We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mhlati Guest Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malelane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mhlati Guest Cottages
Save
You added Mhlati Guest Cottages to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   206 Tambotie Street Mhlatikop, Malelane 1320, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Malelane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We can thoroughly recommend this lovely guest house. Very comfortable rooms. Excellent hosts only too ready to help and so hospitable. Order the eggs benedict a breakfast not to be forgotten. We will be back. Hazel and Phil.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhlati, Manager at Mhlati Guest Cottages, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We look forward to having you back with us soon. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
41
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mol, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We can recommand everyone to stay at Mhlati, it's very close to the Malelane Gate so perfect to visit Kruger on your own.
The rooms are very cosy and clean and Janet and Eric will tell you everything you want to know about their country.
Special thanks to Eric for telling us about their corrupt police, we did met them on our last trip from Bergville to Pretoria. They claimed us 750 rand but we did what Eric told us, so we could leave in peace after ten minutes :-).
We hope to visit Mhlati again in the future!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great thanks goes out to Eric and Janet for which was one of the best weekends we had . Our stay at Mhlati was beyond wonderful it felt like we were visiting long time friends their hospitality and friendliness will be not forgotten. Return visit in near future guaranteed!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhlati, Manager at Mhlati Guest Cottages, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi Larry,
Thank you for your wonderful review of Mhlati. It is reviews like yours that drive us to do better and better.
Thanks again and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Jeremy Maritz
Mhlati Guest Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parabiago, Italy
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My family and I ( my husband Carlo, my daughter Emma and myself) stayed at Mhlati Guest Cottages for two nights and we've had the feeling of visiting two dear friends!
Eric and Janet are superb hosts, who make you feel at home even though you live thousands of miles away (we come from Italy).
The whole property is wonderful: the taste of furnishing is worth a design magazine.
The rooms are spacious, superbly appointed , impeccably clean (ours was the elephant room).
Breakfasts are cooked by Eric, Janet and Jeremy, and they are super (tip: ask for the eggs benedict, you'll become instantily addict to them!).
Finally, don't forget the excellent position, just two km away from the Malelane Gate of the Kruger National Park.
What could you ask more?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhlati, Manager at Mhlati Guest Cottages, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for those kind words Valentina. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us. We really appreciate the feedback as it helps us to improve even more. Lovely comments.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Myself and 5 friends spent two nights recently at the Mhlati Guest Cottages where we had a most enjoyable stay, the accommodation was first class, the breakfasts were great, we made our own meals in the evening the the hosts helped us with salads, etc, but most of all the hospitality of Janet and Eric was just the best, it felt like a home from home. Would certainly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhlati, Manager at Mhlati Guest Cottages, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thanks Iain, we have been hosting you guys for some years now and it is really a pleasure having you stay with us. We look forward to many more. To Mike, yourself and all the boys, all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzini, Swaziland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The service was excellent, Jeremy our contact person was very professional in handling our bookings, Eric and his wife were very sweet and friendly. Miriam and Margaret who also work there were very sweet. You feel at home, its peaceful and quiet at Mhlati Guest cottages.

In terms of efficiency they were very efficient. Everything was properly done and the rooms were always clean. Their breakfast was awesome and quick to serve.

We just loved it at Mhlati, we are planning to go back there sometime soon.

Keep up the good work guys......

Musa and Pholile

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Gracious hosts, comfortable and nicely appointed rooms, five minutes from fine dining at Hamiltons, five minutes from the Malelane Gate into Kruger National Park. (I saw the Big Five the day I went!) I will definitely return if I come back to this part of SA and will recommend this great spot to my friends! Thoroughly enjoying myself! Say hello to my new friends, Eric and Janet when you book your stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mhlati Guest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mhlati Guest Cottages

Address: 206 Tambotie Street Mhlatikop, Malelane 1320, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Malelane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Malelane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mhlati Guest Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury thatched cottages in a secluded private village in sugar cane country very close to the Kruger National Park Malelane gate and the Worlkd renowned Leopard Creek Golf Course with access to the scenic beauty of Mpumalanga Province, Swaziland and Mozambique. We serve delicious breakfasts and our cottages are serviced daily. A local restaurant close by provides lunches and dinners. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mhlati Guest Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.