We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot recommend highly enough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Likweti Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Likweti Lodge to your Saves list
Likweti Lodge
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   R538/ Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport Road, White River | P.O. Box 861, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Cannot recommend highly enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We just recently got married at Likweti, and between us and the guests took over all 10 chalets. Where to start? In the run up to our arrival Adri was absolutely brilliant with all of her preparation and planning, so that when we actually arrived the day before the wedding we had absolutely no stresses at all! We had such a wonderful welcome, we immediately felt at home and knew that we would be looked after.
The suites are GORGEOUS! They are absolutely stunning - spacious and incredibly well decorated. And the private plunge pool and outdoor shower were amazing - we were very sorry that we didn't stay for a couple more days after the wedding just to enjoy the accommodation and location!
Adri recommended the DJ, minister, traditional African dancers and looked after all of the food and drink for our stay (the food was excellent by the way), and even when an extra guest turned up unexpectedly Adri and the team sorted everything out with minimum stress. We couldn't have been in better hands, and at every stage knew that we were being extremely well looked after.
We cannot recommend Likweti enough as a wedding venue (we got married under a giant fig tree and it couldn't have been more special), or similarly as a honeymoon destination or even luxury retreat. The prices are very reasonable for the service and level of accommodation you receive, and Matt and I are very much hoping to come back next year for our first anniversary. Make sure you stay for at least 3 nights though, if you stay for less you will regret it!

Room Tip: All of the chalets are gorgeous, but if you want something extra special then book one of the two &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Likweti is a beautiful place surrounded by mountains and bushveld.
There is a variety of game but I would recommend going there for the beautiful suites (executive or honeymoon) and not really the animals. Gorgeous private suites with incredible showers, comfortable beds, awesome decks with loungers.. It is just perfect for a quiet romantic weekend away. Management is very friendly and so are the staff who serve the food. The food is absolutely divine! Would recommend Likweti for a visit before or after going to the Kruger Park and preferably not on a Saturday as thid is when they hold weddings.

Room Tip: The executive suites are just as fabulous as the luxury honeymoon suites (rooms 1 to 5 and 12 have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Likweti is half an hour outside of Nelspruit and about the same distance from the airport. I would suggest using the entrance further from the airport as the entrace closest to the airport is a rough track. That said, we did use this and saw plenty of game on the drive including Giraffe, Kudu, Impala, Warthogs and Nyala. Loads of birds for the birders.

The lodge operates with a central dining area, bar and wedding/conference venue and rooms a short walk or drive away. There is a pool at the lodge and two of the rooms have their own private pool.

The rooms are very private and have private decks overlooking the valley. Our room was beautifully decorated and comfortable. Beds comfortable. The room was very clean. The bathroom was huge with a feature shower.

Two sun loungers on the deck, and an outside shower.

I would highly recomend the venue for a romantic gettaway.

Room Tip: Room 9 and 10 are particularly private
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

This lodge is close to the airport and although you will not have a secluded bush experience this lodge has much to offer. The suite was very spacious and very luxurious. I loved the pluge pool and beautiful outside shower. Attention was paid to every little detail and I can not believe these suites do not have a 5 star rating. I enjoy staying at beautiful places and this suite really impressed me. I felt like I've been on holiday after staying here for just one night during a business trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here over the christmas holiday in 2011. The lodge is so peaceful, the decor is beautiful and the service excellent. The food is divine! complements to the chef indeed!

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning but choose the ones with the splunge pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

5 mins from Nelspruit airport, rooms in the main luxury lodge at SAR2,500 per person through a 3 bed house (B&B) at SAR550pppn down to dormitory accommodation. Good staff, game in the garden (we say rhino, impala and kudu in one day from the lounge window). If you are arriving late or leaving early from the airport we recommend this lodge

Room Tip: phone them and ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterval boven
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

What a stunning honeymoon location!!! From the moment we arrived, to be greeted by name with a welcome drink to the moment we left, we were treated like royalty!! The lodge is absolutely stunning, with it's own plunge pool overlooking the rugged mountains.
My beautiful wife and I had a romantic dinner served on our private deck and were spoilt rotten. The extra sized King size bed was so comfortable.
The game drive around the vast countryside was a real treat, giraffes were abundant and the view of the sunset spectacular.
The room is comparable with the best that Kruger and surrounds have to offer. Tranquil and sublime, romantic and memorable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Likweti Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Likweti Lodge

Address: R538/ Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport Road, White River | P.O. Box 861, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Likweti Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Likweti" is the SiSwati word for "morning star", which symbolises new beginnings. The Private Reserve includes a four-star lodge and an estate. Those in the know say that location is everything. We tend to agree. But we also believe in a return to nature and in creating a sustainable lifestyle. This 2 000-hectare unique Lowveld paradise is located a mere 10 minutes' drive from the Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport(KMIA), just 11 minutes from White River and only 20 minutes from Nelspruit. Nearby attractions include the world famous Kruger National Park, Blyde River Canyon and even the sunny beaches of Mozambique. Swaziland, the smallest country in the Southern hemisphere, is also within reach. Likweti lies both above and below the mist belts of the distant Swazi mountain escarpment in Mpumalanga, South Africa. Giraffe, nyala and warthog families wander freely on the property. Bird life abounds, with over 300 species calling the reserve home - a birdwatcher's paradise. Feathered residents include the elusive African Finfoot. Nocturnal sightings of bush baby, porcupine, serval and genet complete this tranquil bush experience. Accommodation at Likweti Lodge has been designed with maximum privacy and indulgent comfort top-of-mind ensuring that guests will enjoy their tranquil bush experience in the height of 4-star comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Likweti Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Likweti Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.