We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Vista Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rio Vista Lodge to your Saves list
Rio Vista Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Stand 1062 | Monte Vista Estate, Malelane 1320, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Malelane B&B and Inns
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome stay !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I had a last minute stop at Malelane, and stayed at Rio Vista. They were so friendly and accommodating. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. They include tea and coffee and a fridge. The location is awesome right on the river. I had dinner at the restaurant deck and had a beautiful sunset view over the river. I left early the next morning and the catering staff packed a travel breakfast for me!
Thank you to all the friendly people at Rio vista lodge

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, Owner at Rio Vista Lodge, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
14
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Rio Vista Lodge is the perfect start for a trip into the Kruger NP or as a basis for expeditions into the park, as it is very close to Malelane Gate. We had a very nice room with a balcony facing the Crocodile River.The rooms are simple but neat and confortable and equipped with everything you need. The bathroom is somewhat small, but sufficient. Rio Vista Lodge is situated in a lovely green garden, but its greatest attraction is its terrace with a view on the Crocodile River. which is at the same time the restaurant. This is a perfect spot to observe the animals on the river bank below. We saw hippos, waterbucks and a rhino and plenty of birds. The food is very good, the service is friendly and dedicated. All in all it is great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed in the main building with Crocodile River view, saw elephants right from the room balcony! Large modern room, all amenities (coffee machine, fridge, insect repellent). Excellent price/value. Got picked up and deposited at the long distance bus stop in Malelane, the pick up at 10:30 pm on a Friday. Most helpfull friendly and cheerful receptionist, had arranged to send someone for a take out meal from the town when their restaurant was closed on a Sunday.
Their safari operator turned out excellent, an elederly couple, Chris and Pat, with great knowledge of the animals and a great contact network, so they got to hear about all the animal sighting from the other guides. We managed to see not only the big five, but practically all the animals and a good portion of the birds of the Kruger. Much better than the Kruger staff´s sundown safari we also took.

Room Tip: Go for the river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, Owner at Rio Vista Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope you enjoyed your stay in South Africa and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This Lodge is very well located near Malelane Gate of Kruger Park. Staff is very friendly, rooms are clean (but small), the view from Restaurant is magnificent and the menu and food at dinner was very good. Is a perfect choice for couples and a excellent relation quality/price. Highly recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, Owner at Rio Vista Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malelane, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

On my way to Mozambique we stayed at Rio Vista Lodge. Wow the staff was friendly, the room neat and clean. The bird life magnificent in one hour I spotted 25 different speices. We then had dinner on the Deck, we encounter elephants grazing on the river bank, and the food was great. When retreating to bed we heard the hippos and Lion's calling in the distance.
We will truly recommend this Lodge to anyone. Great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, Owner at Rio Vista Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your comemnts and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichtenburg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I go to Malelane on a regular basis for business and every time I stay with Johan and Madelein it feels like I am coming back home. The service, rooms, food and friendly reseption is something I will always recommend to any one!! Truely feels like home!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Rio Vista Lodge a home from home and best value for money. Hats off to Johan, Anita and their excellent team for their hospitality and always making us feel welcome. Close to Malelane Gate for visits to the Krugerpark. We highly recommend a stay at Rio Vista.

Huibrecht & Mannetjie

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rio Vista Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Vista Lodge

Address: Stand 1062 | Monte Vista Estate, Malelane 1320, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Malelane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Malelane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Vista Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Vista 4 star Lodge is situated on the border of The Kruger National Park. Experience spectacular views from The Deck overlooking the Crocodile River as animals come to graze and drink while you eat. A dam with various species of fish for the catch-and-release angler. An ideal location for a much needed relaxing break away. Rio-Vista is 27 roomed lodge, all rooms are air-conditioned with DSTV and bar fridge, swimming pool and secure parking. Our facility is child friendly with spacious gardens. We have a lovely thatched deck and cocktail bar with an open view into the Kruger park. Our a la carte Restaurant serves the best meals in the region. Lino's Lodge consist of eight air-conditioned single or sharing chalets , all with DSTV, private patio, and bar fridge. Relax in a homely atmosphere, close to shops and the Malelane Kruger Gate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rio Vista Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Vista Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.