We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat little place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sudwala Caves

Sudwala Caves
Nelspruit, South Africa
+27(13)-733 4152
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 19 Attractions in Nelspruit
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Sudwala Caves is the oldest known caves in the world and lie in the Drakensberg escarpment.Regular guided tours take you 600 meters in and 150 meters underground. Tours leave every 10 min (approx) and take about 30 minutes.The caves have some amazing formations including stalactites, stalagmites, flow stones and pre cambrian fossils. The most famous formation is the Screaming Monster. This is actually a stalactite that has joined with a stalagmite and has formed a column that is 200 million years old.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Neat little place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The only reason we visited the caves is because we were staying at Sudwala Lodge. They were great! If you like visiting caves, this is a great system to explore.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    64
    16
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sudwala”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Caves were good; dinosaur area needs some maintenance. Coffee shop was good and service very friendly. Interesting environment. Near to Nelspruit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sudwala Caves, what else can you say?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Informative and fun tour guides make this a great place to take visiting friends. Just don't get caught in the rain like we did or else the entrance stairs become quite perilous.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Lusaka, Zambia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had loads of fun in the caves with an excellent guide with a great sense of humor, who made the facts very easy to remember. It was not boring at all. We enjoyed looking at all the interesting things in the caves, even the stinky bats! We tried out the Gurra Raffa fish, that was interesting. We had loads of fun at the dinosaurs....

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Place For Kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

nice place to take the kids. Was pretty boring for me but the temperature in the cave was nice and cool a break from the 40 degrees outside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sudwala Caves also viewed

 

Been to Sudwala Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sudwala Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.