We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plumbago Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hazyview
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plumbago Guest House
Save
You added Plumbago Guest House to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   PO Box 210 | Kiepersol, Hazyview 1241, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hazyview B&B and Inns
Witbank, South Africa
1 review
“highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Awesome hospitality always enjoy the relaxing atmosphere . This is the place to be for a gr8 time .. Rob and ilara are the perfect hosts -- don't hesitate to contact them -- highly recommended . We visit Plumbago twice a year and we also enjoy visiting the surrounding areas like the Kruger National Game Reserve.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
97
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Plumbago is less than an hour's drive to the Kruger National Park which makes it idea as a base from which to explore the Park and surrounding areas. The Guest House is quiet and secure and the hosts Ilara and Robbie could not be more helpful The service is outstanding, but also discreet. The food served - including dinner upon request - is exceptional. The swimming pool was very welcome at the beginning and end of the day. Our stay at Plumbago set the tone for a wonderful trip around Mpumulanga

Ray D

Room Tip: Our room - number 3, I think, was ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is the most peaceful place to stay. Set in beautiful surroundings of macadamia and banana trees the views are spectacular. The rooms are exquisitely decorated and so comfortable and with no television in the room the opportunity to listen to the sounds of the bush is welcome. Ilara sets a fine table with lovely food and the welcome from Ilara and Rob and the family, including the two lovely friendly dogs, is so wonderful that you feel like one of the mob straight away. I would recommend to anyone travelling around the Kruger area. It is an oasis of calm among the excitement of AFrica.

Room Tip: Any of the suites is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was our 2nd time stopping at Plumbago before going into Kruger. I truely love stopping here, the setting, the attention to detail, food, service, everything is amazing.

It was so lovely to see Ilara and her family again, including the dogs, Bella and Millie, it just feels like home, I just wish I had those views!

Ilara arranged our trip to elephant whispers, which is something I will never forget and also a meal at Pioneers, my favourite steak restaurant.

I would not hestitate to keep coming back to Plumbago, you couldn't ask for better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkwitz, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a perfect stay in Plumbago. The Guest House is set in beautiful suroundings with spectacular views.
We were warmly welcomed by Ilara. The suite was very comfortable and well decorated.
The food was of 5 star quality - a delight to the eye and taste buds. We will recomend Plumbago to frinds. If we are ever in South Africa again, Plumbago is our first choice.
Veronika and Matthias

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westville, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

What a wonderful stay but as we were on route to our time share it was a glorious oasis to spend the afternoon and night in such lovely surroundings. On arrival we were welcomed by Ilara and her two very friendly dogs Bella the Basset and Millie the Jack Russel. The gardens were lovely & well cared for The main house where the comfortable lounge, bar, reception area, dining room are situated & for the use of guests are beautyfully furnished with & decorated with family heirlooms, provided us with a feeling of being at home.The room we were allocated was very comfortable & well decorated. The gardens are lovely & well cared for. The swimming pool & its surrounds are clean but whilst we were guests , it certainly wasn't time for us to have a swim , a little on the chilly side. However i am sure it is well used in the hot summer months when perhaps the tennis court , currently under repair, would be less popular. There are lovely views over the low veld from the garden. The food is outstanding. We really enjoyed our three course dinner as we did our breakfast the next morning.This really is a place where you arrive as a guest & leave as a friend. ilara & Robbie are charming & friendly hosts with nothing to much trouble, its as though you have known them for a long time.As dog lovers we were pleased to enjoy the company of Millie the Jack Russell & Bella the Basset who sort our company but were never pests nor overbearing. As we were on route from KZN where we live, to our time share near Pilgrims Rest this was a very welcome, al beit , short to have some relaxation before the sightseeing that lay ahead of us.Thank Robbie & Ilara for your wonderful hospitality & if we are ever in your area again Plumbago will certainly be top of our list of Guest Houses.

Room Tip: Our room (Suite 2) was very comfortable & well furnished. It had a smallish bath room with showe...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a perfect stay at plumbago. We were made to feel so welcome by ilara Robbie and family. The rooms and food were exceptional and we really felt at home.The gardens and all the surroundings were really beautiful and the attention to detail in the house and grounds was lovely. We would love to return and would not hesitate to recommend plumbago to friends and family.

Room Tip: We had twonrooms and they were both exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plumbago Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plumbago Guest House

Address: PO Box 210 | Kiepersol, Hazyview 1241, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Plumbago Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Through the wrought-iron gates at the end of a bougainvillea-lined drive, you will find Plumbago - as pretty as the flower that shares it's name, set on an avocado and banana farm, it sits above the plantation watching over out to the Kruger National Park in the distance. With 1940's jazz in the background it has just the right accompaniment to the nostalgic, colonial-inspired setting. Charming air conditioned rooms with sitting areas, en suite bathrooms,t ea trays and fine bed linen, which have the same casual gracefulness about them with subtle, natural tones. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plumbago Guest House Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plumbago Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.