We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst place to stay in!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Leaves Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Leaves Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Leaves Lodge & Spa
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Cnr Johanna & Halssnoer Cresent | Sonheuwel, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The worst place to stay in!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I travel almost every month into countries within the continent & abroad and this tops the list in terms of the worst places I have stayed in - for the price?! This is no 5-star lodge!!! The linen was dirty with yellow staining; the bathroom takes you back to the 80's in a flash. Worst of all, the food is horrible with ridiculous food portions. I was shocked when I tried to give the so called manager feedback & she ignored me ... pretending like I am not even talking to her; as she attends to someone? ABSOLUTELY SCHOCKED!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    40
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
15
51
11
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Benoni
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

we enjoyed a wonderful stay at leaves lodge, the peace and tranquility alongside the friendly service made it worth while for a wonderful week of pure rest !
congrats on a wonderful staff. We also enjoyed the walk through the conservation area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I visited Leaves some time ago for business. i decided to stay a few days longer to rest and spoil myself at the spa. The experience was awesome from the start. I was received by friendly yet professional staff. The room was spacious, exceptionally clean but still warm and homely. I enjoyed dinner of 5 star quality which was served in the comfort of my room. The linen was crisp white and of the best quality I ever found in a guest house. The only negative I can mention is the fact that the neighbours were busy moving/relocating resulting in some minor noises till about 21h30 - nothing too serious though.

I can HIGHLY recommend Leaves - it was a pleasant surprise and the establishment's website does not do justice to the real thing - Better than advertised!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Breakfasts never vary, no buffet, very average. Rooms are nice, sometimes noisy. Have to book if you want to eat dinner. Gates have broken on more than one occasion. Service slow at times and feel like management need to be more involved. Have to check in before you can park. Very frustrating.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberton, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Beautiful and well appointed place to stay. Very well looked after and Tania is such a pleasant person- please keep it up
Although it is in a surburb it is so tranquil and secluded it feels like it is far away - very peaceful. It is actually a lot more beautiful than the pictures suggest

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The stay was excellent in general. The amenities were excellent. The bathroom was excellent, and the room was spacious and inviting. A great overall experience. Definitely coming back.
There was a dead rat in one of the outside areas but that was promptly cleared away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My overall impression of Leaves is very good. The staff are friendly and and helpful. Tania and Lucy make you feel at home.
The only issues I had were to do with my expectations. I expected free WI-FI in a 5 star establishment, and expect that the outdoor Jacuzzi would be available free to guests. These things I could have asked up front of course :-). There was an issue with the neighbours dog barking at night, but again I must say the staff handled this well. (Chris... you da man :-))
Thanks again guys,
Hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Leaves Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leaves Lodge & Spa

Address: Cnr Johanna & Halssnoer Cresent | Sonheuwel, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Leaves Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the true 5 star experience, come to Leaves Lodge & Spa. This impressive guest house exemplifies the very best in modern architecture and offers fifteen spacious bedrooms, each with its own private balcony. Built on a granite dome you can enjoy the breathtaking views from your room over the ancient indigenous African bush and a murmuring mountain stream that runs through lush gardens - a birding hot spot with a relaxing walk in the nature reserve.The day spa is nestled in nature next to the river and offers you a wide range of facial and body treatments by our qualified therapists - truly a must for every person who is content with only the best. We pride ourselves in the wide range of personal yet professional services that we offer to cater for all your individual needs. For the weary traveler a home-style dinner can be served on a tray in the privacy of your room. A scrumptious breakfast is included in your stay. The up-market, fully serviced board room accommodates thirty people. A variety of lunches and platters are served. Leaves Lodge & Spa is also the ideal venue for special and intimate functions. The lodge is ideally situated for day trips - the world famous Kruger National Park, the Blyde River Canyon, Pilgrims Rest, Barberton, Aventura Resorts, Swaziland and Maputo are within easy range. The lodge is near the CBD, private hospital, restaurants, shopping centres and the KMI airport. The staff will assist in arranging and advising on any of the above mentioned excursions. A chauffeur service is available on request. Indeed, Leaves Lodge & Spa, with its relaxed and peaceful atmosphere, offers the perfect retreat from a hectic and stressful life-style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Leaves Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leaves Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.