgotten-to-pack items and there are a few nice restaurants within a 4 km radius if you don't feel like eating in. We did eat at the hotel and opted for their reasonably priced buffet which was fantastic. But be warned, breakfast is also a wonderful buffet but we weren't able to even attempt this as we had such a nice dinner the night before.

The staff are superb. The rooms are comfortable and spotless. It was a cool winter night so the airconditioning system wasnt tested. There is ample on-site parking and we were fortunate to have a room facing the swimming pool and garden.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the pool rather than facing the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques J, General Manager at Protea Hotel Nelspruit, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us, and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Nelspruit and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards

Jacques Jordaan
General Manager
013 752 3948
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I found the price to be very good and our reception on arrival was excellent. The Protea Hotel looked after all our needs and the staff were most welcoming and helpful. The accomodation suited our needs and we had a most comfortable stay. I will be staying at the Protea when I visit Nelspruit again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques J, General Manager at Protea Hotel Nelspruit, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Nelspruit.

I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. Your commendations of the reception STAFF in particular are highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated them for doing such an outstanding job!

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Nelspruit again soon.

Jacques Jordaan
General Manager
013 752 3948
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Overall the hotel is "decent" in a prime area if you have business in town and are not looking for scenic beauty. It is functional as a base and reception staff are pure gold and went out of their way every time to help and to chat. The transfer service offered by the hotel approved shuttle called Jackson is friendly and accommodated all of my transport needs. The extractor fan in my room (with a view of the parking lot) was not working and resulted in a stuffy room all the time as the room window is minuscule allowing for minimal air flow. Sleep wasn't the best - as the room window opened into the car park. Supervision of room maintenance should be upped as the safe batteries were dead, the lamplight on the desk was blown, the extractor fan not working etc etc. Check in was efficient and the long island teas were amazing and had considerable kick! On day two after a long day of shopping I came back to my room at 13:30 hrs to find it had not been touched by housekeeping despite my "please make up room" sign being placed on the door at 8:00 am! NOT ACCEPTABLE. There is a clear problem with the pipes as the water runs for a few minutes a rusty dirty color before becoming clear - i uploaded a pic of the water. MAINTENANCE MAINTENANCE MAINTENANCE

A chef by the name of Leos went out of his way to help me and make sure my meals were perfect. Fortunate, Shirley,Thuli and Wayne at the bar , the reception staff were all amazing - well done. When the craving kicks in a KFC is right next to the hotel!

For things to do in Nelspruit area I found a gem called Casterbridge which served the most amazing grill up breakfast (and cappucinos served with gingerbread men!) in a garden setting with Jackie Evancho playing in the background. After breakfast I wandered into delightful home industry shops that sold belgian chocolates and found one of Oprah's favorite things, a candle shop and a cinema that served wine! Did the elephant walk as well which was ok...

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the ross, parking bay and swimming pool as they usually have a jumping cast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques J, General Manager at Protea Hotel Nelspruit, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at Protea Hotel Nelspruit. Your overall experience most certainly does not reflect the high standards that we are usually proud to offer.
First, we are delighted to hear that the STAFF was so friendly and efficient and will certainly congratulate them on their exemplary service.

We would like to assure you that all your concerns are being investigated and corrective action will be taken to remedy the list of complaints.

In addition I can assure you that by no means are the Jumping Castle a permanent feature at our Hotel. As we are mostly a Corporate Hotel we only provide this additional family activity during Easter weekend and December Holidays.

As a gesture, we would like to invite you back to Protea Hotel Nelspruit to spend two complimentary nights’ accommodation the next time you are in our area. To make your reservation, kindly contact myself, Jacques Jordaan at telephone +27 (0) 13 752 3948, facsimile +27 (0) 13 754 5555 or e-mail gm@phnelspruit.co.za . I can assure you, should you find an opportunity to take up this offer that every effort will be made to ensure you enjoy our very best care and attention.

We hope to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Jacques Jordaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durban
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

The hotel is the perfect place for an overnight stop en route to the Kruger Park. Spacious clean rooms, friendly staff. limited activities for families.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques J, General Manager at Protea Hotel Nelspruit, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear Mam,

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotel Nelspruit is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete a review on our Hotel on Trip Advisor, and to assure you that your comments, with regards to our rooms and limited activities for families are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered and friendly STAFF. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Nelspruit and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards

Jacques Jordaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Nelspruit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Nelspruit

Address: 30 Jerepico Street | Orchards, Nelspruit 1201, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Nelspruit 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Nelspruit - Experience True Hospitality in the Mpumalanga Capital. The award winning Protea Hotel Nelspruit forms the ideal starting point from which to explore the Lowveld with abundant sunshine, lush hills and valleys. Get comfortable and cozy under our crisp white linen or make use of you en-suite bathroom to unwind. Maintain that sense of calm in the hotel’s Fig Tree Restaurant, which overlooks the pool. It serves delectable buffet breakfasts daily, as well as a selection of lunch and dinner dishes from an extensive a la carte menu. Protea Hotel Nelspruit is ideally located with easy access to national roads and the Kruger Mpumalanga International airport. Only 63km from the world-renowned Kruger National Park, the hotel is situated in the heart of Big Five country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Protea Hotel Nelspruit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Nelspruit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.