We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing return stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Emnotweni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Southern Sun Emnotweni to your Saves list
Southern Sun Emnotweni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Government Boulevard, Riverside Park, Nelspruit, 1200, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa (Formerly Emnotweni Sun)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Nelspruit
goxhill
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing return stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on three occasions. It is well placed for visits to the Kruger Park and other game lodges. The hotel itself is what one would expect from a 4 star hotel in this part of the world. The staff were generally helpful and friendly. The great disappointment for us was the deterioation of the quality of the evening meal - the buffet lacked variety and quality. It was not of the standard one would expect from and hotel with a high rating - there was a marked drop in standards of the food from our last stay nearly three years ago.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans_PeterMNelspruit, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Emnotweni, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback regarding our dinner offering.

We are in the process of re-doing our menu's with our new Executive Chef on board - Renzo Bico.

The following changes have been made and currently on offer:

Wednesday evening - "South African - Traditional Braai night"
Thursday evening - "South African - Local Cuisine night"

We are looking forward to your next visit that you are able to experience and rate our new delivery as we always appreciate feedback. Should the new delivery not appeal to you, the chef will gladly take a personalized order.

We appologise for the lack of buffet variety as mentioned, but hope we can satisfy your taste buds to the level of service our valued guests expect and deserve.

Yours Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    42
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
33
21
3
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Convenient location,easily accessible. Surroundings are neat,peaceful & secure. Very polite & friendly staff.Rooms as expected of 4* accommodation,most important clean with fresh linen. Stayed here a few years ago & will be back as the high standard is still maintained.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans_PeterMNelspruit, Reservations Manager at Southern Sun Emnotweni, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guests,

We have experienced a few wonderful comments during the last 2-3 months.

As management, we thank you sincerely for the comments which allows us to communicate our well being to the staff and therefore motivate all to keep up the good work in progress.

We are delighted to add that 10 of our rooms have been upgraded to Executive status and hope to accommodate you in these rooms in the near future.

We also have a lovely Mother's day special and can be reviewed in the "specials" sections.

Looking forward to your return, but in the meantime, a HUGE thank you for your contribution.

Kind Regards
Julie Esquino
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Lovely , clean and easy reached location.
Where can you still walk across the road (if you like with helpful and of
friendly security staff) to a most enjoyable mall and casino.
Lovely gardens, the trees are beautiful, and good food!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krugersdorp, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I had booked at another hotel in White River which when we arrived became a night mare so we were left with very few places to stay as all the BB were fully booked because of a cycle race on the Sunday
We then went to Emnotweni Sun andfrom us walking in at reception the smile and help was great we got a room on the 3rd floor room 0312
Room had great double bed with TV and AC and clean and yes the friendly staff and Buffet meal was great pricenot cheap but it was worth the stay and life saver

Room Tip: We stay on the 3rd floor and there was no noise and it was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midrand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The staff at this hotel are very friendly and helpful. Our room was down the passage on the ground floor facing the garden, and therefore it was really peaceful and quiet. Nice aircon to keep the room cool in the hot summer days. Spacious room with two double beds!! We enjoyed the breakfast, even though we missed some dishes as they are not all together. We enjoyed relaxing in the peaceful garden. Walking distance to the mall if you need to do shopping. 15 Mins to Ilanga Mall which has a bigger variety of shops & restaurants. Smaller shopping centers closer to the hotel. I can definitely recommend this hotel for a peaceful sleepover.
Thanks to management & staff.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the garden. They are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Very clean friendly staff and food (buffet style) whilst not Gourmet was reasonable and enough variety to please all. We only stayed one night on route to Kruger but after a long journey it was welcoming and relaxing. Despite a great many guests (African nations football) it was quiet, I doubt the same could be said for a european hotel with a lot of football fans staying.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

it was a good stay, from the beginning of AFCON , excellent staff in place, as a Director frequent member, gave me newspapers, internet vouchers daily....am out but will be checking inn again for quarterfinals and semifinals AFCON matches, the food, accommodation perfect and the beds....at the reception staff member by the name Promise was so good and helpful with a beautiful smile...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun Emnotweni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Emnotweni

Address: 15 Government Boulevard, Riverside Park, Nelspruit, 1200, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa (Formerly Emnotweni Sun)
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Emnotweni 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Emnotweni (previously known as Emnotweni Sun Hotel)is a short distance from bustling Nelspruit on the R40 to White River. Only 22km from the Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport,40km from the Kruger National Park and 210 km from Maputo, Southern Sun Emnotweni caters for business and leisure travellers alike. A fair blend of nature, beauty and Southern Sun hospitality makes this hotel the perfect location for a relaxing holiday. Southern Sun Emnotweni is situated in close proximity to the Emnotweni Casino and Entertainment Complex, Riverside Shopping Mall, Mbombela Stadium, other local landmarks and more, making it a convenient base for leisure or business travel. The hotel offers relaxing outdoor activities and facilities including a pool and a fully air conditioned fitness centre. The well appointed rooms offer a sanctuary for the traveller, with all the modern comforts required to ensure a rejuvenating and relaxing stay, including air conditioning and a private bathroom. Business travellers can make use of the hotel’s efficient conference venues and facilities while the hotel features a business centre with wireless internet connectivity. 500mb of free wi-fi access per day is available to hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Southern Sun Emnotweni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Emnotweni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.