We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Nelspruit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Nelspruit

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Nelspruit to your Saves list
Mercure Nelspruit
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr N4 & Graniet Street | PO Box 1556, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Accor weekend offer
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Nelspruit
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great stay in Nelspruit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I had a great stay at the Mercure Nelspruit. The hotel is convenient for a stop over when travelling between South Africa and Mozambique, or for visiting or doing business in Nelspruit. The new Ilanga Mall is situated directly opposite the hotel. The suites are airconditioned, spacious, clean and modern. There is a convenient kitchenette at the entrance equipped with kitchenware, a microwave, small fridge and a dish washing basin. The lounge area has a comfortable sofa with a large flat screen TV. The hotel also has a pool and a restaurant on site. The suites have a small balcony, overlooking the city. The only proplem I encountered during my stay was a problem with the key card, which didn"t want to open the door. Reception sorted it out quickly. The buffet breakfast offered a good variety of cereals, meats, eggs, etc.

I will definately return to the Mercure Hotel Nelspruit and highly recommend it to others!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    54
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
45
27
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We used this hotel as a stopover on the way to Kruger and it certainly fitted the bill. Clean, comfortable and spacious. On a par with a travel lodge but nicer. Would certainly stay again if flying from Nelspruit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

room good clean and huge self catering... location not so good but money well spent if the purpose is a stopover. Nice Swimming Pool. Bit noisy neghbours but not hotels faultroom good clean and huge self catering... location not so good but money well spent if the purpose is a stopover. Nice Swimming Pool. Bit noisy neghbours but not hotels fault

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011 via mobile

Hotel restaurants quiet pricy but good selection next door on roof of the mall.

Rooms have decent tv, aircon, full bath with seperate shower and basic kitchen.

On business from Durban

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We chose this hotel because it was #1 rated hotel on tripadvisor, and had a a good rate as a hot deal on the Accor website for a prepaid rate. We were flying into Nelspruit as the gateway to Kruger late in the afternoon, and thought this would be a good place to rest before starting out early to explore the park the following day, and we could use the facilities of the town to stock up and to eat.

Like so many hotels in South Africa it was interesting to see the security arrangements, but this was the only hotel where we had to sign in and provide id before even being let through the gate to check-in. So, I guess the security is good, if a little daunting.

They had a record of our reservation, but the told us the online system had not charged us, even though the confirmation note said we had been charged - so we had to check credit card statements, etc, to make sure the charging was right. The reception staff had encountered this issue before, saying that the online system always said it charged, but wasn't actually capable of doing it. Can't they fix this?

The hotel is large, and occupies a street block. We didn't notice any other guests staying though.

The rooms themselves looked renovated in the past year or so, with new paintwork, TVs, furniture etc. However the fittings themselves hadn't been replaced, so the bathroom, etc, looked a little tired. We had two rooms, each at the end of a long flight of steps to each room. Travelling between the rooms and taking the luggage up gave me my exercise for the day.

It was too cold in July to take advantage of the pool.

As others have mentioned there is a shopping centre across the road, but you probably wouldn't walk there - especially at night. It is an easy drive though, with a couple of restaurants, Spur, etc.

If we came back to Nelspruit we'd probably stay here again, but we probably woudn't go back. It is a diversion off the road from Johannesburg to the south of Kruger National Park, and coming from the airport, as we were, it would have been just as easy to head for some of the accommodation closer to one of the Kruger gates with better access to the park. The shops at the villages by Crocodile Bridge Gate would have been more than ample for the supplies that we went for Nelspruit for, and the road there seemed to have less risks than the Nelspruit roads themselves.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
354 helpful votes 354 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011 via mobile

The property seems to be infested with insects (termites we were told at front desk). There were hundreds of dead bugs along the walls and live ones creeping out of the carpeting under the beds. We changed rooms twice and they all had this problem with different levels of severity. Dinner food was horrible but luckily there is a nice mall just opposite the entrance of the hotel. Hotel staff was indifferent and quite unapologetic but eventually refunded part of the room rate.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Nelspruit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nelspruit

Address: Cnr N4 & Graniet Street | PO Box 1556, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Nelspruit 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Nelspruit is situated in the centre of Mpumalanga, 25km away from the Kruger Mpumalanga Intl Airport. It is the ideal location for easy access to the Kruger National Park.104 suites and studios. All suites are fully serviced and equipped witha kitchenette and bathroom with a bath and shower. The hotel invites you to experience the charm of our restaurant and bar. Our tropical gardens, relaxed swimming pool area and guest lounges are the perfect retreat for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Mercure Nelspruit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Nelspruit Hotel Nelspruit
Nelspruit Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Nelspruit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.