We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Vic Traveller's Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Old Vic Traveller's Inn to your Saves list
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   12 Impala Street, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Tour tickets
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

The dorm room was fantastic, with our own kitchen, bathroom and private deck with a lookout over the park. The staff was very helpful. The bar was well stocked and the food was great, both dinner and breakfast. Dave drove me to the orphanage that they support. That was a wonderful experience and definitely worth seeing if you're there. He was also very attentive to other guests and drove them to town for example. He even drove us all the way to Johannesburg to our next backpackers.

Room Tip: The dorm room in the back has an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.Thanks Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    30
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
27
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We were a group of 44 and Dave and Bella bent over backwards for us. They made sure we were always comfortable, gave us rides places cheaper than the taxis, and were always at the ready to help us with whatever we needed. The accommodations were fantastic with a bar on the premiss, a pool, and great hiking trails right behind the lodge. I would definitely recommend staying there if you go to Nelspruit!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the chattels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and hope you enjoyed our country,Thanks Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Very pleasant stay. Staff were friendly, helpful and obliging. Owners were happy to store several of our large suitcases and boxes for us for a few days while we traveled in Mozambique, which was very useful.

Rooms were clean, nicely decorated and homely feel. Only negative was the rowdy family staying in the house next door, so not the best sleep. Also, our room lacked air-conditioning or a fan -- not ideal in the Lowveld Summer months. I would recommend that the owners buy bedside or ceiling fans, which would make the heat more bearable...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Thanks for taking time to write on Trip Advisor,thanks Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

You got what you paid for. Room was quite dark, walls were very thin, but the owner was friendly and helpful.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Only stayed a night. Room and most of all bed was awesome! must say the female owner eas everything but friendly!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

I spend two days going around the Kruger Park with Dave as driver and guide and my seven year old daughter as my companion. We couldn't have had a better trip. Dave went out of his way to accommodate us and to shape the itinerary to make sure that particularly my daughter was happy - and she was. The tour went well beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Thank you I had a great time with the two of you,so thanks to you I had as much fun as you did.Thanks Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Spent one night there, meeting friends.

Dave picked me up from the bus (for a fee) and told me all about his Kruger tours. After he realised that I wouldn't be booking one, the service just vanished. He was going on about how they "upgraded" my room, which was a triple dorm to a single room. Well, there wasn't a single other person staying at the place, so I wondered what they normally do: drag people in from the street to create random dorms?!

He seemed to be slightly drunk at the time of pick-up, his staff was a bit detached (I met somebody who smiles the next day, which was a nice change and brought my service rating up to two points) and the next day Dave didn't even say good morning.

The place is also in the middle of nowhere if you don't get picked up by a tour guide and conveniently driven to wherever you want to go. It felt a bit lonely there as well, I saw one other traveller before I left, but she disappeared and was never seen again.

Probably a nice enough place when booking tours/travelling with own transport, but for the "see what happens", DIY traveller not the best spot.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Thanks for the review,I am the owner Dave who did pick you up.I am sorry if I came across like you state,this was never my intention.The only thing I would like to correct in your review is that I do not drink alcohol at all.
As for been far out most hostels in Nelspruit are in the suburbs 4kms from the city centre,in fact there are no backpackers in the city centre.
Hope that the rest of your time in South Africa was good.
Thanks for taking time to review us and we will work on all the points you have set.
Thanks Dave the Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Vic Traveller's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Vic Traveller's Inn

Address: 12 Impala Street, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Vic Traveller's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the South African Lowveld like never before ……Kruger and More caters for the international traveller visiting Southern Africa. Our accommodation is suitable for South African sport groups, families, couples and single travellers. We are situated in Nelspruit, the capital of Mpumalanga, and will accommodate you with real South African hospitality. Crazy Dave (who did the travel thing himself for 4 years) and Bella believe in comfort and value for money. We Offer: Accommodation Travel Desk Tours in and around the Big 5 countryside. Car Rentals Adventure Trips . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Old Vic Traveller's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Vic Traveller's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.