We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smell” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hippo Hollow Country Estate to your Saves list
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Po Box 2304, Hazyview, | Mpumalanga Kruger Area, Hazyview 1242, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Smell”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spent three nights before New Year Eve here. The surroundings are absolutely beautiful! Unfortunately, the hotel is updated and smelly. We booked 2 twin chalet and when we come in found bugs on the bed and a awful smell. We go to reception and the staff was very nice and upgrade us to a family chalet.
This is very nice, typical African, also update but at least we could slept here.
Shangaan River show was so so and the food after was horrible.
Thus, the restaurant is nice, with a good view to the river and plenty of good food choices

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    194
    77
    35
    16
See reviews for
107
247
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We arrived at this beautiful hotel by the manager with welcome drinks with our tour. In spectacular surroundings this hotel is comfortable and we slept very well here. After an hour we took ourselves off to the bar only to spot people surrounding the steps on the patio area, to or surprise there were hippo grazing out of the water quite close to the hotel. They have a great restaurant and service is great on African time. Try the crocodile kebabs they were superb! We really enjoyed our stay here and its so close to Kruger. Great place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us so thoroughly and in particular that you felt welcome from the moment you arrived. I wish you a safe journey home, and hope to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melkbosstrand, South Africa
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had the best table at the window, facing the Sabie river. The area around the restaurant had bright lights so you could see the river. The restaurant specialise in venison, but we prefer them alive, so we sticked to chicken and beef. As starter we had the tempura prawns with mango and for mains I had the beef spareribs, and my wife a stuffed chicken dish. The portion of spare ribs was not very big but my wife’s chicken was a big potion and she could not finished it. By the time we had our coffee we was surprised with the hippo coming out of the water. That was a nice surprise and experience. We were also spoiled with African dancers that performed on the grass for us with African music. It was a great Africa experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Knowing that you left Hippo Hollow with a true African experience, brings us great pride. Thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vellinge, Sweden
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This Hotel situated at a small river with Hippos and Krokodiles only ten minutes from Kruger National Park. Outside the nice restaurant there is a beautiful terrace overlooking the river where the Hippo comes up to graze sometimes at night. There is also a nice pool and the area around it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We are glad that you were able to experience the relaxation of nature and its surroundings here at Hippo Hollow. We wish to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

An ideal location for safaris in Kruger. Room overlooking carpark noisy at 5.00am with coaches running their engines, other than that a super 3 night stay. Staff very helpful and charming, food always good, Shangaan evening worth going to. Don't miss Elephant Whisperers, very informative and wonderful to get up close to elephant (and I mean close.)

Room Tip: Rooms near carpark noisy first thing in morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
It brings us great delight knowing that you enjoyed your stay here with us and in particular making use of every oppertunity to explore our surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We arrived in Mpumalanga with high hopes; to see the hippos and the unique wild life as advertised on the website. Sorely, disappointed. Can't blame the hotel for the hippos, they have their own schedules .... Fortunately the Phabeni Gate is about 10 minutes drive.

We had two cabins overlooking the Sabie river; the rooms are dated. A change of linens should be in order and one of the backdoor has no keys!!! The only thing that is separating us and a vandal is a tiny latch. One the second day; the electrical circuit in our room was not working properly, hence no hot water or light in the bathroom. Imagine navigating your way in a dark bathroom at night. Even after we reported to the reception no actions were taken. Though the staff was apologetic, it was way too late.

I would like to point out the Shangaan River Club was a gem to this place. The cultural show was fantastic. In my opinion, the only saving grace of Hippo Hollow. The food after the show was delicious and, the staffs are very friendly. However, we will not be returning or recommending this place to anyone.

Excellent for location because it is near to the Kruger National Park.

Room Tip: Choose the hotel rooms overlooking the river, if you want a room near the reception. The cabins are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allston
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel itself is incredibly charming. The restaurant and patio area overlook a river and we were lucky enough to see a crocodile and a hippo during our 3 night stay. The best part of our time here was the hospitable and accommodating staff. They watched out for my friend and I during our stay giving us tips on the days we had ahead in Cape Town, mixing some great drinks and going out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. We asked to book an additional tour, it was done, we needed an extra wifi password & username, no problem, we woke up at 9:30pm just at the end of dinner, the manager came over, welcomed us and made us feel completely at home and best of all every time there was an animal on the premises they came over to let us know so we missed nothing! I cannot recommend Hippo Hollow enough! They made our trip to South Africa even more memorable!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
It was a privilege welcoming you to the Hippo Hollow Family. Having been able to add value to your trip brings us great joy. Thank you for your feedback. We certainly wish to welcome you back in the not too far future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hippo Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Address: Po Box 2304, Hazyview, | Mpumalanga Kruger Area, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
#5 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippo Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hippo Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hotel Hazyview
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hippo Hollow Country Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.