We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“aphrodisiac?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterranean

Mediterranean
I'langa Mall, Nelspruit, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 52 Restaurants in Nelspruit
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: I believe there are two outlets of this restaurant, with one in Riverside Mall, and the one I was at in I'langa Mall. The URL seems to be for the Riverside one, but at least the phone number will help.
NW England
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“aphrodisiac?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Best oysters in town even if their aphrodisiacal qualities are suspect.

Sushi superb. Seafood platter excellent, kingklip sublime.

I used to enjoy the Ocean Basket for this sort of cuisine. Unfortunately their standards have slipped and are easily surpassed by Mediterranean. I visited the Ilanga Mall restaurant in the evening. Nice views. A nice touch was the dimming of the lights. To set a romantic mood following the oysters? No, they spotted a swarm of moths and dimmed the interior lights so that the moths would be attracted only to the brighter exterior lights. Now that is thoughtful service.

Whist we did not order whole fish I witnessed a customer being presented with 4 whole uncooked exotic fish to make his selection and decide on how he wished it to be cooked. How nice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    50
    14
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fresh shushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I really enjoyed this place, service was very good and the shishi was delicious, very good options for shushi lovers in Nelspruit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best sushi in the house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I always go there on a sunday and they never seem to dissapoint me. Sushi is always fresh and delish

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazyview, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Had visitors from Johannesburg, went for lunch really lovely food and well presented. Staff very friendly, will be back. Good work guys

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoedspruit, Limpopo
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The No 1 Seafood Restaurant in Nelspruit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This owner run Restaurant is without doubt the best in the region. We eat out here at least 3 or 4 times per month, over the past 6 years, and only once had an issue with the food served.
The food is excellent and really good value for your money. The Wine list could have a little more of a choice, but on average. The seafood is ALWAYS fresh and they often have fresh line fish on order. The prawns are to die for - esp the Queens, and also consider the Seafood Platters, which is good value for your money.
The new positioning of the Restaurant at the main enterance to the Riverside Mall has an excellent ambiance with a choice of indoor or outside tables.
Service is good too and I would recommend this place to all the readers.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterranean also viewed

Nelspruit, Mpumalanga
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga
 
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Mediterranean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterranean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.