We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home…but better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buhala Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Buhala Lodge to your Saves list
Buhala Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   12KM Beyond Malelane Town | Travelling East, Malelane 1320, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home away from Home…but better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

If you’re looking for the place that feels like home or staying with your best friends….This is it! With the lodge on the river and Kruger Park on the other side….. the sights and sounds of the Crocodile River from the lodge patio always has something to peek your interests. We went there for South Africa’s #1 golf course, Leopard Creek just a few minutes from the lodge and ended up loving the lodge, Sugar and her staff with the excellent food, service and friendliness. The at home feeling also comes from the fact you never have to pay for a meal or a drink until checkout time.

Room Tip: The suites have a patio to enjoy your morning coffee to the sights and sounds of the Crocodile River...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    11
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
11
45
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We had an amazing time at this beautiful lodge.We were spoilt by this unique location overlooking the Crocodile River & the extra special care from the host,Sugar.The food was excellent & we also enjoyed golf at the nearby Leopard Creek.Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at Buhala Game Lodge for two nights in late October. Sugar was the perfect hostess; gracious, attentive and quality-driven. She was happy to arrange our game drives and our trip to Leopard Creek for golf. Everything was as it should be---a trip to Africa would not be complete without a safari and Buhala is the perfect venue, being only ten minutes away from Kruger and likewise only ten minutes away from the best golf course in the country---Leopard Creek. Residents at Buhala have a facility to play there. We can seriously recommend Buhala; it overlooks the Crocodile River where rhino and buffalo can be seen. Superb place!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at Buhala Lodge for 3 nights in Sept 2013 - the service , hospitality , quality of food and location were all excellent. In my view it offered value for money and we will certainly be back . For the golfer Leopard Creek is a bucket list experience- even the tour of the club house is amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Buhala has got that thing your searching for. The perfect taste of the owner did make it a one of a kind lodge. Great atmosphere, eclectic interior, superb view on the river and when you're lucky, on Giraffes, Buffalos, Crocodiles and Elephants. It's ten minutes away from the Entrance gate of the Kruger Park and even so to the best golf course Leopard Creek in South Africa.
A big PLUS for Buhala Game Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness, South Africa
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My room rate started at R2500, then reduced to R2000, then they were fully booked, then I got a free room in the annex! Very confused owner. The location is really 5* with fantastic views of the Crocodile River, but the food was very mediocre and overpriced. Very quiet and peaceful though. My bag was taken to my room, but I had to carry it when I left the following morning, with no offer of assistance. Not sure I'll go back again as it is hugely expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Buhala Game Lodge is a one of a kind experience. The friendliness is like that of a Bed and Breakfast, but the experience is far better! The owner, Sugar, could not have been more helpful during our planning stages. She helped us to navigate the best route in order to see as much as we could in the short time that we were there. As we were leaving Kruger Park for the very short drive to the lodge, she even directed us in how to get there.

In addition, she has worked with the Leopard Creek Golf Club so that her guests are able to play golf there. This course has been rated number one for several years in a row and was a real treat.

The food here is spectacular. There are only eight tables or so in the entire dining room, and you can choose to socialize with the other diners, or if you prefer a quiet evening to yourself, no one seems to mind. Everything served is fresh and cooked to order.

There is a beautiful spa area overlooking the river, which we did not use. Sugar's staff has certification to accommodate facials and massages. Nor did we have time to sit out by the scenic pool area and watch the animals coming down to the river to drink.

Sugar spent time with the guests answering questions and telling us about the sights that people have seen there in the past - we saw one photo with an elephant right at the deck!

There are nice little extras, too. Sugar has an ample amount of binoculars to loan to her guests, and what was so nice was that if one of the staff spotted an animal, he/she would come out to the balcony and point our untrained eyes in the right direction.

I have been fortunate enough to have many different types of travel experiences. This is absolutely one of my favorite trips. Our time here was far too short. It is a fabulous getaway! on the morning of our departure, Sugar had even packed apples and cheese for us for our drive home!

Spectacular!

Room Tip: As for a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buhala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buhala Lodge

Address: 12KM Beyond Malelane Town | Travelling East, Malelane 1320, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Malelane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Malelane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Buhala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buhala Lodge is an enchanted four star lodge situated on the Southern banks of the Crocodile River with sweeping views over the Kruger National Park. Along with the unique opportunity to play golf at the exclusive LEOPARD CREEK GOLF COURSE, Buhala Lodge also offers fine cuisine, an exceptional wine list, and friendly, happy service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Buhala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buhala Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.