We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable anniversary!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites to your Saves list
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites | R40 Main Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Pretoria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A memorable anniversary!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband took me to hotel Numbi for our anniversary. What an experience! The location of the hotel is fantastic, and its situated next to major attractions. It also boast a variety of restaurants and we enjoyed great seafood in one of their seafood restaurants. The only downside was the single beds in the room although we specifically requested a double bed. The swimming pool next to the reception area also needs some attention. The toad that made noise the whole night made it difficult for us to have a peaceful sleep. The breakfast was fantastic and overall it was a great experience.

Room Tip: Insist on a double bed if you are a couple, it can be difficult to sleep on those single beds put to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIllieJnr, Front Office Manager at Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites – we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular enjoyed a meal at Tides Seafood Diner, our newest addition. I am sorry that you didn’t get the double bed that you requested, we endeavour to accommodate all of our guests requests – when you next stay with us, please contact Michelle in our reservations department and she will ensure that you get the accommodation that you require. Despite our best efforts, we have been unable to coax the toads away from the water fountain near the Hotel, however I do apologise that this disturbed your night’s sleep. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to Hotel Numbi for your next wedding anniversary.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    39
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
12
49
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
bicester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a motorbike tour. We had a day off the bikes to go on safari in Kruger. I stayed in the garden suites & the cleanliness was a little lacking. There was black mould on the ceiling of my suite & the bathroom was in need of updating. I was disappointed that wifi was only available in reception-the modern traveller expects to be abe to stay in touch with home.
I can't comment on value as the price was included in our tour. Food was plentiful & generally tasty & service could be a little slow at times.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIllieJnr, Front Office Manager at Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Good Day.

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites. Since your stay with us, all of the Garden Suites ceilings have been repainted and we are currently in the process of upgrading all of the linen. We only recently began to offer Free WIFI to our guests, at present Free WIFI is now available in the entire Hotel block and we hope to have WIFI in place in our garden suites in the very near future. I trust that you enjoyed the rest of your trip to the Lowveld. We look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed at this lodge due to it being conveniently located in Hazyview. We had our half day safari pick us up to go to Kruger Park (Phabeni Gate). The hotel furnishings are a bit out of date but we felt secure and had a comfortable stay. There is a small shopping complex just across from the main gate entry and we strolled across to dine at one of a few restaurants there. We had a comfortable stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIllieJnr, General Manager at Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am pleased you had a good stay with us. We are busy with a refurbishment program in which we are changing some of the furnishings in the rooms as well as the public areas. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by this but we are sure it will all be worth the trouble when it's done.

We wish you a merry Christmas and all the best for 2013.

Kind Regards,
Willem Fick Jr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our stay at Numbi Garden Suites was really great value for money. The suites were comfortable and the food was of a very high standard. You are also very close to Kruger which was great. Lastly, and most importantly, the staff was always extremely friendly and helpful. We can honestly recommend Numbi Hotel and Garden Suites. Thx again for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIllieJnr, Front Office Manager at Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We appreciate your compliments with regards the meals you had at the hotel. I am pleased to see the staff made your stay a memorable one and we would like to welcome you and your family back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Willem Fick Jr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I found the breakfast on 4 star hotel standard.
On certain mornings I had to leave prior to breakfast time and was presented with a fantastic "breakfast packet" that was both nourishing and very filling.
Dinner although repetitive items was always of high standard and fresh and hot.

Room Tip: The rooms at ground floor opened onto the beautiful garden. Very refreshing in the morning.There was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIllieJnr, Front Office Manager at Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to see you had a good stay with us & enjoyed the meals we offer.

We look forward in welcoming you back to the Numbi in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Willem Fick Jr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

A group of us stayed at the Numbi for four nights in August 2012, whilst on a motorcycle trip. My wife and I stayed in Garden Suite 02, which was spacious and clean. The breakfast buffet each morning was good and we ate at the hotel on two of the nights we were there, a buffet on the one night and a BBQ on the other, both of which were good. There are two excellent restaurants within a short easy walk right next to the Hotel, Pioneer Grill and The Tides. We ate at Pioneer Grill and would strongly recommend it. Unfortunately The Tides was closed on the night we wished to visit, so we cannot give a personal review, but three separate people we spoke to recommended it highly. Parking for our motorcycles was right outside our room. The outstanding feature of the Hotel however, has to be the staff, who were both friendly and helpful. The only thing that needs attention is that the two shower heads in the enormous double shower need cleaning, due to the calcium build up in them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIllieJnr, Front Office Manager at Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Good day,

My apologies for the delay in responding to your review.

Firstly, thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to review the hotel. We are pleased to know you had a good stay & enjoyed the restaurants. Secondly, thank you for making us aware of the shower issue. Our housekeeping staff has gone through the whole establishment to make sure all the showers are clean and we have replaced our shower heads as part of our refurbishment.

We look forward in welcoming you back in the near future,

Kind Regards,
Willem Fick Jr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela Bela
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

As we are regular visitors to the Numbi Hotel we can confidently comment on the consistently excellent service and quality maintained by this hotel. We love the KNP but we also want spacious, clean rooms, hot showers, and scrumptious cuisine - all this is provided by Numbi as you reach the Phabeni gate within 15 minutes of leaving the hotel. The staff genuinely want to please unlike the attitude resultant from having attended a "3 day customer care course" offered by outside consultants to major hotel groups. The warmth and old world charm which is so characteristic of Numbi can only be achieved by the experience and passion of a family run establishment. We'll be back again and again and again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites

Address: Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites | R40 Main Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1963 the Hotel Numbi and Garden Suites is less than 10 minutes drive from the world famous Kruger National Park. Situated in Hazyview, in the heart of the magical Mpumalanga Province this owner-managed hotel has for the past forty seven years enjoyed making every customer feel special and welcome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Numbi & Garden Hazyview
Hotel Numbi And Garden Suites
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.