We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food for thought” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron Restaurant

Saffron Restaurant
56 Ferreira Street, Nelspruit, South Africa
+27 13 744 0324
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 52 Restaurants in Nelspruit
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Saffron is a spacious, contemporary and relaxed restaurant. We have tried to capture the spirit of tapas, which is fun, social and basically a "party in your mouth". The only rule is- there are no rules. We encourage our customers to be adventurous and experimental when ordering - try a plate or two then see how you feel!
Maputo, Mozambique
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“food for thought”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

A busy restaurant with friendly and knowledgeable staff, front of house Steve has a put together a great experience from dinning on your own to large groups the staff are friendly and attend with an art of making you feel welcome yet not crowded. It was one of the best dinning experiences I have had for a long time, the food flavoursome and accompanied by a depth of cellar that delights the palate. 110%

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    34
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Had one of the finest dinners I've enjoyed anywhere at Saffron in Nelspruit last night. Thanks to Steve for his selection of tapas for us. Incredible flavours at an amazingly reasonable price. I will be back as soon as possible!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This has to be the best restaurant in Nelspruit, awesome food and wine. Between the 5 of use we tasted 10 different tapas and the platter and the desserts are also to die for especially the Chocolate Torte and the creme brulee/ creme caramel combo. Everything absolutely spot on. Thanks Steve and crew we will be back and recommend to all our friends and family.

Would not recommend this for children unless you bring stuff to keep them busy as this kind of eating is not to be rushed and more suited to friends looking for a good night out or a couple out on a romantic evening..

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolute must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is by far the best restaurant in Nelspruit . It is a whole new experience with wonderful food ,great wines and fantastic service. Personally I don't even go to other restaurants anymore ,so if you are in or around Nelspruit Saffron is the place to go for lunch ,dinner or wine tasting....also check out the chocolate brownies.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Great place for good quality food and good wine. Served "tapas-style", with lots of little dishes, but definitely with good local ingredients and in a South African fusion style. Decor is average, perhaps a little sterile, lacking a "theme". We sat outside on the veranda, under a lovely big tree though.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Restaurant also viewed

Nelspruit, Mpumalanga
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga
 
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Saffron Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.